We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As for staying in Whitehorse , this is a nice spot, it has recently become a coastal property,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Wonderful people working here, always helpful. And I have seen the aurora borealis form my window in Sept of 2012! Nice restaurants inside and just several blocks from a beautiful walk along the Yukon River. Great dining, wonderful beds! Clean and welcoming, and we travel with a large dog that is welcomed also!

Room Tip: My friend just wants a room with a window that opens, I prefer the AC.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigmarole57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Coast High Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

Based on the other reviews here, it sounds like we got lucky. We arrived earlier than check-in time, so they found us a room already cleaned. It seems it was an upgrade from what we had, but at the same rate. This was the best room we've ever had in our lives, and we have traveled a lot. We overlooked the wrinkled hall carpets and no A/C. We found that most of the rooms on our Canadian trip had no A/C. This room had a king bed, a couch, a jacuzzi and nice-sized bathroom. We were very happy with it and the desk clerk from Germany who checked us in. There was a laundry just down the hall, which we used. We wished we could have stayed another night!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Seahorse825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Like other reviewers, this was not my first choice, but I thought that being part of the Best Western chain would mean that it would be of similar quality. Not so. In my view this is overpriced for what you get. As others have said, this hotel is in serious need of updating. The carpets throughout the hotel for terrible and had wrinkles everywhere, making walking somewhat of an assault course. The room had no aircon, which I didn't know at the time of taking it (I had assumed they all had it). As it was very warm that day I opened the window only to be greeted by the loud noise of the bar downstairs, did not make for a great nights sleep! The bathroom is very small. The room did have a fridge, microwave and coffeemaker and the bed was comfortable enough. I had breakfast in the hotel the following morning and was surprised by the very new and modern look of the restaurant, why can't the rest of the hotel be like this?
In my mind it is very overpriced and would therefore not come here again.

Room Tip: If you come in the summer make sure you ask for a room with aircon and away from the bar/restaurant.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneT8988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Haven't been to this hotel in a number of years and I have got to say that not much has changed. Yeah they have updated some of the furniture and fixtures but that is putting make-up on an ugly face. They don't have any air conditioners (and yes the weather gets hot enough to warrent it). The first thing I smelt when I walked into the room was this musty, moldy odor. The shower is way too small, and the blow dryer didn't work. This place has the potential to be great. Whitehorse is a beautiful city and tourists from all over the world come and here and I just think the High Country can do better and should do better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank efoubister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hotel needs an upgrade but gotta think about the weather conditions most of the year. Price is a bit high for what you get but most hotels where. Free shuttle from the airport is nice. Limited flights into Whitehorse make it better to pick up your rental car if you are leaving the next day. As others have said the carpets need to be replaced. We did not have the trouble with ac as others did. Room was confortable. Tub was a bit big and a regular tub or shower would have been better. Did not advertise free wifi although you could get onto it from your room. With further upgrades this could be a nice hotel. Not right in the middle of town but a short walk to main street

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If it were not identified as a Coast Hotel, I don't think that I would have made note of certain deficiencies. However at $135 +tax per night, I made the following observations:
- wrinkled carpets in the room
- no air conditioning in some rooms
- exposed wiring and piping (nothing unsafe) to the baseboard heaters - looks sloppy
- one unit was quite dated but it had air con. A second unit was modernized but had no air con
I noted that their great outdoor pub was under renovations. Hopefully the same will extend to the rest of the building in due course.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in the summer months, ask for a room with air conditioning otherwise forget ab...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendle65inBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were just passing through for the night & Best Western down on Main Street didn't have availability left. So this did.. limited parking for vehicles with trailers. Outdated. Overpriced. Crooked floors. Small crank windows. Horrible service in attached pub & fine dining. The fire alarm went off briefly & there was no reason as to why it did. I wouldn't recommend this hotel! Book elsewhere in advance

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGWTAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast High Country Inn

Address: 4051 4th Ave, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range: £83 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the High Country Inn the centre of your Yukon adventure. Recent renovations including over $1 million spent on updated guest rooms, kitchen, parking and fitness facilities make the High Country the first choice for visitors to the Yukon. Complimentary wireless internet, two restaurants, and a quiet yet convenient location ensure that you have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coast High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Whitehorse
Country Inn Whitehorse
Whitehorse Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing