We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently very good!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wolf"s Den Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 109 Restaurants in Whitehorse
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Yukon Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently very good!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Friends, family and I eat here quite often. The owners and staff are attentive, nice and helpful. The fancy salad with pickled vegetables is a must have for us. The log home atmosphere is very Yukon and the food appealingly European. I haven't tried the fondue as yet, but it's next on my list.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Storlukken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Left a bad taste”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Maybe it’s because we arrived late and they were looking forward to closing early, but we got the distinct feeling that we were not welcome. I was asked tersely to close the door behind myself before we were seated in the empty dining room. We had read some decent reviews on Tripadvisor and the website boasted of food made from scratch so we were willing to forgive some less than warm service. Here’s what went wrong:

-Our server, probably the owner, told us the salad dressing was homemade. It tasted like Kraft and from our position we could see into the kitchen which had a nice line up of Kraft dressing bottles. Salad was the best thing about the meal sadly. Why go out of your way to stress homemade? Adding seasoning to store bought dressing does not count.

-We could hear the beeping and slamming of the microwave , so much for made to order. We did see the chef pounding the schnitzel out though.

-Spaetzle was burnt and hard and had a long dog hair in it

-My pasta was bland and tasted exactly like salsa mixed with tomato sauce. Made from scratch eh?

-Only love was not in the food but in the form of the owners necking in the kitchen. Good to see the love is still alive, too bad it’s not in the food.

Bottom line: the dishonesty about the food left a bad taste in our mouths. Why lie about it?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Nice break from typical food”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Chef/Owner is very friendly and active with his customers. You will see locals and tourists here as it has a consistent reputation. Prices are inline with many restaurants in the Whitehorse area and if you're looking for some local beers and authentic Swiss food I would recommend you give them a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta
1 review
“Will always go back”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were up in the Yukon and stayed at Marsh Lake. My father has heard that the Wolfs Den was recommended, so we stopped in on our way back to Whitehorse before we had to fly back to Vancouver. The restaurant was beautiful with a warp around deck. I ordered the bison rib eye steak, garlic bread and greek salad - European style (amazing flavors). The steak was cooked perfectly and the steak was huge, potatoes and vegetable (mixed variety) were cooked perfectly and the sauce on the veggies was amazing. My friend ordered the Pork Chop lunch and it was also cooked perfectly. PRICE is very reasonable considering the freshness of the ingredients and care taken in preparation....

The chef is friendly, the atmosphere relaxed. If you have to wait a bit for service please do remember you are in Yukon and Yvonne is a perfectionist when it comes to putting our her dishes.

We are hoping to go next July and will pop in again as we wanted to try more dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lori m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had dinner here because of a recommendation from a neighbouring business. It was a good tip. Our dinners were better than expected, the service was friendly and the room had an appealing, congenial atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wolf"s Den Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Wolf"s Den Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing