We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location if you're on the road, but old and dated”
Review of Airport Chalet

Airport Chalet
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airport Chalet
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good location if you're on the road, but old and dated”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Front desk staff were very professional and friendly. The hallway off the lobby was musty and stinky though. My room in the main building (where they do have wi-fi) was big enough, very dated decor though, with ugly faux-wood panelling. comfortable enough though - the bathroom did have some updates including a new tub enclosure. It was quite quiet despite being on the main highway. There is a restaurant and lounge as part of the complex- which is convenient (the food and service there were ok). Its not fancy-schmancy like the skyy motel next door, but the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reginald_Chung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    16
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
10
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beebe, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I was hesitant to stay here because of the lack of reviews, but took a chance and booked anyway. Despite the muddy parking lot & a truck stop next door the rooms were well kept & clean and the covered porch/walkway was lined with hanging baskets of flowers. There was a laundry just a couple of doors
down from our room which was handy. Restraurant on site, but we ate elsewhere. Away from downtown, but easy access to everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anntricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airportchalet, Manager at Airport Chalet, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
You are absolutely correct , our internet visibility is limited. Yes, we have had a rainy, rainy summer and the parking lot could be graveled and graded daily, clearly when you were here it was time again. The owner will be thrilled that you noticed her hanging baskets, she personally plants and tends the flowers throughout the facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val d'or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Very well located with a great restaurant! Clean and spacious rooms, very helpfull staff! We'll bew coming back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessy0054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2011

taking in to consideration, Northern costs and rates, we felt that this aging Motel 6 type Hotel and Motel were an okay place to stay.
Right across from the airport , a 3 minute easy walk away - yet no noise to speak of. It was quiet, clean and had fluffy white towels and lots of hot water.
No between room noise to bug us either. Stayed 1 night in the motel and 2 in the hotel.
I took off one point for panelling on the walls - really dates a place.
Friendly staff.
1 point off for no air conditioning. It was HOT at night. but then again, we can from the rainy southern coast, and appreciated the good weather.

Room Tip: stay in the motel over the hotel if you can! they have their own web page. see photos there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bawnieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airportchalet, Manager at Airport Chalet, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Glad to hear you experienced our northern hospitality. I never tire of hearing about our wonderful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watson lake yukon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

we had an enjoyable stay in the room .... was quiet, clean and very comfy beds....the desk staff were very friendly...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwilliamsyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

135 – non-smoking room (fair quality room)
at a little after 7:00 pm the smell of dope smoke started penetrating the room where my 15 year old son and I were staying. The smoke was very bad. At 2:09 am was awakened by the same room from where the dope smell came from, by the occupants running up and down the wooden walk way. Very noisy. Since I was up because of the noise we checked out at 3:00 am and left, instead of leaving at 7:00 am as planned. I was refunded $20.00 but would not stay there again. The restaurant food quality was terrible.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank angusshops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airportchalet, Manager at Airport Chalet, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
I am so sorry to hear about the dope smell you encountered. I too would have been very upset. It is extremely unusual for us to have that problem as we are often serving the local RCMP in our coffee shop. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours and they should have rectified any noice or smoke concern immediately upon being notified. Our cafe is know for freshly roasted turkey and beef ( no immitation meats here) homemade soup and great burgers, we deffinately are not gourmet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitehorse hotels

BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

-being able to have your pets in the room with you is great. so many travel with their dogs but it's so hard to find a place that will let you have them with you.
-Friendly staff.
-they have smoking room which is handy to. Being a smoker this was a great option.
so many don't cater to smokers any more and they don't realize the business they are losing.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
577 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
413 reviews
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
15.9 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Chalet

Property: Airport Chalet
Address: 91634 Alaska Hwy | Whitehorse Airport, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Chalet is located directly across from the Whitehorse Airport on the Alaska Highway, only two miles from the city centre. The Airport Chalet is a full-service hotel offering a licensed family restaurant, cocktail lounge, choice of hotel, motel, family, or kitchenette style rooms, guest laundromat and gas bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Airport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Chalet Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing