We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Things got better............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast High Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Warrington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Things got better............”
Reviewed 15 July 2007

Arrived at the Highcountry Inn at 02.30am after travelling for almost 24 hours. The staff were very helpful, but over the next 2 weeks touring the Yukon and Alaska we found that everyone is so helpful and nice. (being English I'm naturally suspicious of people being nice...!!!!!)
We stayed on our first and last night of our trip and found the rooms small and a bit old fashioned, the bathroom was tiny!
We ate in the hotel restaurant, which was ok, I'd recommend a walk into town for something a bit better.
Later on in our road trip we stayed in Westmark hotels, they are in a different league, if i were to return to Whitehorse (which i will its an amazing base for touring an amazing country) I will definately stay at the Westmark.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank scrapyardnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    138
    74
    22
    11
See reviews for
52
99
35
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2006

Stayed at the High Country Inn (October 6-9, 2006) as our choice on an Air North special. The Hotel was clean and in a quiet part of town, not that Whitehorse is very big. We did have an extremely noisy room that was on the 4 floor over the restaurant/bar that has been developed out of a tent - yes, a tent with doors that has become a permanent structure. Because of our room location and the noise transference from the bar - it was a very noisy weekend. If you choose this hotel - ask for a room far away from the front of the hotel.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — noisy room
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for a back room
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller2561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2006

Stayed at this hotel in July 2006. Given one of the kitchenette units, which was handy. Hotel could use a bit of upgrading but overall it was clean and comfortable. Location is right in downtown Whitehorse, and the hotel provides a shuttle to the airport. The restaurant is quite good, and the lobby is comfortable to hang out in. Staff were friendly. The hallways and our room smelled a bit like smoke, even though these were non-smoking areas. There is no air conditioning so when it's hot, it's hot. Would recommend this hotel but not for a long stay.

  • Liked — Friendly and cozy.
  • Disliked — Hotel needs some upgrading.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2005

We stayed here in September 2005 because it is the approved hotel for the business I work for. Some of the rooms are nice; spacious and updated. Others, like the "standard room" we were in the first night are not so nice. The standard room was extremely small (think hostel), the bathroom did not have tub and the only window was tiny as well - and everything seemed to be original fixtures. The whole hotel including rooms appear to be clean. We did have a large cigarette hole burn in the quilt both nights, the staff at the front desk didn't seem concerned, even though these are supposed to be non-smoking rooms. We upgraded ourselves to a room with a two person jacuzzi tub and king size bed our last night - it was an extra $40 but worth it - a lot more room, and much nicer to be in - the tub itself was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank strattc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2005

This hotel was okay, nothing special. Room was clean enough, but a little cramped. There was some mold in the bathtub, it looked worse than it probably was. The reception staff was neither friendly nor unfriendly -- they were just so-so.
The restaurant on the premise, where I had breakfast was passable. The waitress was unfriendly and I had to ask another waitress just for another cup of coffee. The food was alright, not really tasty.

On the upside of things, there is a free internet cafe and free bus shuttle service to and from Whitehorse airport. Hotel is nicely located on the west part of the town. That was convenient.

I guess the real downside of this hotel was that its staff did not make the visitor feel welcome. They were so indifferent and bored in their jobs, as it appeared to me.

Would I stay here again? I would shop around somewhat to get a better deal. Failing that, I probably would return. It is not a bad hotel, it is acceptable, but nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HumnaHumna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
135 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2005

I've give this an "average" rating, but only when compared to southern Canada standards. I suspect this is one of Whitehorse's better hotels.

A shower stall, no tub. Newer carpet. Small room - oops, cozy - but included a kitchenette. A large bar fridge, 2 burners, a microwave, toaster, sink, and some dishes/utensils.

Great view of mountains. Convenient location - just 2 blocks to the Yukon river, a historic steamship, and a walking trail. Perhaps 5 blocks to "downtown".

Restaurants onsite were convenient. There's a room with 1 computer - free internet access (24 hrs). A fitness room was better than I expected. You can get a pass to a fitness centre, but's across town. Free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ABtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 April 2003

My family and I stayed two nights in one of the rooms with a hot tub and it was great. The place is clean, the staff is friendly and with a resturant/bar on the first level. We enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
16.1 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#10 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast High Country Inn

Property: Coast High Country Inn
Address: 4051 4th Ave, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the High Country Inn the centre of your Yukon adventure. Recent renovations including over $1 million spent on updated guest rooms, kitchen, parking and fitness facilities make the High Country the first choice for visitors to the Yukon. Complimentary wireless internet, two restaurants, and a quiet yet convenient location ensure that you have all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Whitehorse
Country Inn Whitehorse
Whitehorse Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing