We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Disgusting Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Saskatoon
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We recently spent a night there. We asked for a quiet room on a quiet floor and they delivered. The room wss great, very comfortable. The next morning we went downstairs for the complimentary breakfast. We arrived 20 minutes before it closed. Getting a plate I noticed the "breakfast prep girl"was covering a tray full of cooked eggs with plastic wrap. I thought that was odd but opened the chafing dish to find 5 dried up tough eggs. The bacon was so salty it was almost inedible. The prep girl was gone so couldn't even ask for a fresh egg. Little did I know those eggs were reserved for the poor suckers who were going to have breakfast there the next day. If you choose to stay here I would highly recommend skipping their breakfast and heading over to the Husky restaurant next door.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CS_SASK, General Manager at Comfort Suites Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Hello wjsc and thank you for posting your review on here. We welcome all feedback and truly do like to hear "the good, the bad and the ugly". Thank you for your comments regarding the room - we certainly are proud of our hotel and as you may have noticed from the previous reviews on here - we are very well liked the majority of the time!

In researching your profile and subsequently, all your reviews you have posted since you have become involved with TripAdvisor (and well done you for reviewing as often as you do!), I noticed a lot of reviews regarding food in either hotels or restaurants. Food - and the quality there of - I see is hugely important to you and I am sure in researching our hotel, you knew we were not a full service hotel. The complimentary breakfast that we offer, is what we consider a "Deluxe Hot Continental" - offereing hot meats (bacon, sausage links or sausage patties etc), eggs, fresh made waffles, juices, cereals, yoghurts, hard-boiled eggs etc. That being said, while we believe there is a substantial choice of items available, we have never tried to imply that these items are "cooked to order". We do have a "prep kitchen" where we prepare the breakfast and can heat items (and cook some items that are purchased raw - such as the sausage patties etc). This is where you saw Sandra (our Breakfast bar Attendant) covering the egg patties. The reason for this is that they were being thawed in the refrigerator overnight for the following day - and this si the correct way following Food Safety standards. The patties for teh day you were in house will have been cooked during the breakfast time and are then kept warm and to the correct temperature in the Chafing Dish - again, not cooked to order. As you mentioed - you came in 20 minutes prior to closing and so perhaps these patties in teeh warmer had been there for a while?. We absolutely will cook any items we offer if a guest requests and even though you saw Sandra to begin with and then were unable to find here - we would happily have cooked something for you had you brought it to our attention at the time.

We do hope that you will be back to visit us again soon - and thank you once again for your review of our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Saskatoon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel and we were very pleased. The lobby is kept clean and welcoming. The staff were very friendly. The room was spacious and clean. Check-in and check-out went smoothly. Great location near the airport. Walking distance to the Credit Union Centre. Also, has a Husky and Tim Hortons near the hotel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CS_SASK, General Manager at Comfort Suites Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hi Carolyn D - thanks so much for your review. We love the short and "suite" ones as much as we love the long and lengthy ones :)

Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were early to arrive and were promptly taken care of with a warm welcome and a smile. When entering our room, I was blown away with how inviting and spacious our room was, very clean and modern. They have the room setup so it's very family friendly, with beds being separate from the sitting area, so when it's time for the kidlettes to go to sleep, parents can still stay up and visit without being a distraction.

After checking in, we decided to go swimming. The pool is the perfect temperature, hot tub is hot, but not too hot, and the waterslide is fast and fun!! We spent about 6 hours there throughout the day. The staff they had supervising the slide were polite, and surely enjoyed their job, who wouldn't like watching people have fun!!

We enjoyed breakfast the next morning, which was perfect, something there for everyone to enjoy, and their coffee is fantastic (and available all day long).

We checked out, and again had wonderful service, from polite, and professional staff.

Our overall stay was excellent, there wasn't a single thing we would have changed. We will definitely stay here again in the future without question.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CS_SASK, General Manager at Comfort Suites Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello AshleyER - do you know what the best part of my day is - READING REVIEWS LIKE THIS :) Thank so much for sharing your feedback - we truly do appreciate it. Even better than reading reviews like this though is sharing them wiht my team I am so proud to be at Number 3 here as this is such a "go-to" site and comments like yours can only help us get to Number 1 :)

Please come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We booked here last minute, had no preference as to where to stay so picked out if the 4 that had rooms available.
We were very happy with our room and the service. We were in a corner suite and loved all the room we had! Everything was clean, pillows were comfy. The bed seemed a little firm for my liking but in no way would deter me from staying there again.
Out kids had a blast on the waterside and in the pool. This area is smaller than I realized from the pictures and wouldn't be very functional w a large number of people trying to use it at the same time. We went at the perfect time and were walking out just as a large school group was coming in.
The breakfast was full of options although there were a couple things I noted while having breakfast. The "kitchen" staff wasn't quite on the ball w refilling items, the waffle irons needed to b sprayed more often (the spray was w the staff that wasn't very attentive) and I heard a few comments wondering why we had fruit for our waffles but no whipped cream (not a major issue, but just imagine how much better those delicious waffles would have been had we had it).
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and it will b out go to hotel next time we stay in saskatoon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CS_SASK, General Manager at Comfort Suites Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hello Kristin R and thank you for posting such a super review! It's always so nice to hear when guests posts review on just about every aspect of their stay so thank you again for taking the time to do so.

I'm so sorry that you weren't able to have some whipped cream with those yummy waffles - it is normally kept in the ice bucket just by the syrup and fruit toppings so I'm not sure what happened to it!

We hope you'll be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Anybody giving this property a negative review is the type that expect special treatment, to break rules, over ride safety, or simply can't be pleased. It is perfect! New, very clean, basic amenities, free breakfast, and a world class staff! Easy to get in and out of, and ample parking. I am a high maintenance business traveler and even I was no match for this crew. They had all the answers, where to dine, how to get there, when the Blades game was, very informative! From the check in, to concierging my stay, to the breakfast in the AM, it was Perfect! Thank you ladies! See you again soon.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if a 10 mins ride to downtown is too long for you. This property is NOT downtown...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmoneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CS_SASK, General Manager at Comfort Suites Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Hello gmoneg - wow, you've brought a tear to my eyes! What a super review - thank you so much for posting it on here. You have just made this "mama bear" (as my team call me!) very proud of her "cubs". We truly are like a family at the hotel and your sentiments echo mine to the "T". It sure is nice to read it from someone else though, so thank you once again. I will very much enjoy sharing this feedback with them.

I'm glad that we were able to help you with all your questions and recommend some places for you to dine.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

During the bitterly cold New Years weekend this hotel provided excellent accommodation. Plugins in parking lot worked and were a necessity. Front desk was friendly with good service. Rooms were spacious clean and well appointed. Breakfast was a good selection attended to by a friendly attentive young lady who was looking after a busy Breakfast Room. Wi Fi worked well in our room. Only neg was the price of the room which seems to be on par with other hotels in this booming prairie city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freezer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CS_SASK, General Manager at Comfort Suites Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Hello freezer_12 - what a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time to post it here. This site is an "absolute must" for the traveller these days and so many of our guests come here first, so thank you for being a part of this "community". It sure was cold that night - I had worked the overnight shift on New Years's Eve and I was almost scared to go home that morning as I was all comfy cozy in the hotel! PLease dont wait another year before you come and visit us again! Happy New Year to all the frezzer_12 family,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT time. The pool was cool but not cold. The water slide is extremely fast - barely 7 seconds to get down it - and the kids had a ball. We had a great breakfast - thanks to Sandra, the breakfast lady. Great food and LOTS of it! We were in room 202. IT'S HUGE! Two queen beds and a pull-out sofa-bed, so it sleeps six (eight if your kids are small!). There is still PLENTY of room to run around; just ask the kids. Two flat-screened TVs, a big closet and nice bathroom. It even has an entryway that's paved with tiles, so wet stuff can be off the carpet. The only drawback to the room that it's over and across the hall from the pool, so there's noise until 10 p.m., which was no problem for us.

The staff was all very helpful and friendly, the rooms clean and well-made up. Definitely would stay there again!

Room Tip: You can ask to view a room before renting. If certain items are an issue for you, ask to see the ro...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-CS_SASK, General Manager at Comfort Suites Saskatoon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

Hello LaurieL - thank you so much for posting such a super reivew here. It's great to hear that "a good time was had by all" - from the biggest grands to the baby grands! Certainly seems like Grandma and Grandpa had fun also! The waterslide is a huge plus for families traveling and yup, you sure can whizz down there! Glad everyone enjoyed the beds also - but jsut as a reminder - legally and for Fire Regulations, we can only fit 6 guests in a double queen room :). Very glad to hear you all had a great weekend though..........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#15 of 40 in Saskatoon
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel 6 Saskatoon
#22 of 40 in Saskatoon
165 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Saskatoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Saskatoon

Address: 203 Bill Hunter Ave, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7R 1E3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range: £74 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Saskatoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built North Saskatoon hotel that is convenient to Saskatoon's major attractions, but away from the bustle of downtown Saskatoon. The Comfort Suites Saskatoon is adjacent to the SaskTel Centre, and close to the John G. Diefenbaker International Airport. Discover the Saskatoon Blades Hockey Club, Mendel Art Gallery, Auto Clearing Motor Speedway, and the Saskatoon Museum conveniently at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Saskatoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing