We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from the hotel restaurant!..and the pullout beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Square Inn & Suites
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We have stayed at this particular hotel many times over the years. It is cheap, clean and close to the university. Unfortunately, our last stay in July was less than desirable. As all of the double queen rooms were booked, we had to get a king sized bed and an pullout. I happened to sleep on the pullout and it was terrible. Springs were sticking into me every time I turned and there was a hard ledge that hit me right at the shoulders. I figure that they should make management sleep on one of their pullouts for a night Given the torture, the pullouts would probably be replaced quickly. (Oh, I also had to sleep with crumbs. I asked the maid to replace the sheets, but she never came back to the room. I guess crumbs, to this hotel, are no big deal.)

However, the more bothersome part of the hotel was with the associated restaurant. In the past, the restaurant (Peter D's) was excellent and we looked forward to going there.. The food was good, service was great and there were a lot of people in there. However, this time, there were very few customers, the service was terrible and the food was inedible. In fact, our bacon (for two days in a row was rancid) and we were unable to eat it. Also, it is like pulling teeth trying to get a refill on the coffee. (We never did get a refill.) We noticed a name change on the restaurant so maybe that part of the hotel is under new management??? Anyway, we won't be returning to the restaurant or to the hotel. Time to find a new place to stay and eat!

Room Tip: Stay far far away from the pullout beds...unless you like being tortured with metal springs while tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santolver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I my wife and I stay at the colonial at least once a month since our daughter goes to university in Saskatoon. It's always a pleasant stay, weekend staff go out of their way to make sure every guest feels welcome. Jenifer asks every Sunday morning at check out how our stay was and she seems genuinely interested. We were woken up by a big ruckus one night and she gave us a discount the next morning with many apologies that weren't necessary but appreciated. We've never had a problem at all with noise before and we feel safe that they lock the main doors at night and have security patrol the building for young partiers. The restaurant is a little slow and somewhat overpriced but thee are many other options on 8th street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back towards the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is good value for money the room was clean comfortable beds tea and coffee making and full size fridge The check in was easy and the staff were very friendly I was on the ground floor at rear of hotel witch will access from room to car park and hotel and very quiet excellent nights sleep would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of this Hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EDDIE40_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed at the Colonial many times as it is quite close to RUH. Check in is always efficient and rooms are clean and comfortable. Cleaning staff are hard-working and friendly...as is management. We like being on the quiet north side-ample parking with nearby restaurants and shops. Will continue to use this motel-medical rates are available. Have used the hotel for family get-togethers and enjoyed the 'new' attached restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leslie_060_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We did a road trip from Ontario to Whitehorse, Yukon. Loved the location of our room, which took us to the back of the hotel. Allowed for street parking of car and small u-haul. Nice to have restaurant attached to the hotel, as we were tired and didn't want to go searching.

Staff were friendly at the hotel and the restaurant. Kudos to the wait staff at the restaurant who was on shift alone. It was a Sat. night and busy too. Would I stay here again, yes likely as the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: I liked having access to the back of the hotel. Parking was good, as you could park on the street if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadianeh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Colonial Inn & Square has great management, a friendly staff and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. We have enjoyed our stay at this hotel many times. It is conveniently located on 8th street in Saskatoon which offers a wide choice of dining places and it is fairly close to & easy to get to from Prairieland Park, for those folks who might be attending events there. We look forward to our next stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our room was nice and the bed was comfortable. There is a pub attached to this hotel and it seemed like a popular place for people to go to. It made for parking at night a little hard to come by. We always found parking but not usually near our room.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pub area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Saskatoon, SK
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#20 of 41 in Saskatoon
269 reviews
1.9 mi away
Home Inn & Suites Saskatoon South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Town Hotel
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 41 in Saskatoon
976 reviews
1.9 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Saskatoon
2.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Saskatoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Square Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Square Inn & Suites

Address: 1301 8th Street East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7H 0S7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Varsity View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range: £62 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Square Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colonial Square Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Square Hotel Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing