We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beds in Whitehorse”
Review of SKKY Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SKKY Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Beds in Whitehorse”
Reviewed 7 March 2010

My husband and I visited Whitehorse December 20-December 25 to get married under the Northern Lights. We stayed in 3 places (Skyy, Inn on the Lake, Best Western) and we can say the Skyy had the absolute best beds and nicest accommodations for the money.

Unfortunately, we got there during a the first bad cold snap of the winter (-38 Celcius) and over Christmas when pretty much everything was closed so we did not get to eat at Volare and can't really comment on the staff because it was a skeleton crew at that point. I can tell you the truck-stop restaurant place next door makes a darned good taco salad though.

The Skyy is very convenient to the airport (you can walk), but it's a ways from town which is too bad because if I came back to Whitehorse I'd prefer to stay at the Skyy overall, but it's location is its downfall, at least for a tourist. For a business traveler, it would be awesome.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaeded07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    162
    73
    24
    11
See reviews for
91
120
43
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I have traveled to Whitehorse with my family for the past 5 years.
We love the scenery, fishing, skiing, dog sledding, it is absolutely breathtaking.
But we were not very happy with the accommodations, until now.
This year we stayed at the New SKKY HOTEL and it was beyond my expectations.
The service, the staff, the rooms, the Volare Restaurant, all very best…
Loved it, Loved it, Loved it! You will not be disappointed. Finally a modern Hotel in a spectacular place. Did I say we Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGABRIELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2009

I recently stayed at the Skky hotel which is nicely furnished, has a great restaurant (Volare) and exceptional service. The rooms are very nice and the staff are most accommodating. A special thanks to Verna and Elaine.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nazrat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We chose to stay at the Skky on our first visit to Whitehorse. This trip was to celebrate our anniversary and we were not disappointed. The staff was fantastic, the room beautiful, the King sized bed the most comfortable, and best of all... it was quiet!! No loud bar crowds disturbing your slumber.
Don't miss Volare for dinner. The service would put most Southern restaraunts to shame, the food so full in flavor and presentation, and Antoinette a genuine woman who puts great pride in her craft. We will be back...

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDYellowknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Excellent (though windowless) large boardroom facility with excellent catering of morning and afternoon refreshments and lunch on demand. Volare restaurant serves outstanding food at a leisurely pace. Front desk staff very helpful with business needs such as printing and copying.

Comfortable, modern rooms. Standard room could benefit from a larger work desk for business travellers.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADRCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

I believe it is the best hotel in Whitehorse but that does not mean it is great. It could be better with very little effort. We booked online and when we arrived our booking was not in place. We booked the Presidential Suite which looked wonderful but...... The spa bath flooded the bathroom floor when we started to fill it, so we were unable to enjoy that luxury. There was no soap holder for the hand basin so where to put the soap when the cabinet top is glass and the basins are vessels with no edges? A simple liquid soap container would solve that issue. The suite had 2 gas fireplaces (one in the lounge and a double sided one in the bedroom/bathroom) which could not be used as it was not cold enough!!!! It was -2C at night!!!!!!!!! and besides that, it was the whole ambience that we were looking forward to. There is no hanging space in the bedroom. There is no lift, so climbing stairs with heavy cases is difficult. There is no porter.
The major issue we had was the lack of breakfast (or provisions) provided by the hotel. There is no room service. The restaurant (open for dinner only, 6 nights a week) was absolutely fantastic. Food was amazing and the staff were friendly and helpful.
We were there for 3 nights and on the last night, the manager did turn on the fireplaces, (but only the lounge room one in our suite), as other guests had complained that the fireplaces were not able to be used and it was COLD.
The car park has not been completed so there are huge potholes everywhere. The room was quiet even though the airport is across the road.
We did make comment to the manager, who listened, said she took everything in, but made no notes and certainly did not seem to care too much. This is a new hotel and at the prices charged, you would imagine everything would be working and permits for meals (other than dinner) would have all been in place before opening the doors to customers.
To top it off the Northern Lights were a no-show and that was the reason we went there!!!!!! Very little control over that but the whole Yukon experience could have been more enjoyable if the hotel had lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4bearsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Our home away from home! The accommodation was extremely comfortable (loved the linens) and the décor elegant. The friendly staff went that extra mile to help us plan our vacation with suggestions and directions for sight-seeing, which is a service one normally does not get in other hotels. One of the best meals we’ve ever had was at Volare, the in-hotel restaurant and bar. Though the hotel does not have a pool or fitness equipment, hotel guests have complimentary access to the community sports complex. This unique boutique hotel met all the criteria to qualify for a 5-star hotel.

Bob and Pat

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CroweRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
32 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#9 of 14 in Whitehorse
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SKKY Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SKKY Hotel

Property: SKKY Hotel
Address: 91622 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Yukon Y1A 3E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SKKY Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SKKY Hotel is a boutique property conveniently located across from the airport and a short drive away from the downtown core. This hotel is in a class of its own offering many high-end amenities. Complimentary airport shuttle to/from the airport for major flights, complimentary wireless internet. All rooms are furnished with Tempur-Pedic mattresses with high thread count sheets, 42 inch plasma tvs, desk and office chair. The bathrooms come with large standup showers with granite walls and rain shower or hand held shower heads. All furniture is customized for the Skky Hotel and won't be found elsewhere. The hotel also offers air-conditioning with in-room controls during the summer months, and radiant floor heating on the lower floor in the winter. Included in the price of the room is complimentary wireless internet and airport shuttle. The Hue Oasis serves lunch and dinner, specializing in Korean and Japanese cuisine. A continental breakfast is available in the morning. Come in and take a look at the bar top which was imported from Italy. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. We hope you will come experience the best beds in the city, and our exceptional guest services in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your SKKY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyy Hotel By Book
SKKY Hotel Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing