We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average but convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
san diego, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“average but convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

right across from the airport...maybe 500 yards walk from the arrival area....across the highway. This is a place to stay...nothing fancy....not new and somewhat worn...best term would be functional...there was a van which serviced many hotels which also was willing to drop you at the nearby Skky. Good only if you are there for an overnight and do not want to go into town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tony C:

Thank you for posting your review.

We are the newest hotel in Whitehorse and opened about 5 years ago. We are also without doubt the most modern. We are conveniently located off the Alaska Highway, with ample free parking, a mere seven minute car or taxi ride to "downtown" Whitehorse, and just across from the airport.

Most of our guests love the quiet and convenient location, especially if they are using the airport which is walking distance, but does not impact us with any airplane noise due to the location of the terminal. Most hotels downtown have to deal with the local bars and the resulting noise disturbances. Our guests specifically choose to stay with us for the above reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    155
    67
    24
    10
See reviews for
81
113
41
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlecrag, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Room interiors a nice surprise.

Stayed here June 2 after 30 hours of planes from Sydney.

For the OUTSIDE it looks pretty bog basic but a lovely room – 20 times better than the Sheraton Airport Conference Center in Toronto where we stayed the next night - http://tinyurl.com/lnvc6jq

Booked a Jacuzzi Executive Room for a bit more than basic and very nicely done – well worth the few extra bucks. Even basic rooms here are pricey, so go the extra dollar – well worth it.

The attached bar/restaurant served the purpose for a nominal cost – hotel is a long way from any other choices!

Superior room interior.

Only failing was NO bar soap or small bottles of shampoo choice option – just those stupid liquid dispensers that in this case were just totally UNUSABLE.

It takes 100 pumps to get just a few mm of liquid out, as the containers are at same height of fixed holder, hence it just does not work. I defy the Manager to go to Room 221 and tell me I am wrong!

Good speed free WiFi, and we literally walked to airport on a partly rough track for our 5.55am flight, as annoyingly the only shuttle bus left at 4am – it is 2 minutes away by bus.

With a daily Air Canada flight at 5.55am to Vancouver what genius set THAT shuttle schedule?

Anyway, nicer than expected in a Frontier Town type of place.

Five Stars - except for lack of bar soap.

Room Tip: Pay extra bucks for Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozstamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We will investigate the issue of the bar soaps, which we replaced with liquid dispensers in an effort to be environmentally friendly. I will, at a minimum, have bar soap available upon request for all guests.

We really appreciate your otherwise excellent review of our hotel and are very happy that you chose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Whitehorse is a breath of sunshine as you drive up the Alaskan Highway. Great restaurants and art galleries await your visit. There is an international airport with a polar flight path to Germany. Inexpensive way to fly and the shortest direct flight possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had an executive suite in the Skky Hotel for four nights at the end of June, and were satisfied with the room and the service. It is only a few minutes' drive to the centre of town, quiet (our room faced the back), and easy to access from the airport. The updated room was very nice, and the best part was the bed - comfortable, with excellent bedding. Everything in Yukon is more expensive, but the Skky provided great value. A couple of niggles: better lighting at the closet would have been helpful, and the clear glass sink and counter is a bit jarring - but there is ample room for everything.

There is a free shuttle to the hotel from the airport. The staff helped us access our car rental when we arrived (the rental company picked us up at the hotel and took us to their office). We also ate at the hotel's restaurant twice so we could enjoy wine with our meals, and it was excellent food and friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

I note that you are a top contributor to Trip Advisor and thus receiving a five star rating from you is most pleasing. We hope we can welcome you again should your travels take you to Whitehorse.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were rerouted on our vacation to Skagway due to road closure and mudslides. We didn't know the area and needed a place to sleep well. We stopped into this hotel and stayed for 2 nights while figuring our route to Denali. It was clean, coffee in room, small fridge, heat and ac worked well, modern shower and room. Optional breakfast for 10.00 was reasonably healthy. The price was high but average for the area. A gym workout is included at a local gym which we used and needed. We got the rest we needed for our trip. Recommend if need to stay in Whitehorse on route to your destination.

Room Tip: First floor rooms means you don't carry luggage up stairs if stairs can be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tim J:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

You are the first guest to comment on our free gymn option available to all our guests at Whitehorse's premier fitness facility. This is exclusive to Skky Hotel guests only and we are very happy to be able to offer such.

We thank you for staying with us and hope you will choose to stay with us again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Comfortable beds and dark blinds helped get a good night's sleep even under the midnight sun. Mini fridge and nice granite shower were all we needed for our short stay. Located very conveniently across the road from the airport.

Overall, price of the room is much more than you would pay in other cities but it is not overpriced by whitehorse standards (although it is the most expensive hotel available in whitehorse). I would pay the bit extra to stay here over the other hotel options in whitehorse!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyC234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and recommend us as the place to stay in Whitehorse.

We are a new and modern small boutique hotel, unique to Whitehorse, and take great pleasure in ensuring our guests have the most comfortable and pleasant stay possible, I hope we can welcome you again in future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson City, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I was amazed because the price of the room would indicate that you would have all the amenities. Not so. The king size bed saved the day as my husband has a very sore back and the bed was so comfortable we stayed anyway. At $180 a night you expect to have a full bathroom with a tub not just a shower and the restaraunt was only open for dinner 5 nights a week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that the beds were to your liking and, in fact, many of our guests comment on what a wonderful sleep they get in our beds. We are sorry you were disappointed by the lack of a bath tub in your room. We chose to have rain showers over bath tubs, which you will find in most boutique style hotels. We do, however, have have three executive suites with both jacuzzi bath tubs and rain showers, and you could have booked such if you desired.

As for the price, high season rates in Yukon are generally much higher than low season and you will find our rates at par or below the other top hotels in Whitehorse. We wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing