We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for the history”
Review of Granary

Granary
Ranked #16 of 671 Restaurants in Saskatoon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$21
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nutana
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
648 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Went for the history”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We went to this place because it is a little unique in that they tore down the old restaurant and rebuilt an almost exact replica. It has the weird stuff hanging on the walls like the old Maxwell Taylor chain. The staff was friendly enough but as I read with other reviews, they were in no hurry to serve us, such as order drinks, get drinks, order appies, get appies, order entrees, then get entrees. The special was Oysters Rockefeller and there was nothing particularly wrong with them, but just like the calimari, there was nothing really memorable about it. They were also out of their signature prime rib, which was a surprise. I did get the impression that they did care about their customers and I bet they would have accomodated anything we asked for (like perhaps if we had said we were in a hurry, they would have sped up the service). A nice dining experience, but it would not be a regular stop for me.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMahdis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    71
    29
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The food was maybe average. The service was less than average. The whole meal took about 2 hours because they were really slow, then they were pressuring us to leave. We went to a few places in Saskatoon, this was definitely not a returnable experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brinna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundurn, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, great night out...what more could you ask for?”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Decided to go because of my wife's birthday, plus we hadn't been here for quite some time. We had a party of 8 and most of us ordered different menu items. We had fish (salmon), prime rib, chicken (feta with sun dried tomatoes and apple pecan Brie), steak (sirloin Oscar)and pasta (garlic linguini - special for the night) 3 of us had the salad bar, 1 couple had the mussels (another special) for appetizer and we topped the meal off with a couple of desserts (peanut butter pie and double chocolate brownie...with lots of forks). Because it was my wife's birthday the server and some other staff came out and did an excellent rendition of "Happy Birthday"! Have to say that everyone was very satisfied with their choices. The server was friendly and accommodating...filling water glasses, taking orders and explaining menu options. All in all a great evening out! Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_Pyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tough Luck”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife, our daughter and sister in law had a reunion dinner here on April 15th, 2014. They were in good spirits and happy to see each other again. When the food arrived it took a bit of the edge off the gathering. The Sirloin steaks were basically too tough to eat so they decided to just carry on with the vegetarian portion. That stopped abruptly with the rice which was too salty too eat. With some prodding, the waiter brought fresh dishes of rice and half admitted that the other was a mistake (it tasted like it was triple salted) but offered no comfort on the steak. Overall very disappointed as this has been a favourite restaurant of our family for over 25 years

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harperville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sk. Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Ate at 6:30pm April 6. We have eaten here many other times, but this time we were disappointed.
Went with a craving for the prime rib which is usually really good. The 8oz with 2 large shrimps was the special for $30. A baked potato came along as well as bread. Did not have the salad wagon which would have been a further 4.50 added on. The 12 oz prime rib was probably 1/3 fat and gristle. Not what we expected. Nor what we have had in the past. The others enjoyed their chicken. Our waiter was efficient and friendly. The wait was not long at all...and the restaurant was full.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granary also viewed

 
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
 

Been to Granary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing