We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes you feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Makes you feel welcome”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times for business while in Whitehorse. It's close to the downtown area so a nice walk to some of the unique shopping around town. Decent, clean rooms...there is a good sized desk to do some work if required. It looks as though they have done some remodelling to the bathroom counter tops, sinks ect. Overall a good place to stay in a good location for Whitehorse.

Room Tip: Higher level floors tend to be quieter in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    240
    146
    41
    17
See reviews for
102
180
52
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Be aware older, timber, multi level building with minimal sound insulation from above. Rooms were clean and Cozy feeling however it sounded like there was a marathon on upstairs and every second step squeaks. We stayed 4 nights total and we asked to be moved on our third to try and get some lasting sleep. We were moved to another room where there was no noise. Shower temperature varies from hot hot to icey every few seconds. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkinsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was in room 118. The suit was quite hommie with two bedrooms, 1 bathroom a kitchen and living room. The room is really good for families and friends traveling together. It make you feel like you're at home. Overall appearance of the hotel is really good; restaurant on site and everything is within walking distance from the hotel to downtown Whitehorse.

Room Tip: Choose room 118 if you traveling with family or friends. You can save a lot of money by cooking your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FedGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, TX
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had stopped here on our way to Fairbanks hoping to spend the night but there was not any rooms available. So, we made certain to stop on our return through Whitehorse. Everything was perfect for a stay. Comfortable bed & big clean room. Very quiet. Bathroom was average size but nicely updated and CLEAN!!! Good value for downtown location. Complimentary breakfast not included...but no loss...Whitehorse has a "Tim Hortons". Hotel has luggage carts in front entrance and an elevator, but hallways are tight...it is a very old hotel...but wonderfully modernized and maintained.

Room Tip: Avoid street noise on weekends...ask for a back alley facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
304 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed at the Best Western in Whitehorse after driving the Dempster, Top of the World and Golden Circle route. We had our bikes with us and we wanted to do some riding in Whitehorse and Carcross.

The Best Western has a secure bike storage which is important for us. The rooms had a fridge which was great but could have been bigger.

Our room was large with two queen sized beds, an extra sitting chair and a desk for my husband and I to use instead of the bed for reading and working on the computer.

The room was quite warm, they had an extra fan that we used during the night. We had a room facing the main street over the pub, the pub noise was noticeable on the Thursday night we were there, they did warn us and offer to change our room, the pub noise was minimal after 11.

I would stay there again, the people were great as was the location.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room facing the lane and/or not over the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharonbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Cons: no way of cooling the room besides a small window and fan, and it was oppressively hot during the day. There was a restraint exhaust right next to my window, which meant I had to choose between the unpleasant heat and the overwhelming smell of grease. The shower swung wildly between hit and cold every few minutes, meaning you had to stand half in and out to use it.
The wifi was so slow I couldn't load images or videos, and continually disconnected so backing up my apple devices was impossible. The room came with a microwave, but no cutlery or crockery. One of the two elevators was extremely dodgy, once it jerked so violently I was thrown from my feet. It I had been elderly, I can easily imagine a broken hip.

Pros: the bathroom was nicely furnished, and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were helpful, I bought a watermelon without thinking and they sent it to the kitchen to be cut up for me. The location is excellent in proximity to businesses and a supermarket. They had plenty of washers and dryers for guests to use. Ample parking nearby.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALAMINA, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had a room on the 4th floor.It was big,nice and very clean .The external appearance and the lobby were old style,really nice.The staff was polite,especially Joanna,who was also very professional.It was a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Klearchos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#9 of 14 in Whitehorse
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Property: Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing