We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very decent hotel - probably one of the best in Whitehorse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Very decent hotel - probably one of the best in Whitehorse”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

In Whitehorse, I find it extremely difficult to find a "good" hotel. I recently stayed here for 1 night based on a Whitehorse colleague's recommendation.

From the outside, it looks like any average 3* hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised inside. It was very large and fairly clean. I noticed the flight crew from my trip to Whitehorse was also checking in here. There's also a gift shop in the hotel where I bought some bottled water.

The room itself is fine. I've stayed before in Whitehorse in another hotel and this room was better. I asked for a quiet hotel and was given one in the Inner Courtyard. It was really, really quiet and I was happy with that.

There really isn't a closet as the hangars are out in plain view. There's a fan in the same corner for the summer when it gets warm in Whitehorse. The bed was fairly comfortable as I fell asleep easily. There's a fairly new flatscreen LCD tv. Surprising!

Internet is wired and there were some extra RJ45 cables in the desk drawer. I believe this is free and DO NOT agree to wireless access on check-in as you'll be charged extra for it ($5.95/day). I was as I didn't know there was in-room internet access.

The bathroom was of a decent size. What I should mention is that they had the cold/hot faucet reversed and I was wondering why the cold water was actually warm. There was coin operated laundry right beside the elevator.

Location is very good. Just don't wander across the street to 98 Hotel or Flipper's. Main street is about 2 blocks away - very walkable. I arrived on a Sunday and noticed many restos in Whitehorse weren't open or closed early (6 pm). Even Tim Horton's was closed at 6 pm!! For good cafe food, I highly recommend Baked (close to the Edgewater Hotel). I didn't try the resto in the hotel.

Overall, I was pretty happy with the hotel and will return here the next time I need to be in Whitehorse. I gave this 4 stars not because it's a 4 star hotel but rather it's better than the average hotel in Whitehorse.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braindrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    112
    165
    41
    17
See reviews for
63
134
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This was a very nice hotel in downtown Whitehorse and within walking distance of many attractions. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was large The hotel has a large lobby with a small shop Also there is a show there nightly - the Frantic Follies - which was wonderful. The restaurant served a buffet breakfast and served dinner on patio the night that we were there. Since it is on a busy downtown street there is not much atmosphere but several nice restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, FL
Level Contributor
322 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

While the lobby and halls are airconditioned, the rooms are not. They have a tiny window and tiny fan for ventilation and our room was hot and stuffy. Likewise the Frantic Follies room is very, very, hot and stuffy. Several people left at intermission because it was so uncomfortable in there and to be honest, the show just isn't that good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Friendly and helpful staff .

Free internet, although one had to wait for the inconsiderate gentleman who was playing Solitaire on the computer to complete his game. There was a line-up waiting to use the computer.

I would recommend staff engage a licensed electrical contractor to expend the cords for the table lamp in the room as the handyman used open splices to extend the lamp cord.

Believe it or not, it was hot in the North Country and there was no air conditioning in the room. Cooling air was provided by an open window and placing a fan in front of that window.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

I spend half the year on the road and am pretty content provided I get a good nights sleep and the place has a workable gym..

The gym was ok here and it was nice enough to go for a great run in the warm sun... This warm sun was the problem in part.

The hotel has no AC... The temp in my room showed 28C, which was as high as the ancient thermostat will read. This did not contribute to a good sleep, nor did the firm beds and VERY thin walls and floors. Granted, the temp will not be an issue in January..

The rooms are showing age, and decor is OK but rather spartan. I'm also irked when hotels have a grimy extension cords with 4-5 different things all plugged into the one cord and laying on the floor (perhaps petty but it still bothers me and most fire marshals aren't big fans either).

As others have alluded I'm not sure if the competition in town is much better though.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlvlTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitehorse hotels

Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Enjoyed my stay here. Great location - one block from main street. Room was clean and bright. Recent renovations were nice. would recommend as one of the better Whitehorse Hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

The awful bathtub situation is what really made me feel uncomfortable in this hotel, infrastructure wise the walls ceilings are so thin, that you hear every step and conversation had above and beside you, and I'm sure the people below you can hear you.

Beds were comfortable and room area was kept clean. But bathtub had a hair clogged drain, I did leave message for houskeeping but it was never cleaned out, there were also other peoples hairs on the tile walls, which never disappeared so I don't know if they ever cleaned the bath tub area. Bathtub in general was black, in need of an industrial strength cleaner.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
15.7 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 201 Wood St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, within blocks of area restaurants, night-spots, shopping and government offices, the Westmark Whitehorse Hotel & Conference Center is the Yukon's premier hotel and conference center. Recently renovated, the Westmark Whitehorse offers 180 first-class guest rooms and suites, conference facilities and professional special event catering. The Westmark Whitehorse is the largest hotel in Yukon and features over 7000 square feet of meeting space. The Steele Street Restaurant & Lounge serves up a fabulous menu and offers daily lunch and dinner specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Hotel Whitehorse
Hotel Whitehorse
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel And Conference Center Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing