We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The James Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Delta Hotels Bessborough(Saskatoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Town Hotel(Saskatoon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
356
38
8
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
38
8
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturn down serviceeggs benedictboutique hotelthe rivergreat boutiquelobby barone bedroom suitemade to order eggsbreakfast roomfresh fruitskating rinkamazing hoteleach eveningthe penthousebottled watercity viewbreakfast was included
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just was in Saskatoon for Board meeting and was wowed by this new boutique hotel. My room overlooked down town Saskatoon with a balcony that was was revamped with new railings, tile floor and stylish furniture. Furnishings including a huge L shaped couch, wood and marble flooring and the most comfortable bed and sheets made my experience top notch. Compared to other "similar" hotels in Canada the price/value experienced is the best there is. Private food area for guests provided me with excellent hot and cold food (included in hotel stay) items to get me started. Beautiful lounge with limited but excellent appetizers. Nice workout facility with the best workout machines make this property my favourite to date.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed in a spacious studio suite with a king-size bed separated from the sitting area by a partial wall with flat-screen TVs on either side. The bed and linens were excellent. The wood floors are very stylish. The bathroom is a little small, a reflection of the fact that the hotel was a conversion from an older residential building, but is so well appointed you'll overlook its size. The overall size of the room, its floor plan and furnishings makes it a very attractive place to spend time and entertain friends.

We didn't try room service, but the complimentary breakfast was excellent and is served in a bright room. The room had a Keurig brewing system for coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There is a small lobby bar which we didn't try but was very attractive.

The only downside of The James Hotel in our experience was a small one. Not to be the humbug, but every time I crossed the lobby I had to run the gauntlet of very accommodating "guest experience coordinators". The hotel opened five days before our stay so the staff are all primed to do their job and understandably proud of their hotel, but sometimes their enthusiasm and friendliness can be intrusive. The hotel is probably the most expensive in the city, but provides very high value. We plan to stay there when we're in Saskatoon again. Two thumbs up for The James Hotel.

Speaking of Saskatoon, I continue to be more impressed with it every time I go there. While small on a national scale, it has a really nice buzz. The "City of Bridges" has running trails on both sides of the South Saskatchewan River across the street from The James Hotel. Broadway Avenue across the river from the hotel is a funky little shopping area. Check out Outer Limits with lots of selection for active outdoor clothing and a number of other interesting restaurants, Bliss, Calories and the Broadway Cafe which we didn't get to try this trip. We had a fixed price three course meal at Truffles Bistro - excellent and lunch at Jakes on 21st Street - very good, both are within walking distance of the hotel. We tried the well advertised Berry Barn south of Saskatoon for lunch to meet some friends, too kitschy for me.

The Ukrainian Museum and Mendel Art Gallery are also close by the hotel and worthwile to spend time in. Overall, two thumbs up for Saskatoon

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cdn_Traveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

An amazing boutique hotel located in downtown Saskatoon right by the Bessborough and physically connected to the Sheraton. Just opened in October, 2011. Was a condo or apartment building and was converted to a hotel. Beautiful view of the river and park area. Quiet and spotless. Right from the moment you enter, the staff are very welcoming and accomodating, Rooms and all common areas are beautifully decorated in a modern style - felt like I was in New York. Beautiful, high end bedding and pillows, extra large bath towels, a terrific robe and lots of little thoughtful touches. Room service food (untried) is brought in from an adjoining restaurant, but no on-site restaurant. There is a breakfast area with daily specials - day I was there, sausages, bacon, individually made omelletes, waffles, fresh fruit, oatmeal, etc. The main floor bar is amazing - very comfortable seating, intimate, beautiful and you feel like you're in a private home. Price a little higher than others but includes the great breakfast and free parking. I've stayed in a lot of hotels all around the world and I can't think of any nicer! Can't say enough. Perfect for the business traveller or a couple or a honeymoon

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room - great sunrise and sunset
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews