We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible”
Review of Riviera Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riviera Motor Inn
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not terrible”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Room seemed clean,but still had funny smell to it.(like it was a smoking room maybe)Very thin walls,could hear a lot from outside,in the hall and next door.Would stay here again if we had to but will try hard not to,especially at 130.00 a night.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraManager, Manager at Riviera Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear Mr. Greg D.
Thanks for giving us the opportunity of serving you and also for your review. We are extremely sorry that your stay with us was not satisfying. We take pride in managing our property as a smoke free facility and we take every possible action to keep it that way. However we encourage house guests to notify front desk about any issue so that it can be dealt with promptly. Also we encourage guests to go through our hotel website or contact hotel front desk for any ongoing deals during your period of stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Traveling from NB to Alberta. Stopped at 4 hotels so far. This one was the nicest. Most comfortable beds ever. Loved it!!!!!! My father and I hsd amazing sleeps. Cant wait to recommend to my friends. Cleaning staff was very friendly aa well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maheep M, General Manager at Riviera Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are happy that you had a comfortable stay and our staff was able to make you happy. We thrive on positive comments like yours and we also expect guests to let us know about areas where we have to improve. We are in a process of upgrading our hotel and we assure you a much better stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We have stayed at the Riviera several times on our way through Saskatoon when budget was our main priority. It is in a little cluster of hotels just off the exit -- the most affordable and least acclaimed of the group. The staff have consistently been friendly to us, and generous as allowed in response to our special requests. Unlike another reviewer, we have never felt unsafe in the area. Smoke free. Clean bedding and bathrooms, run down carpets. Sometimes busy with other budget travellers, and can be noisy, but the staff are sympathetic and responsive to concerns and complaints. The architecture presents significant impediments to wheelchair-bound folks, though there are several first floor rooms with private doors leading to the parking lot. Annoying, glare-y exterior lights are mostly fended off by decent black-out curtains. Rooms have the typical, noisy, inefficient room air conditioners. Second floor rooms tend to be quieter, dryer, a bit cleaner, and perhaps more spacious.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid first floor rooms during heavy storms, when water can creep into the carpets there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maheep M, General Manager at Riviera Motor Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, we are happy that you had a comfortable stay and our staff was able to make you happy. We thrive on positive comments like yours and we also expect guests to let us know about areas where we have to improve. We take pride in our housekeeping cleaning and we encourage guests to let us know about any minor/major issues with the room/linen/bed so that they can be dealt with promptly or an alternative can be provided if we are not able to fix that problem. We are in a process of upgrading our hotel and we assure you the same comfortable stay always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snow Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Grossly overpriced. The room was very small barely enough roon to walk around bed. You would not have to worry about being burnt by hot water taking a shower, best I could get was cool luke warm. Shower Controls and spigot all ripped from wall moldy and dirty in that area. Air conditioner only blew air, I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Find Another Motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terryps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

To start with I did not have high expectations staying here but it was one of the last rooms available in the city when I needed to be there.
The good
- bed was comfortable and the white bedding seemed relatively new and was spotless
-the bathroom was very clean and utilitarian, typical of the 80's but appeared well maintained
-towels were fresh and clean, shampoo, soaps and hairdryer were provided
-TV worked and had lots of channels
-the room was a good size and had ample closet space

The bad
- not a good area, little worried about leaving the rental car in the lot there
-no smoking hotel meant guests gathered outside and smoked and talked until almost 3am. Not party people, but you could hear every word, no soundproofing
-the lobby is most uninviting and very, very dated
-carpets very dated and worn through on the stairs
-this is only a two storey hotel but there is no elevator. If someone is elderly or disabled, it would be a challenge to get the luggage up to the second floor since the front desk staff certainly didn't seem interested in offering assistance.

The worst
-when you check in, you are required to sign a waiver saying the hotel is not at all responsible for any theft from your room. There is no safe in the room and no safe at front desk to keep valuables
-the front desk staff were all very unprofessional, did not know how to manage credit card payment efficiently (made several mistakes), rudeness extended to all the customers we saw, not just us
-we overpaid for this room and yet we found additional charges to our room bill for phone calls not made by us. We could only surmise the that hotel purposely padded the bill or more likely, someone was in our room and used the phone. Either way, a concern.

Cannot comment on the restaurant which was next door since we did not eat there.
This certainly isn't the worst hotel in Saskatoon, we had friends who had a much worse situation the same time. The bed was clean and comfortable and bathroom clean but if I would have a choice, I would stay somewhere else. Management should not take it for granted that there is a shortage of hotel rooms in Saskatoon. There is never an excuse of unprofessional or rude behaviour from staff. The only one who ever greeted us or cracked a smile was the cleaning staff out front one morning who was sweeping up the cigarette butts by the front entrance. In this day and age it is unbelievable that staff struggle with credit card payments.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anmejoshme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I think this hotel is great. We always stay here when visiting Saskatoon. We have never had a problem with the front desk. They have always been extremely helpful and friendly. The beds are so comfortable, and the new bedding is so comfy and cozy. The shower is one of the best. Rooms are always very clean. We love staying at this hotel and will definitely return !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albertacruisegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2011

It is a great hotel to stay in we have stayed here a few times and we keep coming back because we are so pleased with the hotel and there service . They are very clean ! The beds and bedding are so comfortable they are deffinatly top knotch !

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfiegirl130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Saskatoon, SK
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#20 of 39 in Saskatoon
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
Sandman Hotel Saskatoon
#30 of 39 in Saskatoon
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#28 of 39 in Saskatoon
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
MainStay Suites Saskatoon
#16 of 39 in Saskatoon
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
Travelodge Hotel Saskatoon
#23 of 39 in Saskatoon
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Motor Inn

Property: Riviera Motor Inn
Address: 2001 Ave B North, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 62 guest rooms the Riviera Motor Inn offers guests to the Saskatoon marketplace comparable accommodation choices. Whether you are in Saskatoon for business or pleasure, the Riviera Motor Inn is sure to meet all of your accommodation needs. Conveniently located only 5 minutes from the airport, downtown and Sask Place. Corporate, government and senior rates available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riviera Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing