We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall - It was a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Our room was very clean. We required a dog-friendly hotel and the Sandman accommodated this. We had to pay extra because we have a dog, but it is the same at most hotels. We were pleasantly surprised that it was a non-smoking room. We actually prefer the non-smoking room, but most hotels put people with pets into smoking rooms and I find the stale, smokey air to be a problem. So this was definitely a pro for our stay. We went to the Shark Club for a bite to eat & a drink in the afternoon. The staff was excellent...friendly and efficient. The food & drinks were good. The front desk staff was friendly, but could not recommend a nice restaurant for dinner. We asked about a couple we had heard of and they had no information on them, keep trying to give us a map to get to them. We didn't need a map, as we have GPS in our vehicle. We tried to watch a movie on the pay-for-view channels and it did not work. After several phone calls, the night manager finally came to our room and then discovered that there was a problem with the provider, so they had to call the provider to reset. In total, it took about an hour just to get it set up so we could order & watch the movie. And the movie was $16.99 - Way Too Costly!! We will not do that again. We were awakened at between 2:30 & 3:00 by drunken revelers returning from the bar, we assume. We were unhappy with that. Overall, the experience the Sandman in Saskatoon was ok.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayFromSask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

The hotel is expensive,the rooms are old and need a definate remodel. The cleaning of the rooms is less than desirable. Front staff not well informed. asked for a portable fridge-hotel doesnt have any.

I dont think i would stay here again

Room Tip: look for other chains in the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnaglie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

stayed there for a hockey tournament. pool is small. rooms are drap, needs a make over. beds were clean. older TV. Denny ayyached was nice except it was busy all the time as get there early. The beds were only doubles not queens not good for a family of four with two teenagers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrairieDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

For the price it was not worth it. If I paid $40 -$60 dollars it would have been a wonderful stay but for an average cost of $140 it was disappointing at best. The room was small. When you turned any of the lights on the room flickered like a bad horror movie. Worst of all they had decommissioned the air conditioning for the winter and it was sweltering in the room at the end of the day.

If you have a choice, don't pick this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwh223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Best place to stay while in Saskatoon.
Nice hotel. Shark club is awesome. Denny's inside also. Lots of other places to eat close by.
Close to airport.
Stayed here many times and try to every time I come here. Usually booked if you wait till last minute.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johngil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

If I had to guess, Sandman doesn't own this property. It's not the standard of their other locations. This one is way down there. That said, you can always find good things, even in bad places. So let's start with those.

The bathroom amenities (shampoo, soap, etc.) are good quality. Not one, but two chain restaurant/bars are attached to the hotel. You'll know right away whether you want to eat here or not and don't have to worry about experimenting with menus. The lobby is well appointed and inviting. Front desk staff were courteous. But it kind of ends there.

We walked into our room which could have been mistaken for a nice sized walk in closet. It's not of the size that two adults can move around at the same time. I had to sit while my wife got organized, and vice versa. Decor, while in reasonable state of repair, was a dreary green/brown brocade reminiscent of a previous century. The walls were dark, and dark cherrywood furniture served to darken it even more. Even with every light in the room turned on, it was dark and repressive.

The heat was sweltering. The air conditioner had been decommissioned for the season, and covered with a cheap vinyl cover. A window opens, but only marginally, and there's no airflow in the room anyway. So we slept virtually uncovered in a very uncomfortable Ed (very soft). The TV is old and out of focus, and there seems to be a problem with the cable service. Ghost images make it difficult to watch.

The bathroom was tiny. No countertop for your toiletries, toilet paper roll under your armpit attached to the tiny vanity. You have to straddle the toilet to close the door.

Outdoor noise was fairly high. It's a busy intersection in a less than desirable area. And idling diesel trucks warming in the morning cut the troubled sleep short in any case.

My advice is to ALWAYS read reviews from TripAdvisor BEFORE making your reservation. Your traveling peers will let you know about shortcomings. We didn't do that, and relied on the brand name. This property demonstrates that there can be a sows ear in every decent brand.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mort69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley G, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share valued feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for not creating a positive and memorable experience during your previous stay. Your comfort and satisfaction is important to us and we certainly did not leave you with a valued impression.

The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon has many room type categories to choose from. We could of extended the option of choosing a more spacious guestroom to better accommodate your needs.

We are also very pleased to announce renovations in the near future!

My apologies again. It is our wish you will afford The Sandman Hotel, Saskatoon the opportunity to host your future hotel stays.

Best regards,
Beverley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Like this place. Good quality sleep, quiet place. Room is very big for 150$. Even get a love seat couch + seperate 1 seat couch. The only down side is the washroom that is very basic with cheap old fixture. The Shark club has great looking and cheerful staff that worth the detour! Dennis restaurant does great for breakfast. Very close to airport and business district

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretonsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
#23 of 40 in Saskatoon
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saskatoon Inn and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Saskatoon
Comfort Inn Saskatoon
#25 of 40 in Saskatoon
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#18 of 40 in Saskatoon
265 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Blairmore
Best Western Blairmore
#4 of 40 in Saskatoon
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Saskatoon

Address: 310 Circle Dr W, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range: £62 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel Saskatoon 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect blend of comfort, quality, and service, Sandman Hotel Saskatoon has everything for both corporate and leisure travellers to make your stay ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saskatoon Sandman Hotel
Sandman Inn Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing