We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it wasn't so depressing it would be laughable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northwoods Inn & Suites
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I don't know if there's any point to my adding a review- it's obvious a ton of people before me have had a similarly horrible experience staying at Northwoods. However, I feel like I need to lay out my situation. Let me say first that I lived in a third world country for 8 months and learned quickly not to be picky with my surroundings. I'm usually grateful for a place to stay, especially if it's cheap, but please believe me when I say, this is NOT worth it!

One of the only good things I can say about this place is that when I called the front desk to ask that security be sent out around 2am, they did so promptly and somewhat effectively. At that point I had had enough of listening to fighting, yelling, swearing, and banging around just outside my window and in the room next to me. The walls are thin, and you can hear every word of an immature, drug induced argument. At six in the morning I was woken up by someone banging on my door. I never found out why, because I'd be a fool to open the door (especially in this area it seems), but it went on for at least five minutes.

As far as the actual accommodations, I guess you get what you pay for, although I would argue that a one-night stay in this unkept facility is worth no more than 40 dollars. It's obvious that the previous guests have had ample opportunity to trash the property, and that the management is in way over their heads and are unable to keep up. There are stains and caked on food mess on the carpet, slashes in the furniture, holes in the walls, it looks like someone made instant soup in the coffee pot and some of it was left behind, and the bathroom looks like it managed to go months without being cleaned. I don't understand how this type of facility is permitted to run. I will be writing a review for Expedia, who I booked this hotel through. They are far too reputable to be associated with this place.

If you are a parent, do not bring your children here. If you are a poor student or a broke single woman like me, do not convince yourself that the cheap nightly rate is worth it. IT'S NOT! Don't do it! I would never recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: NONE, stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Made the mistake of getting a room for a week here, had ppl begging me for money and cigarettes in the parking lot, woke up to someone trying to break in my vehicle, woke up to a sketchy character banging on my door who was probably drunk/high asking to stay in my room and borrow money, had valuables stole from my room, drug dealers are staying there selling drugs from out of the rooms and kept trying to sell to me, prostitutes trying to sell me their wares. Left after the 3rd night will never ever go back. Anyone with a shred of class would never stay here!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jay409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

$200.00 a night for a terrible hotel room is way too much. Doors and windows did not lock properly. The bathroom lock was just hanging there. Tub was disgusting. There was nothing good about this room. We checked out the next day. Would not advise anyone to stay, only at your own risk. This is not the safest area.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else like the Sheraton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AdelineAnne38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stay at your own risk. The peep hole on our outer door was just a hole , I felt the wind in my eye when I looked through it. The magnetic door handle was loose and was ready to fall out. The carpet was sticky,crusty, and disgusting. We had paid for two days in advance before seeing the room so the second day we went and found another hotel to stay at. When we returned to collect our things we found our bag had been searched and our bottle of liquor had been stolen by the cleaning staff. We would have been better sleeping in our vehicle. This hotel has turned into a toilet. The only thing that was okay was the breakfast. The health department should close this place down.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jeannette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Where to start?
1) Place is run down totally, parking lot like bomb craters
2) Expedia is $50 higher than motel
3) Black mold in room - Pic attached.
4) Cops were staking out the place. They followed us to the next door Ramada (after cancelling) and were laughing with us on the right decision to leave, day 5 of stakeout.
5) Place is absolute s**thole... less than 0 rating.
Expedia should not have a hotel like this in their system.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Do not stay here! 79,- for a night is a "special price" they say. I have seen Hotels for less in a much better condition. You have to be paid for staying there in my opinion. Very noisy rooms and dirty. Staff is friendly but that´s the minimum to expect. And by the way: breakfast is ok but you have no buffet like in every hotels serving breakfast. Just a plate with 2 eggs, 1 toast and 3 stripes of bacon and a coffee. That´s all.

Room Tip: No tip. Just choose any room in another Motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were in this hotel for 20 minutes max before leaving as fast as we could.
- Filthy!!!!! carpet had mud caked on it.
- Mold and rust around faucets, and anything with water.
- Ceiling lights were extremely dim because of the dirt layered inside the shade
- Other room lights did not work very well and flickered
- Fridge looked like it had not been cleaned in 3 years
- Bugs were everywhere including the tub, sinks, ceilings and sheets. I pulled up the sheets and found bugs live and dead in the mattress.

This place was so dirty and disgusting it made me literally cry seeing my kids running around the room playing. We got out of there ASAP.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!! It is the NASTIEST place you will ever walk into. You will for ever compare it to other hotels as this one is the worst!

Room Tip: DON'T get a room here, is the best tip anyone could give you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saskatoon hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
Hotel Senator Saskatoon
#30 of 41 in Saskatoon
170 reviews
Park Town Hotel
#9 of 41 in Saskatoon
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel 6 Saskatoon
#22 of 41 in Saskatoon
169 reviews
Varsity View
Refresh Inn & Suites
Refresh Inn & Suites
#34 of 41 in Saskatoon
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwoods Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn & Suites

Address: 610 Idylwyld Dr N | Highway 16, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan S7L 0Z2, Canada
Region: Canada > Saskatchewan > Saskatoon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Saskatoon
Price Range: £34 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Northwoods Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northwoods Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwoods Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Saskatoon
Northwoods Hotel Saskatoon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing