We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting transfermation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coast High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Haines Junction, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting transfermation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Interesting place alright, wonderful gourmet food, lobby is nice, staff behind desk on the most part friendly but always most helpful!
I walked in and though WHOA, until I got to my room, a jail cell sized room with only a shower stall, how knew no tub? Sure not I anyway!!
I'm sitting on my bed, hours later, it occurs to me! This looks EXACTLY like a modernized, revamped YM or YWCA! I later discovered it actually is and did I laugh as clearly this means the bones of a building can never truly be altered!
Have to say though, they do go out of their way to not make it a YM-YWCA experience anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathtub, if that's your thing, otherwise, it's a very tiny shower stall and medioc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frostbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    132
    74
    22
    11
See reviews for
52
98
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed at the Coast high Country Inn for 3 nights over the Easter weekend with the Air North air+hotel package. The room is well maintained, quiet, clean, and very comfortable. One thing I really like is that It has a microwave in the room, in which most hotels don't have. It allows us to heat up our meals. Basically, the room has everything you need. Staff is very helpful and friendly. They are always there to answer your enquiries. The lobby is clean and spacious with sofas allowing our group to hang around. Parking is free of charge at the hotel. Since it is operated under the Coast group, you can earn aeroplan points too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer3344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Toyota Pickup, AK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

I travel through Whitehorse a couple times a year, and I've managed to stay at least once in most of the downtown hotels. The High Country Inn is easily my favorite. It is the cleanest most professional run of the bunch, with friendly service to boot.

The facilities are in reasonably good shape.. and the furniture, beds, and TV/appliances are up to date. The rooms are on the smaller side, much like all of the other Whitehorse hotels.

All in all, good place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skagway, AK
Level Contributor
157 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We just stayed at the High Country Inn in Whitehorse this weekend. Because it was Rendezvous, every hotel room in town was taken, so we were lucky to find one at HC. We got a great local price - under $90 for a queen. The room had all the amenities, tiny bathroom with shower only. The room had a window that opened to let in fresh air, but there was no smells of any kind in the room, it was very pleasant! - The only downside was that it was the smallest room I have ever stayed in - there was about 12 inches of space around the bed, you could almost touch the nice flat screen TV at the foot of the bed, with your toe! It had a coffee maker, iron and board, hair dryer and refrigerator, all packed in! I would definitely recommend this, but a large person might have a problem getting into the bathroom and shower.

Room Tip: Food in the coffee shop was ok, but nothing to write home about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marliroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Was in Whitehorse on a buisness/relaxation trip for four days in September and had booked the hotel over the internet. As always you are unsure of what to expect when doing things that way, however it was everything that was as per the net description. The room was spacious and clean (#436) The shuttle was at the airport right on time and the driver was very nice. The bar/pub has a great atmosphere and good food served by a great staff. Location is a bit futher from downtown than I would have preferred, but quite easily walked. I will stay at this place again when in Whitehorse

Room Tip: higher floors good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukonhotels, Director of Sales at Coast High Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for the kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I arrived late in the evening, staying on a government rate and was given a very small room. It looked to be one of the smallest in the hotel according to the floor plan. It was still very clean and comfortable, but it didn't have a table and I need to do some work on my laptop the second night of my stay. I called the front desk. There were no other rooms available the first night, but they moved me for the second night to a larger room, no questions asked, when I explained my problem. The second room turned out to be a corner kitchenette, but there was no extra charge. It too was very clean and attractive. Although the staff changed, there was no issues will the billing - a note had been made on my file. It was all handled very professionally. The location was great for an evening walk around downtown, and the airport shuttle was free and on time in both directions. (You can make arrangements the night before for a morning pick up.) The beds were comfortable and I didn't have any issues with noise. The bathroom supplies were generic and both rooms had shower stalls instead of tubs. So far, one of my favourite places in downtown Whitehorse, and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: It seems like there is a big variety in room size - if this is important to you, ask when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayakerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

High Country Inn review
For $136 for one night in Whitehorse I was happy with my room with queen size bed. I had Room 318, a corner room with two different views, one of the park by the legislature and the Yukon River. The room included a microwave, fridge, cupboards with a few dishes and utensils, kitchen sink and pull-up table by the window, as well as a desk. The décor is typical of the Yukon – clean and well-kept furnishings but not very new. The hotel is a few blocks from Main Street but just a short walk, and there’s a small grocery store a block away that’s open early and closes late. The airport shuttle calls here if you book it. My only complaint is that the room had no bathtub, just a shower. And I appreciated that, in typical Yukon fashion, the staff seemed unaware of the ten foot rule – no one feels obliged to say hello to every stranger who comes near them on the premises of every business in town.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on second floor right over restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
16.1 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast High Country Inn

Property: Coast High Country Inn
Address: 4051 4th Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the High Country Inn the centre of your Yukon adventure. Recent renovations including over $1 million spent on updated guest rooms, kitchen, parking and fitness facilities make the High Country the first choice for visitors to the Yukon. Complimentary wireless internet, two restaurants, and a quiet yet convenient location ensure that you have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Whitehorse
Country Inn Whitehorse
Whitehorse Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing