We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel”
Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Airport Hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The SKKY Hotel is a great jumping off point for a Yukon adventure. The hotel is clean and the rooms are very nice. Don't be mislead by the exterior - this is a great little hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    157
    67
    24
    11
See reviews for
83
116
42
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Must admit to some misgivings when I first saw the place, as it was clearly once an old style road side motel. However, anything old about the place is long gone, and has been replaced via extensive renovation. My room had a king bed, extremely comfortable I might add. The bathroom has been remodelled to include a large shower with granite walls and other modern fixtures. Flooring is laminate with in-suite heat control. Despite being located beside the Alaska Highway, my room was very quiet. Property was very clean.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. My only critique is the distance of the hotel from downtown Whitehorse. You need a car to get there. On the positive side, it is very close to the airport. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were not planning on anything fancy for any of our stays in the Yukon or in Alaska, for that matter. However, for our first night in the Yukon after a lengthy flight from the midwest we chose this hotel for its convenience to the airport. We are very glad we did. Not only is it an easy walk from the airport (just walk straight across the parking lot) it is also very clean and comfortable. We arrived at 2AM (much later than planned due to airline delays) but the front desk was waiting for us. The room was basic but clean and extremely comfortable. We appreciated the free Wifi and were thrilled with the fantastic, powerful shower. It was like a luxurious rain and we totally loved it. We would definitely stay here again on a return trip and we do recommend this hotel to anyone needing a convenient stay near the airport. For that matter, it is a good place to stay if you have transportation too. It's very close to downtown and would be an easy drive to many places from this location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is one of the most plush hotels in Whitehorse with more amenities than most offer (in the north). It's extremely close to the airport as well, which is great for early-morning flights. Overall it's a great choice with free wifi, clean rooms, modern decor, large beds and generous shower rooms.

However there's no soap, a thimble full of shower gel (for 2 people) and a toilet dispenser that ekes out just one thin sheet at a time. Skimping on these basics all but ruined our experience. Add the fact that the air-conditioning/ventilation does not work - and our comfort was severely impacted.

This could be the best hotel in Whitehorse, if they just learned how to take care of the basics first. Even truck stops give you plenty of soap and toilet paper (without having to fight for it). Whoever's in charge needs to realize that their miserly ways are sabotaging their guests experience. Get someone in to fix the ventilation system too and you'll have a winner.

Finally, it's worth mentioning that the restaurant is over-priced for what it delivers (even with the 10% discount), so I would eat elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have heavy luggage - there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank CKimoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear CKimoff:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we truly appreciate your comments.

I am happy that you recognized us as "one of the most plush hotels in Whitehorse" and mentioned all the amenities we offer.

With respect to skimping on basic amenities (i.e. soap, shower gel, etc), this is the first complaint we have had of such and I shall investigate. That is definitely not our policy and we are always happy to provide guests with additional amenities, upon request.There is no bar soap as, in an effort to be environmentally friendly, we replaced bar soaps with liquid soap dispensers. But I will certainly raise this issue with the cleaning staff to ensure complete guest satisfaction.

I also investigated the issue of the air-conditioning. We are the only fully air-conditioned hotel in Whitehorse and it may be that there was an issue during your stay. I am advised that one unit that was not working properly was repaired and apologize for any inconvenience.

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments, as we wish to continuously improve our guests' experience, and value hearing our guests' views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Fly up to Alaska from Texas in a small plane every year. Chose this hotel this spring due to the fact that it's an easy walk across the street from the airport and it's a nice place. The restaurant closed early, as did the one next door at the Airport Chalet, so we had to catch a cab to town for dinner. Otherwise, nice hotel, clean rooms, and a pleasant overnight experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradJBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

right across from the airport...maybe 500 yards walk from the arrival area....across the highway. This is a place to stay...nothing fancy....not new and somewhat worn...best term would be functional...there was a van which serviced many hotels which also was willing to drop you at the nearby Skky. Good only if you are there for an overnight and do not want to go into town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Tony C:

Thank you for posting your review.

We are the newest hotel in Whitehorse and opened about 5 years ago. We are also without doubt the most modern. We are conveniently located off the Alaska Highway, with ample free parking, a mere seven minute car or taxi ride to "downtown" Whitehorse, and just across from the airport.

Most of our guests love the quiet and convenient location, especially if they are using the airport which is walking distance, but does not impact us with any airplane noise due to the location of the terminal. Most hotels downtown have to deal with the local bars and the resulting noise disturbances. Our guests specifically choose to stay with us for the above reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlecrag, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Room interiors a nice surprise.

Stayed here June 2 after 30 hours of planes from Sydney.

For the OUTSIDE it looks pretty bog basic but a lovely room – 20 times better than the Sheraton Airport Conference Center in Toronto where we stayed the next night - http://tinyurl.com/lnvc6jq

Booked a Jacuzzi Executive Room for a bit more than basic and very nicely done – well worth the few extra bucks. Even basic rooms here are pricey, so go the extra dollar – well worth it.

The attached bar/restaurant served the purpose for a nominal cost – hotel is a long way from any other choices!

Superior room interior.

Only failing was NO bar soap or small bottles of shampoo choice option – just those stupid liquid dispensers that in this case were just totally UNUSABLE.

It takes 100 pumps to get just a few mm of liquid out, as the containers are at same height of fixed holder, hence it just does not work. I defy the Manager to go to Room 221 and tell me I am wrong!

Good speed free WiFi, and we literally walked to airport on a partly rough track for our 5.55am flight, as annoyingly the only shuttle bus left at 4am – it is 2 minutes away by bus.

With a daily Air Canada flight at 5.55am to Vancouver what genius set THAT shuttle schedule?

Anyway, nicer than expected in a Frontier Town type of place.

Five Stars - except for lack of bar soap.

Room Tip: Pay extra bucks for Executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozstamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francesco C, Guest Relations Manager at SKKY Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We will investigate the issue of the bar soaps, which we replaced with liquid dispensers in an effort to be environmentally friendly. I will, at a minimum, have bar soap available upon request for all guests.

We really appreciate your otherwise excellent review of our hotel and are very happy that you chose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing