We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
Ottawa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Spent 3 nights at the High Country. Large functional room, good wifi, good breakfast. Very, very helpful staff during a very crowded period. Very much appreciated them. Nice pub/restaurant with good food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GT800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    131
    73
    22
    11
See reviews for
49
97
31
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Decent place and well located. The rooms are clean. The hotel is in need of refresh of paint and decor and of new carpets. It is reminiscent of motels in the south.

Staff are very pleasant and helpful.
The breakfast was good and reasonably priced.

This is a good quality price ratio for Whitehorse.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I was in Whitehorse for two nights on a business trip. I had no problems at all with this Coast property - it was clean, quiet and the bed offered excellent sleep quality. Other reviews have mentioned the very small rooms. As a Gold Coast rewards member I was offered a free upgrade to a larger room with jacuzzi, which I used to good effect. The hotel is a little bit of a walk from Main St. and the downtown area - about 10-15 min, which is fine in good weather but something to keep in mind during a blizzard in middle of winter if you have to walk downtown.

Room Tip: If you are a gold or platinum Coast rewards member, request an upgrade to a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diefladermaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very nice room, good restaurant with a great bed and TV! I had a suite with everything I needed. Clean and very functional. friendly staff and an enjoyable stay!
I really enjoyed my four days. I had several meals and was impressed every time with "Morels".
desk staff were awesome to work with, super friendly and professional.
The bed was phenomenal!

Room Tip: Get the suite it'll make your stay memorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rouge_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I spent 4 nights at this hotel and was very happy with my stay. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean snd cosy while thr food and service at the restaurant were great. I will stay at thi hotel anytime again if m for table

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Standard room I had was quite small and a little run down. Bathroom is has only a shower, which is fine, but it was cramped. Amenities in the bathroom seemed to be the cheapest possible, things like toilet paper, tissue, soap and shampoo. Room had no desk and no iron or ironing board when I arrived, although cleaning staff brought me an iron & board when I asked. Room seems to have no heat/cool control - there is a themostat, but it didn't seem to do anything. The only way to cool the room is to open the window. Hotel restaurant for lunch is quite good, but limited menu. Staff were courteous and helpful.

Hotel is near the river and the Kondike riverboat (National Historic site), but a distance from most other hotels and restaurants. This is not a huge problem as you can walk from one end of town to the other in 30-40 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was attending meetings with a group and booked my room myself and was surprised that my room was like a "closet" and old .I inquired and was changed to another room (after 2 nights) and for the remainder of my stay (3 more nights) I had a beautifully large modern room with hot tub,king size bed,lots of furniture ,etc. It was like two different hotels --unbelievable ! A few others in my group had similar experience --not sure why they would even book out these "closets" which were at the same group rate as the modern large rooms .
The front desk staff were excellent as were all of the staff ! Dining room and pub were great --the pub food excellent and reasonably priced. Everyone was friendly and helpful . I would stay again in one of the renovated larger rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of newly renovated modern larger rooms and not the "closets".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianReview155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 13 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#8 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#11 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast High Country Inn

Property: Coast High Country Inn
Address: 4051 4th Avenue, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the High Country Inn the centre of your Yukon adventure. Recent renovations including over $1 million spent on updated guest rooms, kitchen, parking and fitness facilities make the High Country the first choice for visitors to the Yukon. Complimentary wireless internet, two restaurants, and a quiet yet convenient location ensure that you have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Coast High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Whitehorse
Country Inn Whitehorse
Whitehorse Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing