We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel, good weekend rates”
Review of The James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The James Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel, good weekend rates”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel, and a nice addition to the hotels in Saskatoon. The rooms are very well decorated, and the internet worked well.

The beds and sheets are marvellous, they use a microfiber sheet that is very soft and comfortable. The breakfast room has a chef in attendance to cook custom omelettes for you, and it also includes a good selection of fresh fruit, bread, preserves and other hot dishes. You won't want to miss breakfast here.

You do hear other doors in the hallway closing, but outside of that we did not notice any other noise.

It is right across from the river valley park system, which is very popular with runners and walkers. It's also located in an area with many restaurants within walking distance.

The location seems to be a converted apartment building, and the hallways are a bit narrower than a typical North American hotel. That did not cause us any issues, as there are not that many rooms per floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    35
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
33
155
11
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I recently stayed here on business for 2 weeks during the month of March, and I have to say that my stay was phenomenal! For a home away from home for 2 weeks, it was that and more. The bed was probably the most comfortable I've ever stayed in, and for someone who LOVES to have a nice long bath and read, the tub was amazing! Deep and luxurious!

If I HAD to choose a downside, it would only be that there is no pool or restaurant, HOWEVER, that being said, the room service selection was wonderful!! Lots of yummy food!!

I will definitely be staying at the James Hotel next time I'm in Saskatoon!

Room Tip: Any room ending in '01' are junior suites and are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle1685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed 1 night at The James Hotel in February because we had to catch an early flight (5:50 AM). We were so happy there. They even provided us with a lovely breakfast at 4:15 AM. That is amazing service. We have stayed at upscale boutique hotels in Paris, New York, California, Vancouver and this was one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. The sheets are amazing. Other times when we needed to stay in Saskatoon (my family is 1 1/4 hours out of Saskatoon) the hotels we stayed in were not that great. This will always be our hotel to stay in and I would recommend it to anyone. Pick the river view.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The hotel is fantastic. I reserved a room for two nights online and then noticed there was very little difference between the city view room (which I had booked) and the river view, so called the front desk and asked to revise my reservation. The gentleman who answered commended my choice and recommended a room on one of the higher floors for the best view (which he noted on the file).

We arrived to our 11th floor river view room - spectacular! The room was great. But the service was even better. And the turndown service delightful.

Plus, the barman makes an incredible whiskey sour.

No detail is overlooked. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Book a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeIsYQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at The James Hotel in February 2012 and had a small, private (legal) wedding ceremony before we headed south for the real wedding. We could not have picked a more perfect setting.

My husband booked the Date Night package but the hotel upgraded us to a suite across the street from the skating rink by the Bessborough, beautiful view!!

The suite was modern, chic and elegant. The living space was more than large enough for us and our five wedding guests and extremely comfortable.

After the ceremony we went next door to Carvers for a lovely supper.

The bathroom and bedroom were both roomy and very luxurious. There was a large flat screen tv in both the living area and bedroom with river views from both rooms. We cannot say enough about the staff, they were so accomodating and gracious.

The breakfast the next morning was quite gourmet, beautiful fruit, pastries, coffee, juice, smoothies, eggs benedict, etc. Just Lovely!!

We are so glad we tried this new hotel and plan on spending every Anniversary in a suite at The James!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassy980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Service! What a treat. When you arrive there is someone at the door and at the desk. Smiling happy helpful and genuinely friendly and approachable staff. So refreshing! Even the cleaners are happy, we overheard one singing in the elevator. We stayed in a studio suite on the 7th floor. Very spacious and comfortable, with a big window and balcony and a view of the churchyard. Separate living area to relax. Our room did not directly face the river but the view was very nice. Easy parking. A lovely bathroom, very comfy large tub. Good lighting. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud. The rooms are very quiet, with the only exception being that the automatic closers on the doors make them close (i mean slam) quite loudly and woke me up a couple of times during the night. There is no traffic noise, hall noise or adjoining room sound transfer.
The breakfast is a full gourmet, and I do mean gourmet, meal, in a sunny room with a nice view and great coffee, and again, that service! We usually don't partake of included hotel "breakfasts" but I'm glad we did this time. And as if all this isn't enough, in the evening they bring a wee snack of the most delicious chocolate covered strawberries to your room.
What more could a person possibly want in a hotel stay? My only beef was the door slamming devices, maybe those could somehow be adjusted to be a little less enthusiastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackerjack86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ontario, canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here this weekend in a suite on the tenth floor. Great views of the river. The rooms are very tastefully decorated, location is perfect and the service was also great. We had a very nice breakfast Sunday morning on the second floor. Everything was perfect, and I must mention the bed sheets - AMAZING, so soft. I am going to email them and find out where they get them from. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
854 reviews
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 39 in Saskatoon
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Hotel

Property: The James Hotel
Address: 620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing