We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay In Whitehorse”
Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Stay In Whitehorse”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We chose the Skky Hotel for our 3 night stay in Whitehorse and were very pleased. The location of the hotel, on the Alaska Highway near the airport, is convenient if you're flying and less than a 10 minute drive to the city center if you are driving.
The room was comfortable with a thermostat controlled a/c system that worked well. We had more than enough room and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom had an updated glass walled shower that was great after a day of exploring and hiking. As noted in other reviews, there isn't a tub, but that wasn't an issue for us. There were no issues with water pressure or temperature. We were on the second floor so experienced no noise from a floor above. The room was also very quiet at night and we heard nothing from adjacent rooms. Our room was facing the back so we had no highway noise and we didn't hear any noise from the airport. I would suggest choosing a second floor room with the knowledge that there is no elevator so you have to cart your bags up the stairs.
The Volare restaurant, which is attached to the hotel, is ranked number 1 in Whitehorse but it was closed during our stay so we can't comment. We found numerous great places to eat after a short ride into Whitehorse.
The included wifi was excellent. We had no problems at all. As noted in other reviews, the included breakfast is quite limited. It was served in some kind of board room while we were there but would be in the restaurant if it was open. We just visited Tim Horton's on our way out each morning.
There is free parking out front which is great. The parking lots is only partially paved so you may have to drive through some rough, potholed sections when coming in.
All in all, this was a great place to stay and I'd come here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D&MUpnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We are extremely happy when guests have an excellent experience as you did. Your review is both informative and accurate and thus will be helpful to other guests. A new and exciting restaurant is set to open some time in August, in the hotel and we believe it will be a great draw for our guests.

We hope we can welcome you again in the near future and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    158
    68
    24
    11
See reviews for
84
117
42
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Lovely rooms with great bath fixtures. Very comfortable beds. Friendly and helpful staff - they stored our luggage as we came and went for different activities. Breakfast was basic with wretched coffee. No laundromat but rental car service close by.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your five star review, which succinctly summarizes the hotel.

We are sorry about the coffee at Breakfast and will see what we can do to ensure it is of better quality in future. There is also complimentary coffee and tea in room wit a coffee maker, if you wish to make a fresh pot any time.

Thank you choosing to stay with us and we hope we can welcome you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Looking for accomodation in Whitehorse found this hotel just outside town was far more convenient for car parking then in town great stay quiet and stil easy to get into town and enjoy all the facilities in town and very comfertablle

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You are quite correct, most of our guests love our location on the Alaska Highway, with ample free parking, and located about 7 minutes from the city centre. The downtown hotels suffer from noise complaints, especially as all the Bars and Restaurants are located in that area. There is also a shortage of parking. We are both RV and Motorcycle friendly and have security cameras in our parking areas to ensure your vehicle is safe.

We feel that our location, as you correctly pointed, is a huge asset, which gives our guests the best of both worlds, especially if they are travelling by car or wish above all to have a quiet and comfortable night's sleep, in a modern and clean boutique hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The pros of the hotel is it is a clean trendy room with a very comfy bed. The inside is clean. Nice TV. Close to the airport - right across the street. Staff was helpful.

Cons - For the price and the claims on line, I was expecting more. The shower was nice, but there is no tub for those who like baths. The is no elevator. The WiFi was extremely slow. The breakfast, though set out nice, was lacking - cereal, toast and coffee. No pastries, fruit, yogurt and so on.

For the price and hype, I would expect at least a better breakfast and high speed internet. If you are looking for a clean room (hardwood floors), a very nice bed and TV as the priority, this may be a decent place.

I personally would choose a different hotel.

Room Tip: 1st floor if you have a lot of baggage - no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

I appreciate your comments with respect to the fact that we offer a clean, comfortable and "trendy" hotel with comfortable beds, which is in fact what the majority of our guests are seeking and why most of our guests repeatedly stay with us.

With respect the "cons", you mentioned, I would mention that we do offer a free self serve continental breakfast, with coffee, tea, toast and cereal. It is simple and given to guests as a gesture of our hospitality at our cost. If certain things were depleted, you could have contacted the front desk who would replenish. Our internet is also free and is the best service currently on offer in the Yukon by our internet provider. We have had very few complaints with respect to such.

It seems that your main issue was the price and you should be ware that in the high season (when you stayed) there is a shortage of rooms in Whitehorse and that all hotel rates are adjusted accordingly. Our rates are in line or cheaper than the other top hotels in town.

Again thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We are staying here now and I could not be more disappointed. No bath tub, no laundry facilities, no restaurant. The picture in their advertisement clearly shows a room with a bed, and on top of the bed a tray with a plate of food and a glass of wine. This indicates that the facility would offer in room food service but it does not.

To add insult to injury, there is a problem with the heating/ cooling system in the hotel so that we were completely over heated last night even though we had the air conditioning set for 65 degrees farenheight. In addition, the shower does not work properly so that it was either scalding hot or freezing cold... nothing inbetween. And the list goes on.

This place is far away from everything so now I have to pay for a taxi cab in order to schlepp my laundry downtown and back. That equals 20$ or 30$ round trip.

I can not begin to express my disappointment, especially since they represent themselves as being a luxury hotel when nothing could be further from the truth. While this place might look attractive, it is uncomfortable and the entire place is overheated.

I would not stay here again and would advise other unsuspecting souls to find another place to stay as the Skky Hotel engages in fraudulent misrepresentation of what they have to offer. This is NOT A LUXURY HOTEL! It is a poorly run motel with inexperienced front desk staff and no restaurant.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is very noisy. Ask for a room facing the back - or better yet, find a nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samcat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not contact me directly or raise your concerns with the front desk.

We are the only hotel in Whitehorse in which all rooms are fully air conditioned and you should have asked the front desk for assistance as you may have not understood how to operate the controls. There is a control for heating and one for air conditioning and you need to switch to air conditioning. As you are staying at the hotel, you will know that we have had record high temperatures this July and thus the hallways may be a little warm.

With respect to the restaurant, unfortunately, the restaurant was leased for four years to an independent operator, whose lease concluded on June 1 and we are bringing in an exciting new food and beverage operator in the immediate future. There are a number of excellent restaurant options in town and we have a special rate of $10 for the 7 minute taxi ride into the town center.

We do not have on site laundry facilities, though we have accommodated guests' requests for laundry service when possible on an ad hoc basis. We are simple to small tand do not have space for a laundry facility. As well, most of our guests do not require such.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations and that you are so unhappy. I see that you have a Whitehorse address, so I assume you are a local, and we strive to make everyone happy. We have been turning away between 10 and 20 walk ins every night during your stay. As we are full and since you are currently in the hotel, you may feel that another hotel would be more suitable for your needs. If so, please contact me directly (my card is on the front desk) and we will be happy cancel the remainder of your stay and help you find alternative accommodation, as I do not wish you to be unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely clean room and decor.Really appreciated the prompt free shuttle service to airport,reception staff excellent.Disappointed restaurant wasn't open and found breakfast to be rather meager( cereal,milk,water,coffee,toast and jam).Some juice and a little fruit would have been nice. I think a little overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your comments highlighting the lovely clean rooms and decor and the excellent staff at our hotel. This is something that we hear repeatedly from our guests at check out and is a source of pride for us. The breakfast is simple, but offered complimentary, at no cost to our guests.

We hope that we will have occasion to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warkworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

A no-nonsense, straightforward hotel with decent, clean rooms, an efficient front desk and ready access to the airport. Leaving early in the morning, we had access to a good help-yourself breakfast. The hotel is quite a way from the town and a taxi would be necessary. On the other hand, a bus passes the back of the hotel which will get you comfortably into town for a tenth of the price of a taxi.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, General Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

We are very handy for the airport and only a seven minute car ride to the center of town. As you correctly pointed out, there is both bus and taxi service (taxi is $10 flat rate). We pride ourselves on being a clean, comfortable and well run hotel, a class above what is offered by our competitors in Whitehorse, as we are the newest and most modern hotel in town.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
580 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#9 of 14 in Whitehorse
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing