We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volare Restaurant - CLOSED

Volare Restaurant
Price range: US$13 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant on several special occasions. The food is great especially the lamb which is great value for the price. The veggies are always interesting and tasty, instead of the non-descript add-ons you sometimes get in other restaurants. The price is on the high end of the local scale but it's worth it. Service is usually great, and I've only had one instance when the server was inattentive ( must have been the 2 guys at the bar taking away her attention). If someone invites you to the Volare, say yes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Deserves its place as a top restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Ate there twice recently. The portions are more than what we are used to but the blending of tastes was superb. The first night we had catch of the day halibut with more vegetables rather than rice or potatoes and escargots to begin. The escargots were very nicely prepared in mushroom caps with more cheese than we had seen before. Very nice. There were 5 types of vegetables, carrots, parsnips, beets, snow peas and a grilled cob of corn. The second time we had the ribs and rack of lamb which were both beautifully done. The ribs were mango crusted; again an interesting combination of tastes. The vegetables were the same 5 as previously. We did find that in general the portions in the local restaurants were very generous.
The restaurant is moving downtown on June 1. We are not sure what its new name will be but with chef and staff moving hopefully it will continue to be an excellent choice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RMHBJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Dropping in on old friend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Last Sunday I needed a good meal after a stressful day so made a reservation and drove up to Volare, I had great onion soup, very good tenderloin and a half liter of a surprisingly Chilean cabernet sauvignon. Service was very good and I was glad to see that the restaurant had not lost its edge.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YukonStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and nice atmoshere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

The food and service were outstanding. Highly recommended for a high quality dining experience. It si not something you do all the time. it is expensive but for special times it is well worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great food, small table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The restaurant is great. While the menu has not seen alot of change over the years, the specials are amazing! Watch them on facebook as they post the nightly specials which makes my mouth water each night. The addition of live music is a great touch ....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Volare Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing