We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the Yukon”

Yukon Wildlife Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.09*
and up
Arctic Day: Yukon Wildlife and Hot Springs Tour
Ranked #3 of 58 things to do in Whitehorse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Yukon Wildlife Preserve is a unique wildlife viewing property featuring 12+ species of northern Canadian mammals in their natural environment. Encompassing over 700 acres with various natural habitats, the Yukon Wildlife Preserve offers unparalleled wildlife viewing and photo opportunities. Wildlife species are spread out around a 5km loop suitable for walking, biking and skiing (in winter). During the summer months, daily 1 1/2 hour bus tours leave at 10am, 12noon, 2pm and 4pm. In the winter months bus tours leave at 12noon and 2pm, Friday - Sunday.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bloomington, IN
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the Yukon”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This wonderful preserve is a great way to familiarize yourself with the animals of the Yukon. The bus tour is worth the cost for the instructions provided by the guide and the ability to ask questions. Extremely informative, educational, and interesting site to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Weyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    172
    33
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff, Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This isn't a zoo full of sad little animals in cages, animals here have wonderful wide open space, natural features as well as habitat improvements. The sheep and goats have real natural rock outcrops that appear to be quite high for them to roam on. They seem to have a world class veterinary facility as well.

The animals are all healthy and amazing. This is pretty close to being worth a trip to the Yukon just for this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank qzwxecrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were advised to arrive early by our car before the bus tours arrived. We assumed this was a walking tour for everyone, so were astonished and somewhat annoyed to find that whilst we walked around (which suited us fine as we could stop for photos when we wanted), large coaches were constantly going along the paths and we kept having to get out of their way. Not sure why they were not made to walk too. We were however very impressed with the laid out of the refuge and the conditions for the animals, and how huge and natural their enclosures were.
Many animals tend to seek shade or shelter when it gets hot, so our advice to visit early was a good one. It takes quite a long time to walk around - we allocated 2 hours and needed more time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Max08Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

No need to take a bus, get some exercise and walk the preserve. You can spend more time and see more. It is a little pricey compared to the one outside of Anchorage but it goes to a good cause.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pakrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds. Suffolk. England
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Loved this place !!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I had a really lovely 3 hours here. I would recommend taking a pack up and walking round the preserve. It's well laid out, easy to walk round just under 3 miles, of beautiful scenery and animals in a fantastic environment.. Yes you don't get to see all the species unless you are very lucky, as they have big natural enclosures which mean they can hide up from visitors if they want !!!! The only animal I didn't see was the moose.
I loved just sitting watching them, even saw a Bison do a dust roll.
Recommend this for all ages.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yukon Wildlife Preserve also viewed

 
Whitehorse, Yukon
 

Been to Yukon Wildlife Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing