We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Post Logan.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historical Guest House

Historical Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historical Guest House
Ranked #7 of 27 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Post Logan.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed 5-9 Jun 13 in one of the upstairs room. Very cool guest house tied to the historical/legendary Sam McGee. The hosts Bernie and Pam did a great job. Charming, comfortable, clean and full of friendly people and canines. Close walking distance to amenities, bars, restaurants, shopping areas, museums, educational/cultural centre.. Whitehorse is not a cheap town. The kitchen and BBQ in the back yard will help if you want fresh and more economical than the restaurants. Go to the farmers market near Shipyard Park. You can get fresh/flash frozen seafood at one of those truck vendor Frisky Fresh Fish on 4th Ave or wild games meat/sausages at the deli. Liquor store close at 6PM, off sales are $20 for 6 pack. They also have a fire pit in the back yard for cool evenings. Very good restaurants I enjoyed was Klondike Rib and Salmon BBQ, Burnt Toast cafe, and Dirty Northern Pub food. Go to the Craft vendors behind Ramada Inn for some excellent souvenirs There were also archaeology students staying in the basement during that time that made the stay very entertaining and some good laughs had by all. Thanks all for an awesome adventure after Logan. Jeff.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GalavantingJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    12
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
14
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roberts, MT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My daughter from Alaska and myself ferried and drove from Juneau, and stayed in this Historical Guest House, built by the legendary Sam McGee in 1907. We didn't realize Bernie and Pam stayed in an adjacent house, but we finally found them. Bernie came right over and gave us a tour, and even started the wood stove for us! We originally were to stay in one room, but being the only guests, Bernie gave us separate rooms for the same price! We spent part of two evenings using our laptops - hunkered down by the fire. The rooms were comfortable, and the kitchen was well furnished with breakfast items. Bernie explained the history of the log home. There was even the famous poem, "The Creamation of Sam McGee" hanging on the wall.

During the day we toured musems in Whitehorse, and soaked in Tahini Hot Springs. The highlight one evening was seeing the Northern Lights via a tour outside the city. On a moonless and starlit night God showed up, and He was wearing green!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayM260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was our first stop in the Yukon in early September. We took this B&B as our first choice was fully booked. It is an old house that has been raised to add a basement suite and we stayed in this suite. It was extremely spacious with an open floor plan including a kitchen. Breakfast was self-serve with cereals, bread, coffee, juice etc available. Our host, Bernie, was very friendly and helpful pointing us in the right direction for restaurants. It was a little cool in the suite initially, but Bernie told us where the thermostat was hidden (!) and we adjusted the heat. Smoke detectors seem conspicuous by their absence (were they hidden, too?). All in all, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We swung into Whitehorse with no clue of where to stay. We tend to be budget travelers (ie. CHEAP) and Whitehorse doesn't cater to our type! We checked three hotels and even the two hostels but they were either full or way over-priced in our opinion. We passed the Historical Guest House and stopped to inquire. Yes! They had a room and paying cash made it about $30 cheaper than the hotel. We took it!

Staying here was like visiting relatives. It was clean, comfortable, and warm. We had one of two bedrooms upstairs. There was a room in the basement but we never saw it. We suspect it was the best in the place but alas, we were passing through. If you're expecting a hallway bathroom, forget it. The bathrooms for the upstairs rooms are down the stairs and through the kitchen. A make-shift chamber pot is a good work around if you don't like midnight strolls to answer the call of nature.

After dinner and drinks in town, we came back and spent the night watching TV in the living room. After a week camping, it was nice to just sit and relax.

This property does not offer breakfast. That would've been nice but we certainly had the opportunity to prepare our own in their kitchen. The local stores close early so if you want breakfast, you need to get to the stores before they close. Oh, the beer store closes early so unless you want to pay $18 for a 6-pack, shop early!!!

We enjoyed our one night stay here. We found there are better values in the area, outside city center. This wasn't bad and I wouldn't discourage anyone from staying here. I don't agree with the other high reviews because all you get is a clean, warm room in a nice property. I guess I expect more before I give a 4 or 5 star review.

Room Tip: Pick the basement room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justthatgoodguyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We started out our trip in the guest house built in 1907. When you enter there are flowers everywhere. We met Bernie and Pam who run the house very friendly. We requested the basement, it had 2 queen beds a complete kitchen with your own bathroom. The upstairs was beautiful with old furniture, living room complete kitcken and 2 bedrooms upstairs you can rent.
The house is right downtown walking distance to everything. In the back yard they have a canopy with a table and chairs you can sit in and if you are lucky you might run into Bernie socializing with 1 of his friends who will answer any qestions you have. In the evening they have a fire pit you can sit at. We sat there with Bernie and his freindly dogs.We were a family of 3 with our 11 year old son and this was his favorite place. Hope to see you soon Bernie 7 Pam.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsay Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramarama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Our hosts at the Historical B&B were extremely welcoming and helpful. They went out of their way for us. The B&B is within easy walking distance to everything in Whitehorse, and we could use the bikes if we wanted to go further afield. It was lovely to be able to use the kitchen and prepare our own meals and be independent, with breakfast provisions so we could have breakfast whenever we felt like it. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable, and there is a comfortable lounge and dining area as well as a garden to relax in. Thanks for a lovely stay, and a great introduction to the friendly Yukon. We came back at the end of our canoe trip because we enjoyed it so much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rose room and the green room, both very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacquelineRamarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Great location, we felt at home, we are going back this summer for four more days before and after a river trip. Very old house with all that come with it, creaks, dust, charm, comfort and a feeling of history. Green room is very large. We stayed in rose last year and it was fine for us too. Great location walking distance from everything downtown without being above the local bars. Was a good sushi restaurant across the street when we were there. Parking out front and comfortable grounds with chairs and a relaxing garden. If you are not looking for the Hilton hotel this is a great location and I would recommend to anyone who loves older homes.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spooky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
15.6 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 13 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#8 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historical Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historical Guest House

Property: Historical Guest House
Address: 5128 5th Ave, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1L6, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historical Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historical Guest House is located in downtown Whitehorse close to all of the amenities the town has to offer. The 2 story log house was built in 1907 by Mike and Tony Cyr for the "real" Sam McGee. All of it's historical charm is intact. Historical Guest House is for the independent and reasonably self-sufficient traveller who likes all the amenities and comforts of home when travelling. We welcome you as a guest and a friend. We want you to feel comfortable and at home. Food is provided for a self-serve continental breakfast - a variety of hot and cold cereals, whole wheat bread for toast, a variety of jams and peanut butter, tea and coffee. Let us know if you have special dietary needs. It is called self-serve because guests are free to eat breakfast on their own schedule. Since the kitchen is communal it is also available for cooking at any time of the day. We want you to feel comfortable going into the fridge and the cupboards to find what you need. There is room in the house and in the garden under the gazebo for socializing, as well as privacy. We live in the green log house right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Historical Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historical Guest House Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing