We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star in the Capital, shame on you!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The homeless sleeping in the lobby, the filthy carpets, walls, window coverings....come on your representing the capital of your Territory rather poorly. I am sure that with a captive tourist populace you could afford to steam clean the carpets, wash the walls, clean the window coverings and linens. Just because your establishment is older and you want to keep the flavour of the Klondike should be incentive to keep the place up. As far as the homeless close off the far doors on the conference side or have conference patrons only access same goes for the washrooms are they Public or for the Conference rooms?

Staff superb, nice conference facility, good daily room cleaning services. Again, hire some extra staff this winter and steam clean your carpets and furniture, wash the walls, clean your window coverings and bed spreads!

Room Tip: Inside room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OasisSeekers777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

Looks like a well worn prefab building that has been added onto as necessary. Comfortable for a short stay but very Motel 6 like. Saw some of the pictures of the rooms posted and have to say they must have been suites ours did not look like that. Centrally located with restaurants and stores close by. Would not be my first choice for a hotel but we were on a Holland America Tour and that is what we got. We had a welcome meal there but guess it was forgettable since I can't remember what it was.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here one night on a HAL cruisetour. The hotel is very clean, could use a little facelift, but it was fine for us. All the staff were extremely accommodating. My only complaint is there was no air conditioning, which I realize is not needed much here, but they did have a big fan in our room and it was comfortable. The restaurant was great and the location is within walking distance to most things you would need.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Its a shame I see all the bad reviews. This westmark fits in the area. They are not gonna put a brand new marble tile resort in the middle of the Yukon. Remember where you are! Its nature and beauty and hotel is up to par!

It was very clean, staff wonderful, free wifi in lobby, they did a northern lights wake call for us, front desk girl even led us to a place where we could find them better, went above and beyond.

Yes the hotel is older, but it fits in the area, its clean. Breakfast and prices at the restaurant were way overpriced, that is the only bad thing i have to say.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kt1980_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

this hotel seems to be changing its name - the signs with the hotel name are the temporary type - we went for a walk about town and found a grocery store and a subway not too far away to get the items we needed - lots of places are boarded up - perhaps the economy or perhaps the season - I don't know if this hotel is well located as we were only there one night - rooms were large and clean - no view to speak of - also the room was of a comfy temperature

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just completed a tour of Canada and Alaska. Whitehorse was on our intiniary. Arriving very hungry and exhausted we had dinner in the restaurant at the hotel. The food was very good and Neil, our waiter, was out to make sure we have a super evening with his jokes and humor. After being on a coach and train for 8 hours we just wanted to eat and sleep. However we walked out a few kinks to the downtown shopping section to find everything closed by that time. Whitehorse is a large area with fishing, hiking, rafting, hot springs, all your local stores including Wal-Mart. There is a trolly that runs during the day and a shuttle bus runs on the 30 minute mark to take you through out the town. We did get a chance to hike along the river to the Fish Ladder, one of the "to see items" on our list. The fish ladder had just closed for the season that week. We enjoyed the walk to the dam and just to view a fish ladder was new to me. Beavers had cut trees down all along the trail. Was a photo moment also, not everyday you come upon trees laying down and fresh little chips carved to a point. Our last night at Whitehorse we ate at Giorgio's Cuccina, Authentic Italian Food. Trust me, it was wonderful. (Be aware if you travel into the Yukon area, food is very expensive compared to Tennessee) We was not accustomed to paying that much for a meal. The city was clean and looked to be well kept. The SS Klondike and the Trolly Car along the River is a nice treat. Have your camera ready for History greets you in the Klondike Country.

Room Tip: The room was comfortable. It was not a 5 star but when traveling with a tour you have no choice. I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is past it's prime and very worn. Second floor rooms are noisy and my wife and I as well as several other guests swear that the floors moving (or vibrating). On site restaurant was not good. It is more tired than the hotel and food marginal.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis10_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 201 Wood St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: £73 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, within blocks of area restaurants, night-spots, shopping and government offices, the Westmark Whitehorse Hotel & Conference Center is the Yukon's premier hotel and conference center. Recently renovated, the Westmark Whitehorse offers 180 first-class guest rooms and suites, conference facilities and professional special event catering. The Westmark Whitehorse is the largest hotel in Yukon and features over 7000 square feet of meeting space. The Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge serves up a fabulous menu and offers daily lunch and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Hotel Whitehorse
Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel And Conference Center Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing