We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky High Wilderness Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehorse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sky High Wilderness Ranch
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We recently took a full day dog sledding tour with Sky High and had a wonderful time! The location was a bit out of town but the views and trails more than made up for the drive. We each got our own 4-dog team and leaned how to harness then before we set off into the mountains and over the frozen lakes. Lunch included a camp fire out on a frozen lake with cookies, sandwiches, and hot tea. The guide was great and very helpful, and the dogs were awesome as well. Not to mention the adorable puppies! Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelbraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
27
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our week long dog sledding at Skyhigh was fantastic. What a great way to start the Christmas holidays. Many thanks to everyone at Skyhigh and especially to Tyrel our guide, cook, and maker of excellent coffee. Our stay was made complete with some excellent companions, both K9 and human. Our teams of Alaskian Huskies were good fun and hard workers. They are very people friendly and exude enthusiasm. Our favourites in our two teams were "Morning" and "Gomer". Tyrel lead our small group to some great locations with special mention of Bonneyville Lakes and the "Wall Tent" camp near Mt Ibex. Our first few days were cold (-30C) but we never gave the temperature a second thought with Skyhigh's hire clothing, Tyrel's hearty meals. More dog sledding is high on our wish list for the future. Happy New Year to all our new friends from our Skyhigh adventure.
Jane and Les from Brisbane, Australia

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I would love to own a cabin like this!! Rustic appeal with propane lights/stove/fridge and oil lanterns. Wood stove provides amazing heat and ambiance. Breath-taking view of the lake and mountains and the cabin has lots of windows to take advantage of the scenery. Board games provide entertainment when you're trying to stay awake to watch the northern lights. Can't wait to go back! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Highly recommended by our Whitehorse host Andrew, from Sun Dog retreat, we spent a wonderful day learning to harness the dogs, how to dogsled, experiencing the tracks through the snow, crossing the frozen lake, having smokies on the fire and generally having an awesome time. Steve, our guide, was fantastic. While it was hard work, both my husband and I had the best time and can't wait to go back and do it again one day. Special thanks to Jocelyn for her generously in allowing us to snow shoe the day before. Great country folks, offering a wonderful experience and great value for money. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalientInt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We did a 3 hours trail rides. The horses are great, gentle and easy to handle. All of us are inexperience riders. The scenery were breathtaking. Overall is an excellent experience. We had one guide in the front and one guide in the back. The reason we only give four stars is because there is not much guiding and one of the guide does not even talk to us. One of us interested to trot but she was not allow to do on the trail.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixel_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I had a wondeful time with the folks of Sky High Wilderness Ranch. From the moment of pick up to the goodbye of drop off it was a wonderful way to spend a half day.

We learnt a little about the history of the place from Trudy on the drive up and got a sense of the connection that the team feel to the Ranch.

We arrived to find Jocelyne's wee one, snug as a bug, sleeping on the front porch. As a girl from warmer climes this was diverting. But she was warm and cosy and she's going to be just fine in the cold winters of the Yukon as she grows up.

We set out with Valerie after some instructions and introductions to our dog teams. It was a spectacular few hours - and the dogs seemed to love it as much as we did. Valerie was careful of us all, including lending me "super" mittens to better warm my fingers.

Our arrival back home was fun as we had a bit of toddler time, I got to flick through the cookbooks, and we had warm conversations with the Sky High team. Our journey down mountain was a continuation of the great experience - a spirited conversation on all things of the universe.

I loved the energy that the crew brought to the experience, thank you Team Sky High!

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineL147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Big thank you to Jocelyn and Gary who made my dog sledding trip unforgettable! Everything was just perfect. I really enjoyed the half day tour across Fish Lake and the stunning views. Jocelyn is an awesome guide! She didn't go too fast and she stopped several times to make sure that everyone (including the dogs) was ok. We also had enough time to take photos and to enjoy the beautiful scenery. Another highlight was playing with the puppies of course. I've done many tours and activities but with Skyhigh I never had the feeling that I was just "another tourist" or one of many tours per day. It was very personal. I really liked the peaceful, quiet atmosphere at the Ranch. Thanks again, guys!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
1.3 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
14.6 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 13 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 13 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 13 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.5 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
10.3 mi away
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
#1 of 19 in Whitehorse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky High Wilderness Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky High Wilderness Ranch

Property: Sky High Wilderness Ranch
Address: Km 16 Fish Lake Road | 48 Hart Crescent, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 4R4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky High is a wilderness Ranch just 30 min from Whitehorse. We offer cozy wood heated authentic cabins & lodge in a beautiful wilderness setting. Horse back & dog sled adventure tours from one hour to multi day. Check out our new 10 day back country pack trip - won 20 top best trips in explore magazine May 2011 issue. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sky High Wilderness Ranch Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing