We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing To Say The Least”
Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointing To Say The Least”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this property last August. The pictures used in the advertising portrayed this as a bright, modern alternative to some of the other less sophisticated properties in the area. Also advertised at the time we made the reservation was an on-site restaurant. Since it was also close to the airport we thought we had a winner. Instead we got basically a motel room, with poorly constructed "newer" refurbishments that were poorly fitted and already starting to fall apart. The restaurant had been closed for some time leaving us to wander across the parking lot and down the road to the only restaurant/bar alternative in the area for a meal. Breakfast the next day was some bread you could toast and some packets of peanut butter or dry cereal. Fortunately the independent shuttle to the airport rescued us the next morning. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoomZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for your review from your stay with us about 7 months ago. I am sorry you were disappointed as over 80 per cent of our guests rate us very good or excellent.

We are indeed the newest and most modern hotel in Whitehorse, completely and newly renovated about 5 years. At the time you stayed in August, 2013, there was an issue with the restaurant as we were in between operators. That has now been resolved and we have a lovely Tapas Restaurant and Lounge now.

The Breakfast provided to you, which was not to your liking, was complimentary. It consisted of coffee, tea, toast, jams, peanut butter, cereal, etc, so your review is rather incomplete with respect to such.

In any case, we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and wish you safe and happy future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    161
    72
    24
    11
See reviews for
90
120
43
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I'm a Yukoner and stayed here for the first time back in Feb. Got a post-stay email from Skky asking for my review and saying if I replied to that email, I would be replying directly to mgmt. I did, but never got any response, so decided to post my review here instead.

Hadn't stayed here before and wanted to try it, sometimes (as on this occasion) I'm just overnighting here and don't really need to be downtown. Otherwise, with no vehicle, you'd spend a fortune on cabs if you stayed here.

Anyway, my flight coming back from Edmonton had been delayed so I was already late getting in and tired, looking forward to a relaxing night in what I had been told was some luxury hotel. Check in was fine, had lots of heavy luggage so looked around for some kind of luggage rack, was told there wasn't any. Started walking down the hall looking for the elevator. A staff lady pointed me in the direction of the stairs (there is no elevator), so I hauled all my luggage up the stairs. Three different staff members saw me or passed me, not one offered to help. Room was nice enough, if you like that sort of Vancouver boutique style, but other than the shower I didn't think it was all that fancy. The Best Western downtown has just as nice rooms with similar beds and bigger size bathrooms, plus you're right downtown for convenience and don't have to look out the window at an industrial area.

The worst part: it was absolutely freezing in the room, the air conditioning was on (in the Yukon in February??), but I turned up the thermostat heat (or so I thought), unpacked most of my stuff as I wanted to reorganize my bags, and waited for it to warm up. A couple hours later it was still freezing, ice cold air blasting out of the wall unit, had tried numerous things with the thermostat but nothing working. Called front desk, girl told me to do everything I had already tried. I agreed to try again, an hour later phoned back and said it still wasn't working. Girl came to the room to look at it, but obviously didn't have any mechanical knowledge. Offered to have me move rooms, but by this time it was almost 11pm, I had to be at the airport at 6:30am and had my stuff all over the place, just didn't feel like moving. Girl brought me a tiny portable heater to "counteract" the A/C, it was quite useless and so noisy I didn't get any sleep at all.

Restaurant was REALLY expensive for those of us on a budget, ended up ordering pizza to eat in my room. I thought maybe on checkout I would get an offer of a discount next stay, or some other attempt to apologize for my crappy experience, but nothing. Yes, I know, I could have switched rooms, but overall I just wasn't impressed. For the same or even cheaper price, I can stay downtown in a comparable if not larger room, have elevators, amenities within walking distance, affordable restaurants in the hotel, and better customer service. Don't understand why people like this place so much???

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

First off all, we never received an email as indicated by you, so perhaps it got lost in cyberspace. Had such been received, I would have responded.

With respect to your issues, I will address as follows:

1. We do have a luggage rack for guest use and I am surprised it was not available to you. You could have asked the front desk.

2. Generally the vast majority of our guests comment about how helpful and friendly our staff is and I am sorry if that was not your experience.

3. Most of our guests enjoy being close to the airport, a convenient 7 minute taxi ride to downtown, but away from the downtown bars and night club noise.

4. We rarely, if ever, have guests complain about cold rooms and I am sorry that there seemed to be an issue. As you pointed out, we would have happily moved you to another room. All our mechanical systems are new, having been in operation only 5 years. We have have radiant floor heating on the ground floor, so that's where the heat comes from, not the in wall units which are only there for air conditioning in the summer. On the second floor, the in wall units both heat and air condition the rooms.

5. The restaurant is separately operated and their prices are comparable to others in Whitehorse.

6. Finally, our guests like us so much because we are a boutique style hotel, newly renovated and modern, which distinguishes us from the other hotels in Whitehorse. They also comment about our excellent customer service and we are very proud of our excellent staff. As well, our rates are better or comparable to the hotels you mentioned.


If you contact me directly at calandraco@rogers.com, I would be happy to discuss a good will gesture if you ever wish to stay with us again. As I note that you are a resident of Whitehorse, I would be happy to meet with you in person as well. Either way, I wish you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Been to Whitehorse many times. First time at the SKKY. We are world travelers and would be delighted to find this hotel anywhere. Absolute luxury. First class staff also. What a great surprise to find it in Whitehorse after 10 hours of driving.

Room Tip: Can't imagine the SKKY having anything but first class rooms. Also property is non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel was quite nice and was a 5 minute walk from the airport. Hotel was nicely furnished. I would recommend staying here. I think it's really silly how I am required to type 200 characters for this review.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toad River, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed various times, May 2013 most recent. Have stayed at a few places in Whitehorse, but this is my favourite hands-down, and is always my go-to "Home away from home". Building looks dated, but just wait until you get inside. Everything has been renovated and it looks very luxurious, from the front desk to your room. All staff have been extremely friendly to me on all visits. Hard-wood floors, tall ceilings and COMFORTABLE beds make this place stellar to the rest. Very clean throughout, no noise whenever I stay, and the whole place feels modern, you don't feel the floors creaking when you walk through the hallways, and it doesn't have a dark "feel" like so many other places in Whitehorse. Definitely do stay if you come through Whitehorse.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, AK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Not many options in Whitehorse for the weary traveler. Found this place in the Milepost and after 12 hours of driving, it was a delight. We looked at a few hotels downtown but there were lots of drunks and it was loud. This place was quiet and seemed safe enough for parking our car full of stuff. Beds were comfy, the rooms were clean and modern. It's not too far from downtown for those who care to go explore. Truly a gem for the Alcan traveler!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We got the Presidential suite , which had a living room with fireplace, master bed room with fireplace that also heated the huge bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and a huge snow filled balcony , at little over $100 a night , only thing there is no elevators so it is a little struggle dragging bags up and down

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurebums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
597 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing