We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff & Food(Korean)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff & Food(Korean)”
Reviewed 24 June 2010

When i stayed in Whitehorse, I always stay at the River View Hotel. Front desk always remember me and so pleasant. The room is very clean, comfortable and nice view of Yukon River. Also, we were very impressed with Korean cuisine in the restaurant. I'm looking forward to try some other Korean food in next visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyork702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    45
    38
    33
    39
See reviews for
36
55
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I would gladly see 'Canada Best Value Inn' on a road trip with a sign that says $39.99 or heck even $59.99 but at $120 a night you can stay at almost any other place in Whitehorse and this place is terrible. It is exactly what a roadside Motel is.

Rooms that smell of cigarettes, not updated in years, nasty carpet that is moist for no apparent reason, disgusting washroom, likely bed bugs and the usual... again as a stopover for one night on a road trip for 1/3 the price, sure, fine. But, for $120 on a vacation or a business trip, depressing and unacceptable..

Stay at Skyy or Best Western instead.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whitehorse hotels

Yukon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2010

It was first time stayed at Canadas Best Value Inn. The staff was very helpful cheerful, courteous and friendly.
The room was very clean, comfortable bed and very affortabe prices.
The hotel was walking distance to most of everything. We would definitely stay there again.
By the way, thanks for free underground parking.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunhill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Stayed here for two nights in october. Generally a very satisfactory stay with large, well fitted and warm rooms. They have at least made a decent effort to give the hotel a bit of character with local photos and maps which makes it feel more like a youth hostel. The rooms were clean aside from a few hairs in the bathroom. Staff at the front desk were friendly.

One point worth mentioning was that there is supposed to be a complimentary breakfast, but I did not receive one. Apparently there is no breakfast served on sundays, and when I enquired on monday I was informed that "the guy didn't show up" - so I had to make do with Tim Horton's on both occasions.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pointless_parasite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights in February. Our room was big, warm, and had all the basic amenities. It was clean and comfortable, which is really all we were hoping for. I really enjoyed the free wireless connection, which I had no problems accessing. The hotel is centrally located downtown. Just a few minutes walk to shops, restaurants and galleries. The MacBride Museum (historical museum) is literally 10 paces away. As mentioned by other reviewers, there is a somewhat shady bar located next door and there seemed to always be a group of locals hanging around outside of it, so I would advise you to be a little cautious, but really nothing major to be concerned about.

The staff were pretty helpful. There is no breakfast or restuarant on site though.

Overall, this was a good place to stay in Whitehorse if you're looking for clean, basic and affordable accomdations downtown.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamLimaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Three of us stayed in a large room with two queens in late July, 2009. This hotel offers very basic, clean rooms.

We’ve stayed at this hotel several times over the past 30 years and the recent renovation of the rooms is a very nice improvement. Our favorite thing about this hotel is the view of the Yukon River flowing by in the midnight sun (you need to ask for a room on the river side of the hotel).

Wireless internet connectivity was good in the room, but not great - the signal kept going away. Outlets are easy to reach - however, as always, I advise bringing an extension cord. A desk and chair in the room makes computer work comfortable. The room was reasonably quiet, the beds comfortable, and we enjoyed a good sleep.

The staff was friendly and helpful; parking is ample and easy; coffee is available in the room; no iron or board is in the room. The water pressure and temperature is good. Laundry facilities are downstairs though we did not use them.

You can walk to the Frantic Follies - just across the street. It was unclear to us whether the hotel's restaurant was closed temporarily or permanently. But no matter - there are plenty of eating establishments within easy walking distance.

We never know how we’ll find this hotel each time we visit Whitehorse, but this time we were pleasantly surprised and can certainly give it a good recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Initial impressions weren't so good - I was booked in here as part of a tour (no choice of accommodation) and on arrival at 9pm found the restaurant was only open for breakfast (like everywhere else in Whitehorse in late September they seem to be gradually closing up for the winter), room a bit quirky (drawers which fall out when opened more than a few inches, a saggy easy chair, a very odd tap for bathroom sink). However bedroom a good size and clean, the staff are very helpful and friendly, breakfast was a bit slow some days but food was good and copious, location was very convenient (and while I was there no problems with noise outside - I was at the back of the building - no river view), within walking distance of everything in centre of town. Initially I'd have given 2 stars but on reflection it gets 3 because it seemed good value and the staff made the place (even when we came in from aurora viewing at 3am there was someone there with a smile). Don't think I'd rush back to Whitehorse, particularly in the off-season but if you need to be there you could do worse than Canada's Best Value RiverView Hotel.

  • Liked — The staff, the location
  • Disliked — It isn't the Ritz (but doesn't pretend to be)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#9 of 14 in Whitehorse
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Town and Mountain Hotel
The Town and Mountain Hotel
#8 of 14 in Whitehorse
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn
Address: 102 Wood St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Whitehorse, Yukon, the Canadas Best Value Inn is a 2-story hotel that offers 53 spacious guest rooms with either a mountain or river view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Whitehorse
Americas Best Value Inns Whitehorse
Canadas Best Value Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing