We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clearly the best in Saskatoon”
Review of The James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The James Hotel
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a top notch, modern, luxury hotel leagues above the Bessborough. The rooms have everything needed and more: free wifi, in room coffee maker, free bottled water, comfortable bed, very clean furniture. Free full breakfast is included with the room price and it is superb, with eggs made to order, fresh fruits, yogurt, and gluten free choices. We have stayed at good hotels worldwide and honestly, the James is among the best. And they have a lovely bar!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnMNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for The James Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for business in July 2014 - staff service was incredible. The room had a beautiful view, luxurious amenities, and the bed sheet were HANDS DOWN the softest I have ever felt. I will definitely be returning here on future trips to Saskatoon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We only stayed one night but I seriously wanted to steal the bedding so I could have that heavenly sleep many more nights. The room was completely spotless and I loved the fact that the floors were wood not carpet as it instantly made me feel I was not walking around on previous guests dirt. The bathroom was well appointed and the toiletries high end. Nice large televisions in both the sitting area and the bedroom and lovely non-plastic furniture on the balcony. The bed and bedding was to die for! We had an amazing sleep. The lounge had great music, delicious food and a wonderful bartender making great drinks. The breakfast was really, really tasty with a great selection. The only thing that keeps my review from being excellent is that the exterior of the building has peeling paint. I did ask about it and they are dealing with it soon.

Room Tip: A view of the river is preferable to a view of the city
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barclove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel in Saskatoon. I always get a bit sad when I hear after the fact that friends have stayed anywhere but The James Hotel. From the marble lobby to the chic modern decor, everything is perfect here.

Staff are fantastic - and Heather makes a gorgeous cocktail in their lively lobby bar (which often has old school tunes spun by a DJ). Everyone greets you with a smile and a helping hand. Housekeeping keeps the rooms absolutely immaculate.

The complimentary breakfast is divine - Eggs Benedict made to order is but one of the offerings. At night - turndown service includes a sweet offering (I once had the best red velvet cupcake of my life).

But the real draw? The bed. Perfect king-sized slice of heaven with the most incredible sheets you have ever slept on. I promise. Made from angel's gossamer wings. Only problem is you won't want to get out of them and may miss breakfast.

Headed to the Paris of the Prairies? Book the James. Do it. You'll thank me.

Room Tip: A view of the river valley is always gorgeous.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Analea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was my first time staying at The James Hotel and I LOVED IT! The staff were friendly, professional and went above and beyond to ensure my stay was positive. The rooms were clean and spacious AND the bed was fabulous! I had the best sleep that I have had in six years! The breakfast was out of this world and I even had my chair held out for me! There is no doubt that I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We always stay in an Extended Stay Studio Suite, obviously, we pay a few extra $$ to stay at the James, but the additional perks are well worth it. The small and helpful kitchen is really handy to make healthy meals and snacks for our toddler, I love that the fridge is apartment size and not just a small bar fridge. Overall the suite is spacious with the a king size bed hidden from the living room, and lovely bathroom, it is truly our home away from home. Another plus are the fabulous hot breakfasts, as a family, it gives us a break from our normal routine of just rushing out of the house in the morning, we go and enjoy the breakfast before we head out on the town for the day.

Room Tip: Really like the Extended Stay Studio Suite, the small kitchen is great!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A small boutique hotel, hidden along the river bank, the James is the destination for discriminating tastes. The view of the river is fantastic, the restaurant is perfect and the evening snacks wonderful. I want to live there!

A bit pricey, but worth every penny.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the better view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 40 in Saskatoon
1,028 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 40 in Saskatoon
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Hotel

Address: 620 Spadina Crescent East, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 3T5, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range: £144 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The James Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing