We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable suites and good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Affordable suites and good breakfast”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We picked this hotel as a suite allowed us to fit 3 adults, 1 child and an infant (in a playpen) into one room. The room was a bit shabby, and noisy, and the bathtub dripped. But the beds were comfy enough, and the breakfast exceeded my expectations. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. For $170/night (including taxes and fees) to sleep 3 adults it was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNTripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    102
    59
    21
    16
See reviews for
103
50
23
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster Alberta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights and my bedroom at home is bigger, there is no room to move around so you basically sit on bed and watch tv, when I took a shower in the morning the smoke detector went off. The time I stayed at this hotel it was quiet and it had a good quality conitental breakfest. I feel this hotel is overpriced for the amieties and size of room you get.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Royal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Well a very nice and packed hotel it was, its location very near to the Airport make it more a trouble then a blessing .In coming and Ongoing Planes,peoples,cars and Youth. Forgive me , I am not that much Social Person , I prefer quiet environment more . Overall it was a good place for Businessmen no doubt , Nice quick services , Efficient backup for every thing.
But for less active and rather dreamy tourists like Couples ,professional tired souls , that place to live is not a good experience , I after some time move to a new place and got a Nice new company of some Descent Lads who were there to enjoy a less noisy ,but purposeful Vacations
That is the worthy addition in Saskatoon hotels; Colonial Square Inn & Suites
for the help of new tourists the link is https://www.colonialsquareinn.com/

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmothermanPortRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Had a good stay in a king room. Room was clean and comfortable. Lobby as usual at Christmas was very pretty. Breakfast was good. Staff were professional. Give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwtraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I am a young professional and had just been offered a job in Saskatoon and needed to scout out accommodations in advance of the start date. I had stayed at a Country Inn before in Calgary, and was impressed, so I decided to try the Country Inn in Saskatoon.

Problems began as soon as I attempted to check-in. Normally this process should take five minutes at the most. I requested to pay for my room in advance and leave a cash deposit, because I knew that the authorization would exceed my credit card limit (for reasons that are entirely irrelevant). The clerk looked at me like I was a deviant. She told me she had to get the manager who was on the telephone in the other room.

I waited as the clerk proceeded to take two telephone reservations. I stood there and couldn't help but hear the manager engage in a clearly personal conversation, as evidenced by the familiar tone and the occasional bursts of laughter. When the manager finally appeared after several minutes of happy chatting, she told me I would need to pay for the room up front and leave a cash deposit. This is precisely what I wanted to do when I walked into the place a full ten minutes before. I paid for the room up front, and left a $160 cash deposit (which in my view is excessive for this class of hotel).

When I finally got to my room, it was ordinary but appeared to be clean. I spent a pleasant enough night: the windows opened for fresh air, and my room was quiet because it was located on the North of the hotel away from the very busy Circle Drive.

When I attempted to check-out the next morning, however, things deteriorated rapidly. I was fully expecting the return of my full deposit on my departure without fuss or incident, as I did not incur any incidental expenses. This was not to be. I was informed by the desk clerk that she had been instructed by the manager to "check the room" before my deposit was returned to me. I was flabbergasted. The clerk then got out from behind the front desk, and made good on her word. She left me standing alone in the lobby while she climbed the stairs to the second floor to make sure that I had not... what? Taken a towel with me for the road? Left the toilet seat up? Took an extra pouch of cheap coffee? I can't possibly imagine, given that my $160 far exceeds the combined amount of all the items in the room (e.g., cut-rate 27 inch t.v., telephone, alarm clock, some towels, and that's pretty much it). After several humiliating minutes, the clerk returned, but for some reason was still not prepared to return my deposit (maybe she had forgotten to take a key card and had been unable to obtain access to my room). The clerk then asked a chambermaid - who happened to be in the lobby at the time - to go back up and "check my room". That was the last straw. I demanded my deposit back in no uncertain terms. The clerk begrudgingly thrust the envelop of cash into my hands and shouted at my back as I left the hotel "I don't have to take this kind of treatment!".

Never again will I return to this hotel, which by the actions of the staff indicates that it is geared towards a much, much lower class of people than typically frequent Country Inn & Suites. I can honestly say I have never been treated worse by a hotel staff in my life.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank flyer_frequent_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This inn has seen better days. It's poorly located, cramped inside, outdated, and a Motel 6-wannabe. AND IT'S LOUD ALL NIGHT.

At the price I paid ($150), I can't believe I can't do better elsewhere.

Awful

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We Were excited to stay here from past experiences at other hotels in this chain. Boy were we wrong!

Our suite was seriously outdated. When I pulled back the matress to check for bedbugs the head end of the boxspring and cover was filthy and covered in hairs!!! We could not stay there. We called another hotel and promptly left saying we were staying somewhere else. Horrible!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saskatoon Airport
0.5 mi away
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#16 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
#5 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saskatoon Inn and Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Days Inn - Saskatoon
Days Inn - Saskatoon
#15 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
Address: 617 Cynthia St, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 6B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites is conveniently located close to major Saskatoon attractions: John G. Diefenbaker International Airport (1 km), SaskTel Centre (3.9 km), Saskatoon Forest Farm Park & Zoo (3.9 km) and University of Saskatchewan (7.0 km). Warm and comfortable rooms await you (76 Rooms), featuring free WiFi, flat-screen TV’s, daily local newspaper and in-room coffeemakers. Select rooms are equipped with the addition of mini-fridges, microwaves, pull-out sofas and an external patio entrance. For a comfort upgrade, book a Suite Room and enjoy the extra space that the adjoining living room provides. Pet-friendly rooms are available upon request. Rest easy at the Country Inn & Suites. Grab a free cookie and cup of coffee upon check-in. Complimentary hot breakfast is standard in the lobby each morning. Stick to your routine in the fully-equipped Fitness Centre. A 24-hour Business Centre is located in the lobby for your convenience, and Coin Laundry. Currency exchange service, free parking and Read It & Return Lending Library are also on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon Hotel Saskatoon
Country Inn Saskatoon
Saskatoon Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing