We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Kimberley, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel has amazing staff and it's a great location for Whitehorse. The room was expensive for what it was ($175/night) for a normal hotel room, but this is high season. We had to leave our fan on to block out the creaky floors of our neighbors around us. I would stay here again if I wanted to be in Whitehorse.

Room Tip: Ask to not be over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    254
    151
    41
    17
See reviews for
105
190
56
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We arrived in Whitehorse on a motorcycle, from Tok, AK, through road construction and 90 degree heat. I groaned as I walked from the parking lot to the lobby, knowing I'd have to help haul the bags from the bike that distance in the heat. The friendly women at the desk lifted my spirits and made the first trip to our 4th floor room (first taking the wrong elevator) and turned the AC on full blast! The rooms are clean and bathrooms are updated with bowl sinks and the BEST shower we had in our entire 14 days in AK, YT, BC and AB! The stairway marked "emergency exit" was not alarmed and proved to be the direct route to the parking lot, making loading the bike a breeze in the morning. We walked to Cantina Sanchez (recommended by hotel) for dinner and had a great meal. Pleasant, brief stay in Whitehorse.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank secondrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I'd recommend this while in Whitehorse, YT. Elevators provided to all floors. Decor is great for the Whitehorse area. It is convenient to local shopping and the people are friendly and helpful. You get the feeling that they really want you to enjoy your stay with them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I revisited this hotel on my last visit and again enjoyed the rooms. The only concern I had on this trip was that they had a cover charge in place for some live music in the lounge of the hotel. I would think that guests should be exempt, considering we are paying a premium to stay here and that the loung is part of the services offered to guets staying at the hotel. I chose to go eat and drink elsewhere because I didn't want to pay a $10 covercharge to relax in my hotel lounge after my long drive. Other than that all was good and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smoir64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stopped on way from Anchorage to Calgary.....it was a perfect stop. We stayed in Watkins Lake on the way up and I refused to go there again....EVER. SO....we tried Whitehorse and the Best Western didn't disappoint. Now when you first drive up, you say "OH GOD" as it's an OLD OLD OLD OLD OLD like hotel, saloon..it HAS to be historic....But when you enter....(oh by the way..parking is on the side in the PAY lot, but Best Western guests do not pay and if full, take a turn out back...I found a cozy safe spot out back overlooking the police station! It's a little alley...but safe) Anyway....When you enter...it's pleasing with a friendly front desk. Our room was 329 and was 2 beds. Everything was clean and comfy. As you know the building is OLD, and walking in the hallways, you just KNOW the original wood floor is under that new carpet...I was dying to peek....but the floor in the hall squeeks....it's expected to...adds character. The rooms however, are very modern...leave no old feeling to them. Completely updated. I was SURPRISED. When we staying in Watson Lake, OLD WAS OLD and CRAPPY. This was old and redone. ALL CLEAN, SPACIOUS. A tad pricey...at $175. a night. The windows are new and block out the outside noise. You CAN hear noise within the hotel but it's not overly different than any other hotel when people SLAM their doors (my pet peeve..wake up people...have some courtesy...HOLD Your door and close QUIETLY and please don't yell int he hallways of ANY HOTEL!) Anyway...I get sidetracked....
It didn't hinder my sleep and I am a VERY light sleeper in hotels. The SALOON noise I never heard at all.
I would def stay here again. The restaurant (SALOON) downstairs doesn't allow under 19 to enter...it's more a bar than a restaurant...so we had to go elsewhere....Georges (or something close to that.....ITALIAN) It was SUPER. Better than expected in Whitehorse......a little short staffed but it was 9:30pm. Overall I was pleased with Whitehorse and hte Best Western Gold Rush.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainah65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel is downtown right on Main Street, and this is where most of the best shopping and nightlife is. On Thursdays - Sundays there is entertainment in this hotel's bar. The music stops at 10:30 so as to ensure guests can go to sleep if they desire. There are great hiking trails close by, as well as the Millennium Trail which is an approx. 5 km round trip. There is no air conditioning, but two fans are provided and it does cool down in the evenings to cool your room. Ask for a room on the second or higher level for this reason. The elevator is really slow, but why rush? They have a complimentary airport shuffle and wifi. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpolinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is more than 100 years old yet very modern and comfy inside. Room is big enough. Conveniently located to a lot of business. Best assets are its staff, everybody is cheering and friendly. Breakfast was not included in the room fare, and we tried the on-site restaurant, reasonably priced and worth trying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
426 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Rush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Rush Inn

Property: Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Address: 411 Main St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Rush Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Gold Rush Inn is the premier family and business-oriented hotel in Whitehorse. Having undergone extensive renovations to the cost of several million dollars, the rooms are spacious and modern. All rooms include wireless high-speed internet, microwave, mini-fridge, flat screen television, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Gold Rush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Gold Rush Hotel Whitehorse
Best Western Whitehorse
Whitehorse Best Western
Best Western Gold Rush Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing