We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I recently stayed 5 nights here during the CCMA's. The location is great if you are attending any events that take place at the TCU Centre as it is across the street. For a new building the parking structure was horrible. Very low and narrow. It has a wonderful lobby great for socializing and mingling. There is no little gift shop. We ate in the restaurant 2 times - slow service both times and a very limited menu. The food was okay, nothing wonderful. We dropped into the lounge a few times and the serivce was horrible. Had to go looking for someone to take our drink order and the same when we wanted to pay and leave. The room was nice and well stocked. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and must be well built as we were not bothered by any noise in the hallway or above us. The only reason I would never come back is the price - way too expensive! We got some sort of a "special" rate for the convention (same as the CAA rate) and it was close to $1300.00 for the 5 nights (that is just room and tax as we didn't charge anything else to the room). There is no room service and the menu in the restaurant is very limited. The only reason I would never stay here again is the rates are too high and the service was not great. You need your room key to operate the elevator - what a pain that was!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RiverManitobaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the new Holiday Inn Saskatoon. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city and all the festivities around the CCMA's. It is always helpful to gain feedback, good or bad, from our guests. Your feedback will allow me the opportunity to reinforce the great job our staff is doing, as well as train and coach to those areas that aren't meeting the expectations of our guests. I will take this opportunity to address some of your concerns. 1.) Parking Garage. We have discovered that on occasion the parking garage can feel overly tight when at capacity or at times when filled with larger sized vehicles (ie: trucks & vans). 2.) The Lobby. We are very excited to have Canada's first Hub at Holiday Inn. The Hub at Holiday Inn is a new concept to the Holiday Inn chain that incorporates a spacious, open floor plan, food and beverage options and an atmosphere conducive to connecting with colleagues, friends and family. 3.) The Rooms. A good night sleep in a comfortable room is the ultimate goal for our guests. I'm especially glad you were able to do this during the fun and frevolity of the CCMA's. 4.) The Hub Restaurant & Lounge. Options in menu items are always evolving with the comments made by our guest. The new menu in our "Hub" concept is designed to cater to broad audience with a variety of comfort foods great for sharing. A busy time, like the CCMA's, keeps our staff on their toes. Knowing that your service was slower than expected gives us a great opportunity to continue to evaluate, coach and build on efficiency. 5.) The Rate. Although rates flucuate with the supply and demand in the hospitality industry. We hope that our new, modern hotel with innovative concepts like "The Hub at Holiday Inn" will continue make people happy when they are travelling for business or pleasure. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn and Saskatoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a new, modern, and clean hotel. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are some of the best I've ever seen. However for a premium price you need more than just pretty rooms.

During our stay there was something going on in their conference room on the 11th floor. As a result they had one of their two elevators dedicated to the guests going to the 11th. Whenever we used the elevators we were made to feel as though we were inconveinencing the staff!

There is no room service but you can go pick up your own food from the restaurant downstairs. This is fine if it wasn't for the aforementioned elevator fiasco!

My wife and I were bothered by some unsavory individuals on two seperate occasion right in front of the hotel. The downtown location in convenient but requires more security.

The rooms are beautiful however when you put the whole package together I feel there is better value available at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DWickstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a nice new hotel, very modern. You needed your room key for pretty much anything. Great security. Driving up the parkade to the covered parking lot, it was very tight fitting (we hit our mirror on our truck) and also very steep. Winter might be a challenge. The staff was awesome, very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sloany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was fantastic, quite large and everything seemed new. The bed was very comfortable and there was both soft and firm pillows. The bathroom was spacious and the shower had great pressure. There is a very large tv with a large selection of HD channels. Check in and check out were efficient and friendly. The lounge was comfortable and the restaurant was very good. There are booths in the restaurant that have tv's which is great for the kids. The breakfast was very good. It's not free but they give you three choices of breakfast and All of them were great. There is a free secure parkade attached to the hotel. I have stayed at almost every hotel in downtown Saskatoon and this one has now become my #1 choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wolfden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I have stayed here twice so far and each time the rooms have been beautiful, clean and have exceeded my expectations. Location is directly across from TCU Place on Pacific Avenue and 22nd Street. Free, secure access high-rise parking is directly beneath the hotel (the hotel is above the parkade). I will stay at this hotel every time I stay in Saskatoon. Better than The Radisson and The Bessborough, at a fraction of the cost! If you book through www.booking.com you will receive aeroplan OR airmiles rewards. My rate for a king bed was $162 and I received 500 aeroplan points! Only fault is that the swimming pool is currently under renovation (August 10 2012).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lds124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Loved my stay here. The room was spacious, very clean and smelled wonderful (so perhaps not great for those with scent allergies). Large soaker tub, stand up shower and European style sinks in the bathroom were a nice addition to the room. There were a large selection of tv channels , which was great for my little one. The bed was spectacular. Mattress and bedding were super comfortable which led to a great sleep. The only cons were the front desk staff took their time acknowledging the fact I was standing at the desk waiting to check in (annoying) but were very friendly and helpful afterward. It was also very expensive. I would have no problem staying here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank TravelingT137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I'd rank this hotel in the top ten that I've stayed in over the past couple of years. Ultra modern, very spacious room, with a fabulous bathroom befitting a high end boutique hotel. Clean, secure parade. I looked around Saskatoon for someplace to eat, and settled on the Hub in the hotel. Somewhat limited menu, but good food, and a decent if very small wine selection.
The location could be better, there's really nothing right close by other than the Greyhound bus terminal (ugh). the convention centre and arts centre are also right across the street, so if you need to be close to these facilities, the HI is perfect.
The Bessborugh, the Sheraton, and the Radisson all have superior locations near the river however.
And...at $229 a night, $249 for the corner room, it's pretty pricey for Saskatoon. Never mind that, it's pricey for just about anywhere. I routinely stay in downtown Toronto for under $200.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Goodchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#10 of 41 in Saskatoon
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Delta Hotels by Marriott Bessborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown

Address: 101 Pacific Ave, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7K 1N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range: £86 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saskatoon's latest, state of the art hotel is ideally located in the Central Business District in the heart of Saskatoon's vibrant downtown core and across the street from TCU Place-Saskatoon's Arts & Convention Centre, Midtown Plaza Shopping Centre and the YMCA. Designed to give guests a true taste of the new IHG lifestyle, Holiday Inn Saskatoon has become one of Saskatoon's most desirable destinations. Holiday Inn Saskatoon was the first property in Canada to unveil the new "Hub at Holiday Inn" open lobby concept. There's more! All that you have come to love about Holiday Inn is here: FREE high speed internet, heated indoor pool and fitness centre, indoor heated parking, banquet and meeting space. Its all here..Saskatoon style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing