We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst breakfast I have ever been served”
Review of Airport Chalet

Airport Chalet
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airport Chalet
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Reviewed 4 July 2012

It was busy when we sat down and there was only a one younger waitress on, so I expected it was going to take some time. I started to wonder how our meals would turn out when the bus boy gave a meal to three different customers before getting the right person. Not just inquirer but leaving the meal and coming back changeing to the next leave and then to the correct customer. He almost gave our meals to the table next to us, but I caught it in time. Both meals where less than luke warm. Sad only bad experience we had in Whitehorse.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Oldcarnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

I really was worried about staying here- but found the new owners and staff to be excellent and helpful. The room was quiet, clean, and the beds were absolutely so comfortable that I am determined to try to locate the same mattress for my home. The food in the coffee shop was delicious and served fast with a smile :) Excellent channels on the TV as well. There is also a bar with LIVE entertainment on the weekends. I didn't go in but stood at the door and listened for a while. They have really interesting/ intriguing historical photographs on the walls. From there to the Airport was only $6.50 plus tip for the cab fare. I am glad I stayed there and would stay again when I get up North again.

Room Tip: I found it very quiet on the ground floor facing the parking lot. I didn't ask if they had a poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We arrived late at night (9:00PM). The restaurant was closed, and nothing was open that was close. The owner offered and made us a late dinner, which was not only excellent but was as if the restaurant was not already closed.
We had our dogs with us and they were very accommodating for them. We have two little Yorkshire Terriers. Make sure a tell the front desk about pets to avoid a fine.
The interior was older, very clean , and the older interior added to the charm of the hotel.
Breakfast the next morning, food was excellent, as was the service.
All members of the staff were very friendly and helpful!!
We would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to friends and family!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Excellent service with the new ownership :) friendly staff in bar/restaurant :) great location, across the street from the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whistler4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel is definitely old but it was very clean and kept up. The food in the restaurant was good but the service was horrible. I'd stay here again though.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Front desk staff were very professional and friendly. The hallway off the lobby was musty and stinky though. My room in the main building (where they do have wi-fi) was big enough, very dated decor though, with ugly faux-wood panelling. comfortable enough though - the bathroom did have some updates including a new tub enclosure. It was quite quiet despite being on the main highway. There is a restaurant and lounge as part of the complex- which is convenient (the food and service there were ok). Its not fancy-schmancy like the skyy motel next door, but the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reginald_Chung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

I was hesitant to stay here because of the lack of reviews, but took a chance and booked anyway. Despite the muddy parking lot & a truck stop next door the rooms were well kept & clean and the covered porch/walkway was lined with hanging baskets of flowers. There was a laundry just a couple of doors
down from our room which was handy. Restraurant on site, but we ate elsewhere. Away from downtown, but easy access to everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anntricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airportchalet, Manager at Airport Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2011

You are absolutely correct , our internet visibility is limited. Yes, we have had a rainy, rainy summer and the parking lot could be graveled and graded daily, clearly when you were here it was time again. The owner will be thrilled that you noticed her hanging baskets, she personally plants and tends the flowers throughout the facility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
195 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yukon Inn
Yukon Inn
#6 of 14 in Whitehorse
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
649 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Chalet

Address: 91634 Alaska Hwy | Whitehorse Airport, Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: £57 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Chalet is located directly across from the Whitehorse Airport on the Alaska Highway, only two miles from the city centre. The Airport Chalet is a full-service hotel offering a licensed family restaurant, cocktail lounge, choice of hotel, motel, family, or kitchenette style rooms, guest laundromat and gas bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Airport Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Chalet Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing