We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As terrible as the worst reviews here make it out to be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As terrible as the worst reviews here make it out to be!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Don't believe any of the reviews that rate this higher than a 1. This place is a travesty, a dirty dive that will get your skin crawling. My "non-smoking" room that the clerks said had always been non-smoking reeked of cigarettes and their were cigarette burns on the couch. One of the door locks was missing, the room was dirty with insects buzzing and crumbs lying around. A key I was given wouldn't work and I was supplied another key without an apology. And there's a train track very nearby - I was woken up in the middle of the night by a very loud train. If I had felt safe sitting in my car in that parking lot, I would have slept there for the night, but the clientele who frequent this hole can be pretty scary looking, Avoid at all costs. I would rather spend the night on a dirty park bench. I've been scarred for life.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    14
    8
    8
    109
See reviews for
31
15
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Ok - I completely agree with all of the above so just adding my 5 cents to the history. I currently live in Saskatoon and this place, and the surrounding neighborhood, is virtually a no-go zone for most people. Saskatoon can be a rough place at night and this place is certainly one of the hotspots for trouble; bad location, hookers frequent it and what not. I advise you to steer clear and find a hotel/motel/whatever far away and stay safe.

Saskatoon is a sweet town for a days visit but this place will not provide it. Keep away.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Asked to see the room before we stayed. Room had stains on the dark stains, unknown dried something on sheets and headboard. Room smelt musty. Decided to cancel the reservation (called in to book it 2hrs earlier)
They refused to cancel the reservation and charged my credit card when i initially called. They said they need to be notifed 24 hours before otherwise they cannot give my money back. Instead they tried to offer me a discount off my next stay... Why in the hell would I want to stay here?
Room was way over-priced for the quality ($140), I travel constantly and have stayed in $80 hotels that were nicer.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MorZerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sask
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have never felt so ripped off in my life.The room absolutely reeked of urine.Puke(?) stains on the carpet.Mouse droppings on the sheets of the hide-a-bed.The mice had plenty to eat due to the great amounts of food under the bed.The carpet does not appear to have ever been vacuumed.Toilet is broken,leave the lid off the tank.No sleep for anyone due to crazy partying,finally resulting in police hauling person or persons away.Broken glass(window,not bottles)swept up against doorway upon leaving in the morning.Large sign above desk says no refunds on rooms.They don't ask how your stay was because they already know.All this for a premium price($220 plus taxes)Avoid if you care about your health or personal safety.Shameful!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SaskFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Okay so I am currently separated from my wife, and staying in various hotels in Saskatoon, so suffice it to say I am not terribly picky at the moment. So how bad does this place have to be for me to sit down at the laptop an write this? Let me tell you so you avoid it at all costs: First of all I arrived for check-in at two p.m. and was asked to come back later because of water damage. I returned at nine p.m. and while I was waiting to check-in a guy came in and started ranting about the "something or other" he'd found under his fridge. The guy at the desk seemed concerned about my room and called another desk clerk over, who quickly said, 'No it's fine". Well now i realize the concern was over my room. First off yes, definitely water damaged and reeks like an old cabin. Ceiling removed in bathroom and toilet running constantly. I am having to turn the water on and off at the toilet base for fear it will overflow. The coffee pot is wrapped in its cord and laying on its side; the bathroom contained one tube of shampoo on a dirty bath towel, and I actually showered (grudgingly) with the curtain open for fear of touching it. I stepped outside to get something from my car, and I am quite sure there are a couple of drug dealers sitting in their car a few doors down, because they wouldn;t stop staring at me the whole time. As i entered my room a neighboring door opened and a drunk lady came out and wished me "Good morning" (it's eleven at night right now). I really can;t find the words to describe my horror at the thought of a family arriving here and spending the night. This is a travesty and I am quite certain it would be shut down following any real sort of investigation. As I said earlier I am in a personal situation which makes it seem silly for me to complain at the desk, but that hasn't stopped me from passing on my most sincere warning that if you stay here you had better be a risk-taker and have a penchant for filth, grime and stench. Wow. I have actually taken many pictures and sent them to friends and they are stunned as well. YUCK! Avoid at all costs - sleep in the car instead! By the way I spent almost two hundred bucks to stay here and have stayed in better as recently as two nights ago for $109.00

Room Tip: Stay someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We paid $165 for this horribly dirty room.This hotel is in a horrible area badly lit scetchy people everywhere.We were worried to leave the car parked outside this place. We decided to check the bed before we went to our concert and on the second bed huge blood stain hasnt even been washed sheets... Eww this was the laststraw we went to talk to the manager of this hotel hoping he would be apologetic and offer us some kind of refund. NO he screamed and pointed in our faces telling us he was god and we could leave with no refund, this was private property and we could leave and get the law if we wanted to. He would not give us kind of refund switched our room that was it... This new room was no better blood on the back of the bathroom door, bathroom light and front curtains .. Needless to say we did not sleep there scared for our lives...DO NOT STAY AT THIS "HOTEL"!!!!!!??

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank missmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

By far the WORST experience Ive ever had IN MY LIFE. I spent 140 dollars for one nights stay. The room was EXTREMELY hot, there was no way to turn the heat off completely... went to turn on the air conditioning, opened the door the control panels, and a freaking CRACK PIPE, wrapped in paper towel falls into my hands. HOW DID THE CLEANING STAFF MISS THIS? Could not get a wink of sleep because a group of people above our room were extremely loud and constantly slamming their door, falling into our window and door, getting in their car and leaving every 10 minutes, yelling at each other, etc. When I got the room they said I would get free breakfast in the morning. After I expressed my distress and disgust in the most polite way possible, they had no response, revoked their *deal* on the free breakfast, refused a refund, and all out didn't care. This place needs to be shut down. I can't believe their staff missed a CRACK PIPE that was basically out in the open. Disgraceful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Caila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. If you please, come and stay in our hotel within next 90 days, we will give you 50% discount on the existing rate which is publicized in our website. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Caswell Hill
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#26 of 39 in Saskatoon
243 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#20 of 39 in Saskatoon
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn
#28 of 39 in Saskatoon
166 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Saskatoon Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwoods Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn & Suites

Property: Northwoods Inn & Suites
Address: 610 Idylwyld Dr N | Highway 16, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northwoods Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Northwoods Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Saskatoon
Northwoods Hotel Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing