We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This could be so much better”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Like other reviewers, this was not my first choice, but I thought that being part of the Best Western chain would mean that it would be of similar quality. Not so. In my view this is overpriced for what you get. As others have said, this hotel is in serious need of updating. The carpets throughout the hotel for terrible and had wrinkles everywhere, making walking somewhat of an assault course. The room had no aircon, which I didn't know at the time of taking it (I had assumed they all had it). As it was very warm that day I opened the window only to be greeted by the loud noise of the bar downstairs, did not make for a great nights sleep! The bathroom is very small. The room did have a fridge, microwave and coffeemaker and the bed was comfortable enough. I had breakfast in the hotel the following morning and was surprised by the very new and modern look of the restaurant, why can't the rest of the hotel be like this?
In my mind it is very overpriced and would therefore not come here again.

Room Tip: If you come in the summer make sure you ask for a room with aircon and away from the bar/restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneT8988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    145
    77
    24
    12
See reviews for
57
105
37
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dawson City, Yukon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Haven't been to this hotel in a number of years and I have got to say that not much has changed. Yeah they have updated some of the furniture and fixtures but that is putting make-up on an ugly face. They don't have any air conditioners (and yes the weather gets hot enough to warrent it). The first thing I smelt when I walked into the room was this musty, moldy odor. The shower is way too small, and the blow dryer didn't work. This place has the potential to be great. Whitehorse is a beautiful city and tourists from all over the world come and here and I just think the High Country can do better and should do better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efoubister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hotel needs an upgrade but gotta think about the weather conditions most of the year. Price is a bit high for what you get but most hotels where. Free shuttle from the airport is nice. Limited flights into Whitehorse make it better to pick up your rental car if you are leaving the next day. As others have said the carpets need to be replaced. We did not have the trouble with ac as others did. Room was confortable. Tub was a bit big and a regular tub or shower would have been better. Did not advertise free wifi although you could get onto it from your room. With further upgrades this could be a nice hotel. Not right in the middle of town but a short walk to main street

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If it were not identified as a Coast Hotel, I don't think that I would have made note of certain deficiencies. However at $135 +tax per night, I made the following observations:
- wrinkled carpets in the room
- no air conditioning in some rooms
- exposed wiring and piping (nothing unsafe) to the baseboard heaters - looks sloppy
- one unit was quite dated but it had air con. A second unit was modernized but had no air con
I noted that their great outdoor pub was under renovations. Hopefully the same will extend to the rest of the building in due course.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in the summer months, ask for a room with air conditioning otherwise forget ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendle65inBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were just passing through for the night & Best Western down on Main Street didn't have availability left. So this did.. limited parking for vehicles with trailers. Outdated. Overpriced. Crooked floors. Small crank windows. Horrible service in attached pub & fine dining. The fire alarm went off briefly & there was no reason as to why it did. I wouldn't recommend this hotel! Book elsewhere in advance

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGWTAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel twice and would not return. Outside it was 27c and our room had no A C ! The lobby carpeting has more furrows than a farmers field! On our second visit, we had been downgraded ! Until, we raised a minor ruckus...well too bad. ,!enentually , they reduced our rate when the front desk knew I was really irritated. We will never return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lojlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is old and has not been renovated. carpets are all wavy and in a very poor shape, both in the common areas and in the rooms. Most of the rooms have no air conditioning. Washrooms are old and in poor shape. whirlpool bath tubs are not functional and there is no plug in the bath tubs, so forget to take a bath.
When checking in, they forgot the old, dirty towels in the washroom from the previous client.
Very noisy all day and all night, people walking and talking loud in the hallways permanently. Very bad noise insulation on the doors.
Internet, like in most of the hotels in Whitehorse, totally sucks. The speed is acceptable, but it keeps disconnecting every few minutes, and it keeps asking you to push the "accept" button on and on. This makes any attempt to work on the Internet from your room impossible, so if you go to Whitehorse for work, or if you need acceptable Internet connection. Avoid this hotel.
For the big price you pay, they should be providing a super high speed Internet and new carpets and renovated washrooms in every room. It's a rip off!.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albernio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
577 reviews
16.1 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
327 reviews
1.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#9 of 14 in Whitehorse
232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast High Country Inn

Property: Coast High Country Inn
Address: 4051 4th Ave, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the High Country Inn the centre of your Yukon adventure. Recent renovations including over $1 million spent on updated guest rooms, kitchen, parking and fitness facilities make the High Country the first choice for visitors to the Yukon. Complimentary wireless internet, two restaurants, and a quiet yet convenient location ensure that you have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coast High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Whitehorse
Country Inn Whitehorse
Whitehorse Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing