We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst.”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

-very hot and uncontrollable heat
-shower didn't work... Switched rooms, and then the toilet didn't work
-pull-out bed was filled with mouse droppings and glass. There were also stains on the sheets.
-seemed like everyone at the hotel was partying
-drunk people knocking at our door all night
-some lady tried to open our window while we were sleeping. Neighbour later said that the same lady broke into his room and stole his wallet. (the windows didn't have a lock or a safety to prevent this)
-TV didn't work. It had cable and you can change the channels, but it was extremely fuzzy.
-the ground was dirty.
-pretty sure this place has bedbugs. Woke up covered in bites.

I hate this hotel. Never again. Overpriced, uncomfortable and I was actually scared.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wats23a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    14
    8
    8
    109
See reviews for
31
15
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I travel for work an average of 8 months a year, staying in hotels. I have stayed in some not so nice places in the past. This is absolutely the worst hotel I've ever stayed in anywhere in Canada! Dirty!! The staff are not helpful in the slightest! Loud, drunk, homeless people banging on your door all hours, no security to be seen anywhere. Please do not stay here if you value your Heath and well being! Not only dirty, but not safe!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JBSandLMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saskatoon hotels

MELVILLE SK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The owner is a complete idoit ......Drunken parties....welfare palace.. terrible front desk .....this clown overcharges people and thinks he is giving you a deal he is a rude loud classless man.....people throwing beer bottles around smashing peoples windshields

Room Tip: go next door to northgate ..way better pace...mr rizzos great for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DALE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Don't believe any of the reviews that rate this higher than a 1. This place is a travesty, a dirty dive that will get your skin crawling. My "non-smoking" room that the clerks said had always been non-smoking reeked of cigarettes and their were cigarette burns on the couch. One of the door locks was missing, the room was dirty with insects buzzing and crumbs lying around. A key I was given wouldn't work and I was supplied another key without an apology. And there's a train track very nearby - I was woken up in the middle of the night by a very loud train. If I had felt safe sitting in my car in that parking lot, I would have slept there for the night, but the clientele who frequent this hole can be pretty scary looking, Avoid at all costs. I would rather spend the night on a dirty park bench. I've been scarred for life.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Ok - I completely agree with all of the above so just adding my 5 cents to the history. I currently live in Saskatoon and this place, and the surrounding neighborhood, is virtually a no-go zone for most people. Saskatoon can be a rough place at night and this place is certainly one of the hotspots for trouble; bad location, hookers frequent it and what not. I advise you to steer clear and find a hotel/motel/whatever far away and stay safe.

Saskatoon is a sweet town for a days visit but this place will not provide it. Keep away.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Asked to see the room before we stayed. Room had stains on the dark stains, unknown dried something on sheets and headboard. Room smelt musty. Decided to cancel the reservation (called in to book it 2hrs earlier)
They refused to cancel the reservation and charged my credit card when i initially called. They said they need to be notifed 24 hours before otherwise they cannot give my money back. Instead they tried to offer me a discount off my next stay... Why in the hell would I want to stay here?
Room was way over-priced for the quality ($140), I travel constantly and have stayed in $80 hotels that were nicer.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MorZerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sask
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I have never felt so ripped off in my life.The room absolutely reeked of urine.Puke(?) stains on the carpet.Mouse droppings on the sheets of the hide-a-bed.The mice had plenty to eat due to the great amounts of food under the bed.The carpet does not appear to have ever been vacuumed.Toilet is broken,leave the lid off the tank.No sleep for anyone due to crazy partying,finally resulting in police hauling person or persons away.Broken glass(window,not bottles)swept up against doorway upon leaving in the morning.Large sign above desk says no refunds on rooms.They don't ask how your stay was because they already know.All this for a premium price($220 plus taxes)Avoid if you care about your health or personal safety.Shameful!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SaskFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Northwoods Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Please take notice that our hotel has been serving the public for many, many years and we have had thousands of happy and satisfied guests. However, as we are not perfect, we try to improve our services all the times. Our apologies for any inconvenience we have caused. We will try to resolve the concern. If you have any question, please call John Pontes at 306-653-4012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Caswell Hill
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#26 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Cavalier Saskatoon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites Hotel
#21 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
#9 of 39 in Saskatoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwoods Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn & Suites

Property: Northwoods Inn & Suites
Address: 610 Idylwyld Dr N | Highway 16, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 39 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northwoods Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Northwoods Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Saskatoon
Northwoods Hotel Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing