We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coast High Country Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Hotel(Whitehorse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yukon Inn(Whitehorse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Chalet(Whitehorse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKKY Hotel(Whitehorse)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
180
185
84
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
185
84
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeck restaurantss klondikefront desk staffjacuzzi tubroom was cleanbit datedfree shuttlecomfortable hotelsmall roomdowntown areamain stblackout curtainsan upgradestaff was very friendly and helpfula great stayin townwould stay here again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
403 - 408 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We just stayed at the High Country Inn in Whitehorse this weekend. Because it was Rendezvous, every hotel room in town was taken, so we were lucky to find one at HC. We got a great local price - under $90 for a queen. The room had all the amenities, tiny bathroom with shower only. The room had a window that opened to let in fresh air, but there was no smells of any kind in the room, it was very pleasant! - The only downside was that it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in - there was about 12 inches of space around the bed, you could almost touch the nice flat screen TV at the foot of the bed, with your toe! It had a coffee maker, iron and board, hair dryer and refrigerator, all packed in! I would definitely recommend this, but a large person might have a problem getting into the bathroom and shower.

Room Tip: Food in the coffee shop was ok, but nothing to write home about.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marliroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Was in Whitehorse on a buisness/relaxation trip for four days in September and had booked the hotel over the internet. As always you are unsure of what to expect when doing things that way, however it was everything that was as per the net description. The room was spacious and clean (#436) The shuttle was at the airport right on time and the driver was very nice. The bar/pub has a great atmosphere and good food served by a great staff. Location is a bit futher from downtown than I would have preferred, but quite easily walked. I will stay at this place again when in Whitehorse

Room Tip: higher floors good views
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Coast High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for the kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I arrived late in the evening, staying on a government rate and was given a very small room. It looked to be one of the smallest in the hotel according to the floor plan. It was still very clean and comfortable, but it didn't have a table and I need to do some work on my laptop the second night of my stay. I called the front desk. There were no other rooms available the first night, but they moved me for the second night to a larger room, no questions asked, when I explained my problem. The second room turned out to be a corner kitchenette, but there was no extra charge. It too was very clean and attractive. Although the staff changed, there was no issues will the billing - a note had been made on my file. It was all handled very professionally. The location was great for an evening walk around downtown, and the airport shuttle was free and on time in both directions. (You can make arrangements the night before for a morning pick up.) The beds were comfortable and I didn't have any issues with noise. The bathroom supplies were generic and both rooms had shower stalls instead of tubs. So far, one of my favourite places in downtown Whitehorse, and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: It seems like there is a big variety in room size - if this is important to you, ask when you book.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayakerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

High Country Inn review
For $136 for one night in Whitehorse I was happy with my room with queen size bed. I had Room 318, a corner room with two different views, one of the park by the legislature and the Yukon River. The room included a microwave, fridge, cupboards with a few dishes and utensils, kitchen sink and pull-up table by the window, as well as a desk. The décor is typical of the Yukon – clean and well-kept furnishings but not very new. The hotel is a few blocks from Main Street but just a short walk, and there’s a small grocery store a block away that’s open early and closes late. The airport shuttle calls here if you book it. My only complaint is that the room had no bathtub, just a shower. And I appreciated that, in typical Yukon fashion, the staff seemed unaware of the ten foot rule – no one feels obliged to say hello to every stranger who comes near them on the premises of every business in town.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on second floor right over restaurants.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

1 mth before arrival booked room w/queen bed & kitchenette for 1 wk stay for me & wife. Arrived & no kitchenetes available except rm 305 w/king bed over the bar which upon viewing was loud even with windows closed so took another room. According to staff, rm 214 is 1 of 2 worst rooms in hotel - staying on govt business so this is what they offer at that rate. Other bad one at govt rate is so small it has murphy bed. Windows really high up so couldn't see out & made room very dark, cave-like, 1 night came back from dinner & room smelled like someone had smoked in our room - maybe through adjoining door to other room, which also meant I could even hear their phone messages. Internet did not work well - froze, crashed all week - had to conduct business at coffee shop as Internet worked better there. Bed very comfy. Every room in High Country is different as it used to be a YMCA so be warned & what you book is not what you get,

Room Tip: avoid 214 too close to being over bar, avoid 305 beside elevator & over bar so even noisier than 214 as you actually hear conversations in bar.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews