We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for enjoying the Yukon experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel for enjoying the Yukon experience”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed here four nights early March travelling to Whitehorse to view the Northern Lights. The service was great - the staff friendly and helpful. The room was warm, roomy, clean and very comfortable. We have a room over Main Street and the snow covered hill in the background. Perfect for people from the tropics! The location was very central for exploring Whitehorse. We enjoyed the restaurant each night of our stay after choosing to stay in the warmth! The staff were friendly, service good even when they were busy and the food great. Luckily were were there Tuesday night when mussels were on the menu! All in all a great hotel to enjoy the Yukon experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    254
    151
    41
    17
See reviews for
105
190
56
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were well kept, warm and the hotel is right down town close to everything. Free WiFi, comfy bed and good TV. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Staff in the lounge/restaurant on the otherhand were surly and appeared to have a resentful attitude towards serving the customers. Food in the restaurant was poor and tasteless.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel has an airport shuttle which is great, and the location is good for the price. I stayed on two separate nights and was pretty impressed the first night, a little less so the second. The staff were good – not inattentive but at the same time overly friendly or patronizing. There is a games library and book exchange beside the drink machines which was a nice touch.

A couple of less-than-great parts: as good as the hotel staff were, the bar staff were lousy. I don’t expect to be the centre of attention all the time, but I had to ask the three staff members if one of them could take a break from their textathon and serve us. There were about 15 people total in the bar at the time and we waited five (I counted) minutes before finally taking it on ourselves to request some service. To top it off, the food was pretty mediocre. Ho-hum pub fare without much imagination or variety, so unless you’re really starved there are other better options in the neighbourhood.

The internet was deathly slow. It was really hard to get a decent signal on any of my various devices, though when I went down the street to Starbucks they all worked perfectly. So whether it’s a service provider problem or a hotel problem I do not know, but it takes less time to walk the few blocks, buy a latte and access a handful of PDF files than it does to try and read them in your hotel room.

Lastly, and this is something I should have raised with them at the time but was just too tired, the room I got on my second stay had some cleanliness issues. The details are gross but if I had one recommendation it would be better vacuuming. I give the hotel a “good” because it’s better value than other places I’ve stayed in Whitehorse. It would be an “average” if it were down south, but for the Yukon it gets the extra vote.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mistershrewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have got to agree with most of the comments so far to be honest, we arrived at 1am and the night staff where not that cheery, but there on nights I hear you say, yes but you can still smile when new people arrive, not that welcoming based on the fact I have never been to Canada before and had travelled from Nova Scotia , Ottawa , Vancouver to Whitehorse and every person we met was fantastic even the passport control people, so if they can be nice so can the night staff, am not saying they were rude just a bit like, things were too much of an effort, anyway once we got to the room it was great and the bed was a comfy bed, big rooms as well so very pleased there, so we had a good night’s sleep. We never heard anyone running around or experienced the thin walled comments.

I had read the Gold Rush Inn was the place to be, so at 9.00 am we went down for breakfast and in keeping with the night staff, I can’t say I was over impressed by the manner in which the lady took our order or in fact delivered our breakfast, what I can say was the food was lovely and well cooked, based on first impressions we never went back to the Gold Rush either for evening meals or breakfast so there loss.

I know I have some negative comments here but I would stay again as the location and rooms are perfect and all the local tour operators used it as a base for collection. The day staff were better by a whisker read into that what you will.

Room Tip: try and make the night staff smile , i bet you cant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location downtown in Whitehorse. The hotel overall was very clean, the rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. Hotel offers free WiFi, and flat screen TV. The lounge has good prices on local beer and food! Shopping and entertainment is minutes away by a short walk! As you walk in there is a friendly moose that greets you and makes you feel you are truly in the Yukon!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MojitioBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is loaded with character and is located within short walking distance to shops and restaurants. The room was cozy and comfy. The negatives however were the smell of sewage that came through the bathroom sink drain and the loud guests upstairs in the early hours of the morning. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsawtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hardy, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I've stayed at the Gold Rush Inn a few times before, and based on those stays, I'd give this hotel a 4/5. Comfortable rooms, nicely renovated, warm. Staff are (mostly) friendly and kind, and the shuttle from the airport is convenient. If you book online, you can get a bit of a discount from the rack rate as well.

If you ever plan on staying at this hotel, specifically ask NOT to stay in Room 110. There are a few reasons for this. The obvious, glaring one being that it shares a poorly insulated wall with the Lizard Lounge next door, which plays loud club music. You can hear it from the hallway outside the room, but inside the room it is actually louder. I could hear the lyrics to most songs over the bass, which made my bed vibrate. The room itself seems like it doesn't get much use, or the housekeeping staff is very inattentive, as there was a letter informing me of the closure of the Gold Pan Saloon on December 16th for the staff Christmas party. The washroom was set up for accessibility, which I find odd as it's on the one floor of the hotel that has no elevator access. Finally, there are no other guest rooms anywhere close to it, leading me to believe it was at one point mashed together to increase capacity by one, when it should really be a storage closet, or a staff break room. When I went back to the front desk to request anything other than that, I was told they were completely booked up and if I needed a different room I'd need to get a different hotel. Really? At 11:30pm? I can understand full is full, but courtesy would have been nice. Or a pair of earplugs, on the house.

If you're paying to stay here, you'll get your money's worth. But make sure they don't put you in Room 110, unless you're looking to have your Gold Rush Inn or Whitehorse experience ruined by lack of sleep.

Room Tip: Third floor is best, or second floor away from the Gold Pan. Anywhere is better than Room 110.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitehorse hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
426 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Property: Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing