We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made good on a bad situation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Made good on a bad situation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We did not stay here as the hotel was overbooked. When we arrived to check in, that an apology was offered and if we would stay at the hotel next door, the total bill would be covered by them.. Also, because the other hotel did not offer a complimentary breakfast, we were also offered to come back for their breakfast. We appreciated the hotel taking ownership to this and making it easy for us

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank flyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanOlson9, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry that we couldn't accommodate you this time but hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    98
    56
    21
    16
See reviews for
96
49
22
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were travelling through and was able to book online, was met with pleasant hospitality at the front desk, stayed in one of the suites very spacious and comfortable at less than $200/night with CAA. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanOlson9, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially the ease of booking online. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

It's a little dated but this place rocks. We got a two room suite with a mini kitchen two flat screens and couch bed. King bed ground floor garden doors to your car. Nice and clean loads of towels. Everybody there is super helpful and friendly. Great common area where you can play cards or visit. Nice bar and grill two minute walk. Easy to get to. Needs some updating. Paid 130.00. Here's the best part you get a really good hot breakfast included sausage eggs hash browns waffles cereals muffins etc. great coffee.free wifi.great ac .'If your going to toon town try this place I think you'll enjoy

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms on the east side have garden doors that exit right to a Parking spot in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LHS9746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanOlson9, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel, we're glad that you enjoyed yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I'm on the fence with this hotel. Some good points, some bad points.
For us, we would likely stay again because of the convenience with the dogs. Our stay was definitely not horrible but for the price, if it was just the 2 of us we would look elsewhere. Come down in price to reflect the accomodations and we would consider coming back.

We chose this particular hotel for 2 reasons. They accepted dogs and the main floor rooms have a door to the outside. Always convenient when traveling with pets.

Upon arrival, first impression...definitely needs upkeep. Paint peeling on the outside etc. Looking past that though the lobby is being spruced up and did look inviting. Enter the room and it was pretty clean. We had 2 queen size beds so the room felt a bit cramped, but it was alright.
I am getting used to most hotels switching to sheets to cover the duvet. It feels more fresh and clean. So now when I have a room that still uses bedspreads, which this hotel still does, it turns me off a bit. The beds and pillows were comfy, blackout drapes worked well.

Extra plug in outlets for electronics but the free wifi was horrible!! In 2 days staying there, my Samsung thought the quality of the connection was to low and wouldn't connect. My fiance's Blackberry did connect but it would take forever to send/receive. He finally gave up and went to use the business center computer. I am not sure if it is because they have an 'open' connection (no password necessary) so people all over are tapping into it, but they need to do something about it. Someone staying on business would not be very happy.

The counter space in the bathroom was nice. But the shower curtain constantly pulled away from the wall causing a large gap so the water sprayed every where on the outside. Soaking whatever was on the counter!

Continental breakfast was ok. The location, for us, was convenient. Not a lot within walking distance, but there is a Dennys and bar at the Sandman just on the otherside of the alley, and a liquor store across the street. But dining is only a short drive away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanOlson9, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are working our way through renovations which includes updates to our wireless internet. We are happy that you chose us as your pet friendly hotel and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very friendly, welcoming staff. Always cheerful. Clean fitness room, mostly aerobic with several free weights. Towels, water and tv - just needed a user. Room clean, easy layout with extra plugs (thank you). Lobby is warm, neat and inviting if you were waiting for folks or meeting up to decide what to do next. Hot coffee or tea, cookies and fruit always available. Hot breakfast with eggs, bacon and fried potatoes, bagels cereal, oatmeal and assorted breads. Definitely a repeat when next pass through.

Room Tip: Enter stairs take you to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladylobo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanOlson9, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We love hearing how you Love This Country! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stay at this hotel once a month for business and sometimes twice a month and the staff is always friendly, the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast is good too. We get a business rate and we feel it is a fair price for a top notch place like this! We would recommend this hotel as the best one in Saskatoon and we have stayed at a few others in that city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanOlson9, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay each time and that you continue to return! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here last week, Suggest you look elsewhere. Very expensive for a very ordinary Standard room w/ 2 Beds. Can find premium Lodging in Las Vegas cheaper than this place. Room was dingy, and so is the Reception Check In area, looks like something from the 50's, with an Old Rickity Wood Floor, that looks like it is ready to collapse. Furniture is Very Old and worn. They have a free Breakfast, you are better served by going to Denny's just around the block Belive me there are better Hotels in Saskatoon than this place.

Room Tip: There isn't a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palomah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanOlson9, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have heard your comments regarding the age of our hotel and we are working to improve. Right now we are replacing the desks, chairs, dressers, night stands, wet bars (including granite counter tops), fridges and microwaves. There will be more to follow this step such as the lobby floor and couches and chairs as well as sofa beds and arm chairs in the guest rooms. We hope you will return and see the changes we've made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saskatoon Airport
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
#5 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#15 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saskatoon Inn and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Saskatoon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
Address: 617 Cynthia Street, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 6B7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites is conveniently located close to major Saskatoon attractions: John G. Diefenbaker International Airport (1 km), SaskTel Centre (3.9 km), Saskatoon Forest Farm Park & Zoo (3.9 km) and University of Saskatchewan (7.0 km). Warm and comfortable rooms await you (76 Rooms), featuring free WiFi, flat-screen TV’s, daily local newspaper and in-room coffeemakers. Select rooms are equipped with the addition of mini-fridges, microwaves, pull-out sofas and an external patio entrance. For a comfort upgrade, book a Suite Room and enjoy the extra space that the adjoining living room provides. Pet-friendly rooms are available upon request. Rest easy at the Country Inn & Suites. Grab a free cookie and cup of coffee upon check-in. Complimentary hot breakfast is standard in the lobby each morning. Stick to your routine in the fully-equipped Fitness Centre. A 24-hour Business Centre is located in the lobby for your convenience, and Coin Laundry. Currency exchange service, free parking and Read It & Return Lending Library are also on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon Hotel Saskatoon
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon
Country Inn Saskatoon
Saskatoon Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing