We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious accomodations in the Yukon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“luxurious accomodations in the Yukon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Whitehorse is a breath of sunshine as you drive up the Alaskan Highway. Great restaurants and art galleries await your visit. There is an international airport with a polar flight path to Germany. Inexpensive way to fly and the shortest direct flight possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    155
    67
    24
    10
See reviews for
81
114
41
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had an executive suite in the Skky Hotel for four nights at the end of June, and were satisfied with the room and the service. It is only a few minutes' drive to the centre of town, quiet (our room faced the back), and easy to access from the airport. The updated room was very nice, and the best part was the bed - comfortable, with excellent bedding. Everything in Yukon is more expensive, but the Skky provided great value. A couple of niggles: better lighting at the closet would have been helpful, and the clear glass sink and counter is a bit jarring - but there is ample room for everything.

There is a free shuttle to the hotel from the airport. The staff helped us access our car rental when we arrived (the rental company picked us up at the hotel and took us to their office). We also ate at the hotel's restaurant twice so we could enjoy wine with our meals, and it was excellent food and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

I note that you are a top contributor to Trip Advisor and thus receiving a five star rating from you is most pleasing. We hope we can welcome you again should your travels take you to Whitehorse.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were rerouted on our vacation to Skagway due to road closure and mudslides. We didn't know the area and needed a place to sleep well. We stopped into this hotel and stayed for 2 nights while figuring our route to Denali. It was clean, coffee in room, small fridge, heat and ac worked well, modern shower and room. Optional breakfast for 10.00 was reasonably healthy. The price was high but average for the area. A gym workout is included at a local gym which we used and needed. We got the rest we needed for our trip. Recommend if need to stay in Whitehorse on route to your destination.

Room Tip: First floor rooms means you don't carry luggage up stairs if stairs can be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tim J:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

You are the first guest to comment on our free gymn option available to all our guests at Whitehorse's premier fitness facility. This is exclusive to Skky Hotel guests only and we are very happy to be able to offer such.

We thank you for staying with us and hope you will choose to stay with us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Comfortable beds and dark blinds helped get a good night's sleep even under the midnight sun. Mini fridge and nice granite shower were all we needed for our short stay. Located very conveniently across the road from the airport.

Overall, price of the room is much more than you would pay in other cities but it is not overpriced by whitehorse standards (although it is the most expensive hotel available in whitehorse). I would pay the bit extra to stay here over the other hotel options in whitehorse!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and recommend us as the place to stay in Whitehorse.

We are a new and modern small boutique hotel, unique to Whitehorse, and take great pleasure in ensuring our guests have the most comfortable and pleasant stay possible, I hope we can welcome you again in future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson City, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was amazed because the price of the room would indicate that you would have all the amenities. Not so. The king size bed saved the day as my husband has a very sore back and the bed was so comfortable we stayed anyway. At $180 a night you expect to have a full bathroom with a tub not just a shower and the restaraunt was only open for dinner 5 nights a week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that the beds were to your liking and, in fact, many of our guests comment on what a wonderful sleep they get in our beds. We are sorry you were disappointed by the lack of a bath tub in your room. We chose to have rain showers over bath tubs, which you will find in most boutique style hotels. We do, however, have have three executive suites with both jacuzzi bath tubs and rain showers, and you could have booked such if you desired.

As for the price, high season rates in Yukon are generally much higher than low season and you will find our rates at par or below the other top hotels in Whitehorse. We wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel was absolutely perfect in all aspects. From the time I spoke with the front desk upon check in to talking with them at check out, my experience was great with this hotel. The room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was very nice; it was clean and the shower was one of the best in my life. The staff was very courteous, helpful, and professional. We had zero problems with this hotel and will stay here anytime we need a room in Whitehorse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon218400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated when guests take the time to write a review and especially when they have enjoyed their stay with us. We thank you very much and hope we can welcome you again soon. God bless and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

You really could walk to this hotel from the airport and we did have a good night's sleep despite highway and airport adjacent. Rooms have been upgraded and so while there are a few signs of the former older hotel, the feel is fairly European. Spare but elegant.
On my "could be better if" list I'll put three things:
1) folding luggage racks - we needed somewhere to open suitcases and we both hate using beds or other furniture as there is too much chance of scratching something or leaving debris on fabric surfaces
2) the guy who checked us in was really not pleasant at first. When we arrived late (Yukon air changed their schedule to accommodate Holland America and then was decidedly late departing Vancouver) he told us he had no rooms. I said I had a reservation. He said his rooms were all gone. I went back to my car, got my reservation code and then he decided to look for us. Guess what - there was a room reserved for us. He mumbled something about missing it (duh) when he was setting up for the night but at about 1 AM "there is no room at the inn" is not something you want to hear. Next gentleman who came in did not have a reservation and our night clerk said, "I don't have a room but if you wait a minute I'll help you find somewhere to stay." Must say I thought that was a far better way to handle it than "No rooms available."
3) an ice machine. (clerk did get me ice next morning but about 3 cups of very wet ice and it didn't stay frozen very long.)

Overall, I'd stay here again if being right in downtown wasn't essential. No breakfast there but the dining room looked nice.

Room Tip: Quiet on the side facing away from the highway. We don't know how important this was as we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speederchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Yes it is less than a five minute walk from the airport terminal to our hotel and a five to seven minute taxi ride from the hotel to downtown Whitehorse. This is something our guests find very convenient, especially those coming in the spring/summer when the weather is lovely. There is also a walking path to downtown, which takes about 30 minutes, through a nature trail which guests find lovely.

We do strive to have a European elegance to our hotel and appreciate you noted such. When we became the owners, we completely renovated an old existing hotel and the new hotel opened five years ago. It is the newest and most modern hotel in the Yukon.

We do have luggage racks and I am sorry you did not find such in your room, as all rooms have folding luggage racks.

I am sorry about the night auditor misplacing your reservation until you gave him the confirmation number and will speak to him about having a more pleasant disposition. He is generally an excellent member of our great staff and may have been having a rough night, though that is not an acceptable excuse as we wish all our guests to feel very welcome.

As of the end of May, we do offer an all inclusive European style continental breakfast at the price of $9.99, from 7am to 9:30 am, and we have received very positive reviews for such. We hope you will try it and provide your comments, when you are next in Whitehorse. As for ice, it is available in the restaurant upon request.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your excellent observations and I hope that we can welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing