We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend during the 2011 Frostbite Music Festival. The hotel has been remodel to look like the old gold rush days, which is a little gimmicky but harmless fun.

The rooms are fairly nice and modern. Clean, well kept and service was friendly. Nothing to keep us from staying here again. The pub in the hotel served very good pub food. Definitely worth grabbing a burger and a beer. If you are looking for a good coffee/muffin place, head to the other end of Main Street and look for Baked Cafe and Bakery. Excellent coffee drinks and baking.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    253
    151
    41
    17
See reviews for
105
189
56
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Best Western Gold Rush Inn hotel is very cute, very confortable , very warm and clean. Besides that , Golden Pan Saloon is excelent , offering a good food, good breakfast, good beer , good music...
We loved it.
Ronaldo and Izilda

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mronaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We spent five nights here in late February 2012 and found the Gold Rush to be a very affordable and pleasant hotel experience. The staff were helpful, the room fine and the facilities good. Being able to wash your clothes with the provided well serviced laundry for a 'twooney' is a real plus and much cheaper than the dry cleaning only options at most hotels. The bar/restaurant has a great feel where you can buy a local kokanee beer or have a hearty meal. The only minor negative is that the property (though well maintained and renovated) does have wooden floor boards as its in a heritage style building. The problem being that if you have a late sleeper in the room above you on the next level pacing the floors you may have your sleep disturbed a little. Maybe consider asking for a level 4 room. A real plus is that hotel is very accustomed to the comings and goings of aurora travellers so is ideal for these travellers.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a level 4 room to ensure peaceful sleep as the wooden floor boards can make your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekker_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at the BW Gold Rush for 3 weeks straight in January 2012 as part of a business trip. Also used their conference facilities for 2 of the weeks. I was in a 4th floor room at the back of the hotel, which was very quiet and well maintained, with a king bed, fridge and microwave. All very convenient for long trips. They also do have a couple of suites with full kitchen facilities. The staff here is so friendly and helpful, from the front desk and catering staff right to the cleaning crew. There is a pub/restaurant, which has a decent variety of daily specials and regular features but can get very crowded and noisy. Don't worry though .. the convenient location of this hotel puts at least 10 good restaurants (Antoinettes, Burnt Toast Cafe, Cork and Bull to name a few) within no more than a 5 minute walk. There is a computer and printer on the main floor and each of the guest floors, a small workout room and an area where you can exchange paper backs and magazines. Parking is a bit limited, especially spaces with plugins, but people are pretty ingenious about sharing plugins with multiple adapters, etc.

The High Country Inn is also owned by the same group, and is currently being fully renovated. I have stayed in both hotels and would recommend both of them. High Country does have the better restaurant, but is further from the downtown area.

The hotel has a free airport shuttle, and tour companies are available in the lobby area to pick you up for many Yukon adventures.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Overall a very comfortable stay for the 4 days we were in Whitehorse, front desk staff, housekeeping were all very nice. Gentleman driving the shuttle was terrific - I was annoyed that guests didn't tip the poor guy with all the baggage he was handling for both arrival and departure trips. Within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants and shops in the immediate area with the location on Main St. The microwave and refrigerator were nice to have in the room. Popped into another hotel around the corner for breakfast one morning and what a difference, front desk person wasn't that friendly or welcoming. Look forward to returning to Whitehorse and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Da11asGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We really enjoyed our two night stay here. Clean, updated, spacious room. Very friendly staff. Free wifi was fast. Bed was very comfortable. We didn't use the fridge or microwave because our stay was short, but great addition to the room. Good location for walking around town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

With limited choices in the Whitehorse area, this hotel is very good. The shuttle from the airport to the hotel is roughly about 30 minutes. They are courteous drivers.

Pay no attention to the lobby as it doesn't have that "inviting" feel, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff at the desk were very helpful and friendly.

Breakfasts at the hotel restaurant was good, too. I recommend exploring the main street by foot as there are many restaurants and gift shops in that vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funtravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Best Western Gold Rush Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your business.We are proud of our shuttle drivers and front desk staff and they will be pleased to hear your kind words. Safe travels and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
425 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Property: Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing