We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great proximity to airport”
Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phillip Island, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great proximity to airport”
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean room and decor.Really appreciated the prompt free shuttle service to airport,reception staff excellent.Disappointed restaurant wasn't open and found breakfast to be rather meager( cereal,milk,water,coffee,toast and jam).Some juice and a little fruit would have been nice. I think a little overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your comments highlighting the lovely clean rooms and decor and the excellent staff at our hotel. This is something that we hear repeatedly from our guests at check out and is a source of pride for us. The breakfast is simple, but offered complimentary, at no cost to our guests.

We hope that we will have occasion to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    162
    73
    24
    11
See reviews for
91
120
43
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warkworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A no-nonsense, straightforward hotel with decent, clean rooms, an efficient front desk and ready access to the airport. Leaving early in the morning, we had access to a good help-yourself breakfast. The hotel is quite a way from the town and a taxi would be necessary. On the other hand, a bus passes the back of the hotel which will get you comfortably into town for a tenth of the price of a taxi.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

We are very handy for the airport and only a seven minute car ride to the center of town. As you correctly pointed out, there is both bus and taxi service (taxi is $10 flat rate). We pride ourselves on being a clean, comfortable and well run hotel, a class above what is offered by our competitors in Whitehorse, as we are the newest and most modern hotel in town.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived with a confirmed reservation for four people and two rooms, they had all of us booked into the same room, and even though we booked this 5 months in advance, we were told "sorry" the hotel is going to be full tonight so one of you will have to stay in the dump of a hotel next door!

In addition to this the hotel is next to the noisy airport and major highway, but a long way from town and anything of interest to a tourist, there are no elevators, the parking lot is dusty, and the continental breakfast amounts to coffee, fruit loops, and toast. On this morning there was no orange juice, bagels, muffins, sweet rolls, etc. The worst "included" breakfast ever.

So if you are not interested in being close to the airport, stay somewhere else!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Born_2_Ride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your review and we are very sorry about the experience you had as a result of your booking with Booking.com. It is always best to book directly with the hotel to ensure such errors do not occur, but unfortunately on this occasion a mistake was made in entering your reservation. We are completely booked in the summers and last year we turned away over 1000 guests in the high season and I am sorry we did not have the extra room to accommodate you. However, in fairness, you failed to mention that we paid for your other room at the hotel next door so that you stayed there for free, thus your comment about us being unresponsive is not correct. I also noted that you gave the hotel 5 stars for sleep quality and cleanliness and we thank you for such. The overwhelming majority of our guests state that the hotel is extremely quiet and comfortable and love the location away from the downtown noise. Again I am sorry about the mix up on your Booking.com reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds and very nice washrooms with an excellent shower. Service was fantastic during my stay (13 nights) and the location close to the airport is convenient, though if you desire to experience downtown Whitehorse another hotel might be more appropriate as it is a 45 minute walk fro SKKY. I was in town on business though and the SKKY provided exactly what I needed. The restaurant served good food and the bar next door had live music every few nights. Internet service was not the best but it was there and worked most of the time. If I end up in Whitehorse again I would definitely go for another stay at SKKY.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We are very happy you choose to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you if you should be in Whitehorse again. With respect to your comment about the internet, this is an issue common to all hotels in Whitehorse. We provide free internet to our guests, and while it is free to the guests, we are charged by Gigabyte of usage from our provider Thus, we have throttling to ensure no one guest can monopolize the bandwidth, resulting in huge overage charges to us. That said, we are in the process of installing a new fibre optic cable which will both increase speeds, bandwidth and capacity and we will be the first hotel in Whitehorse to do so. Again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Well, you can't stay any closer to an airport. I walked the 300m or so (basically arcoss the highway) from the airport to the front desk. The hotel lives up to the positive reviews. It's clean, modern and well-appointed. The restaurant is decent. There are a few downsides, though: the wifi was not terribly fast (but I suspect it must be the same everywhere in Whitehorse), the free breakfast buffet was very limited and there was no restaurant service so you were limited to the buffet, and the location is "walkable" to downtown but you should prepare yourself for a 225 step staircase down (and back up!). I was there in wonderful spring weather and walked back and forth several times. A good workout, but estimate 20-30 minutes depending on your fitness and pace. Cabs are available, but you may want to get the front desk to call ahead. Rental cars is probably a great idea.

Room Tip: Second floor may feel a bit more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug0nTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased you choose to stay with us. We are especially happy to hear that "the hotel lives up to its positive reviews". We pride ourselves on being the newest and most modern hotel in Whitehorse and especially on our trip advisor ranking as the best hotel in Whitehorse. You are correct about the internet service generally in Whitehorse. That said, our internet service provider and us have reached an agreement whereby we will be installing a fibre optic link to the hotel, to give us the best internet service of any hotel in Whitehorse, which will increase both the speed and quality of the internet for our guests. Again, thank you for staying with us and for providing your comments. We hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Great Place to stay while in Whitehorse. By far the nicest hotel in town. (Its slightly out of town) First class beds and bathrooms, this building is a great reno. The HVAC window unit is a little noisy, and the fan will cycle every half hour or so. A simple fix is to unplug the unit at night.
No pool, no gym. Breakfast is quite the let down. Some basic stuff, but not too good.

Have stayed 3 times. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor if you don't like cold feet in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZappBrannigansVelour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your review recognizing that we are "by far the nicest hotel in town". We really appreciate you taking the time to write such and for providing your comments. We will look into the issue you mentioned about the HVAC, but unplugging it is a good idea, especially if you do not wish to use the air conditioning. We are the only fully air conditioned hotel in Whitehorse. As for the breakfast, it is provided free and is only meant to be a simple continental offering with coffee, tea, toast, and cereal. As far as I know, we are the only hotel in Whitehorse to provide a free breakfast and if you wish a full hot breakfast, there is a restaurant in the hotel next door where you can have such. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
905 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Road trips give us a new bed every night. This is another we are experiencing. The room is nice with two queens. When on the road it is more comfy for us to have a King as we are used to at home. Or better yet each their own queen. Better sleep in strange places. The beds are very comf, nice linens, coffee maker, fridge, wonderful shower, large the size of a tub with a oversized shower head. Loving it! The hallways are dark and kind of gloomy, staff helpful.
Wifi free!!! Breakfast complimentary!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for providing your comments which we very much appreciate. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be to your liking. With respect to your comments about the hallways being dark, we will be installing additional lighting to brighten them further. Finally we thank you for appreciating the fact that we provide free Wifi and Complimentary Breakfast. We hope to welcome you again if you are travelling here in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
32 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#9 of 14 in Whitehorse
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing