We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUKON MAGIC!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maces Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUKON MAGIC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is definitely where you want to make home base during your Whitehorse adventure. We came, as most folks do, hoping for the Northern Lights to show themselves to us. After meeting Wolfgang and Renate we soon realized that THEY are the true gem and that the lights would just be an added bonus. It's hard to say what makes them so special. Was it that they were willing to change their schedule around to accommodate the massages we wanted? Was it that the food is like eating in a five star restaurant that offers seconds??! Is it the perfection of the cabins nestled in the breath taking surroundings? Is it that Wolfgang can pretty much predict to the hour when the Aurora will present itself? I'll tell you what it is. It's love. These two love what they are doing and it is palpable in everything. You can see it in their smiles. taste it the food and simply feel it all around you. You just know there is something magical going on here. Do yourself a favor and go experience it for yourself.

The Aurora did indeed dance for us, but the real show was Wolfgang and Renate.

ZAUBEREI!!!!

Stacie Field and Jamie Jack

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegsLaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Stacie and Jamie, thank you so much for the wonderful review, but it has nothing to do with "Zauberei" ! The amazing guests we always have like you both are making it so easy for us. It is just fun and we are enjoying what we are doing so much. And best of all: finding new friends from all over the world is rewarding our work so much. Take care, Renate and Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
263
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Northern Lights Resort and Spa is the perfect place in the Yukon to view the northern lights! The cabins are beautifully appointed with north facing windows and front porch so you can wait for the lights in the comfort and warmth inside, or bundled up on the porch. The hosts, Renate and Wolfgang, are a treat themselves. Always helpful, polite, and funny! Renate is a wonderful cook. The grape souffle was perfect, excellent salmon with hollendaise, great soups... not even a hint of a complaint in the food department (or elsewhere). Breakfast with Wolfgang was a delight as well. The cabins are equipped with a full kitchen so if you have very specific likes/dislikes that cannot be accommodated you always have that option. One of the first things you are asked is if you have specific dislikes and Renate will avoid them as all meals are freshly made. Showshoes are provided if you want to tour the landscape in the winter. There is a hot tub outside and two saunas in the main house which we did not use. Whether you are lucky enough to see the lights or not, the setting is breathtaking.

Room Tip: Three cabins and one room inside the main house. All of the cabins are equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibemarkv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Lizz & Mark, thank you so much for this wonderful review. Hope you both are doing well, has spring already arrived in Denver? We have still a lot of snow but beautiful sunny days and clear nights with colourful Auroras. Hope to see you again somedays ! Take care, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a magical time at the Northern Lights Resort and Spa, a vacation we won't soon forget. The food was superb and the hosts are kind & helpful in all regards. We were lucky enough to see the northern lights on our last day but even if you don't see the lights it's a wonderful place to stay and explore. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The Cabins are by far the best choice for where to stay and worth the extra $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coreetull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hi Coree & Kathryn, thank you very much for the lovely review. We are happy that we could help making your Yukon vacation "magical". You were wonderful guests and we hope to see you soon again, maybe in summer. Take care, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have just returned from our Yukon adventure & are still glowing from the time we had at Northern Lights Resort & Spa. Wolfgang & Renata are amazing hosts & truly want to make your stay with them a five star delight. From the coffee that Wolfgang serves in the morning to the dinners Renata prepares for the evening meal , the cabins that have been lovingly built, to the natural Yukon surroundings, one wants to stay forever. It was hard to leave & say goodbye to two delightful & hard working hosts. We will never forget them or the Yukon experience of the Northern Lights, dog sledding, blue skies, & sparkling snow. We will return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Coffee is ready, Carole ! And snowshoes are waiting for Horst ! Hope you both are doing well, thank you so much for the wonderful review and we can't wait to see you again in 2 years ! But maybe we will be in your area earlier and will for sure come in. All the Best, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Our family just got back from Whitehorse after staying 3 nights at the resort. We took over the 3 separate cabins which have tremendous views into the forests and mountains. Our hosts, Wolfgang and Renata, were excellent in everything they did and prepared for us. The property is so well kept that it would look like a team work there to maintain it, but instead Wolfgang and Renata did most of the work. Meals were delicious and food was fresh and healthy. We even got to learn the trick of how to properly crack our eggs using the amazing egg-we cracking device that Wolfgang has completely mastered it. We loved our rooms and also the common area was very spacious, welcoming, and comfortable. I also tried hot stone massage with Renata and having it done the day after my dogsledding activity was just the perfect treatment I needed. If we go back to Whitehorse in the future, we will definitely stay here again. And our family being from large urban cities was able to settle in right away. Everything there exceeded our expectations and we enjoyed every minute we spent there. We have no reservation in recommending Northern Lights Resort & Spa to all our friends and relatives who are planning to take a trip there. Danke schon Wolfgang & Renata! (P.S. So.... any sighting of northern lights after we left on Monday?)

Room Tip: If you want more privacy and able to spot the aurora activities within a warm environment, pick one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyZhoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hi Cissy, thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a great pleasure to host your family at our Resort, we had a wonderful time. Please say hello to your parents, Wendy, Betsy & Ronnie. All the Best, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I will always hold this resort, managed by Wolfgang and Renata, as my benchmark for how well a stay can be made. Everything about this resort is simply superb. The hosts were warm, gracious, and very knowledgeable. (Wolfgang helped us immensely to see the Aurora Borealis on our 2nd night. He called the exact time they were likely to be visible.) Renata was an excellent chef. There are three cabins and accommodations in the main lodge. It is ready for up to 11 people but works best with 7-8. Being able to step outside of my cabin with a clear view to the north and no obstructions made it very comfortable and convenient to withness the Aurora.

Book early because this has already acquried a sold reputation and has bookings a year in advance. February and March are good months to view the Aurora.

Room Tip: Every cabin has an unobstructed view to the north. The field in front of the cabins has been cleared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P38baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Daniel, thank you so much for staying with us and the wonderful review. We are glad you got to see the Northern Lights and had a great time at our place. It was a great pleasure to be your hosts and we hope to see you coming back somedays to the Yukon! All the Best, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

After reading all of the wonderful reviews of the Northern Lights Resort & Spa, you might think it all sounds too good to be true. Having spent three amazing nights there, I find myself struggling to find words that can do justice to the above and beyond experience that we had. It is hard to put your finger on what makes this place so special. I think it is the combination of the absolutely breathtaking views from the lodge, grounds and cabins, the amazing accommodations and meals, and especially the way Wolfgang and Renate (the owners) have injected their charm and joy for life in every detail of the property and care/concern for their guests. You have to experience it to truly understand. This place is magical and a perfect place to view the Northern Lights. If you are going to Whitehorse, you would be crazy not to stay here. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmmaier88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Dorri, Lisa & Elaine, Thank you so much for your wonderful reviews, we spent an amazing time together. There is nothing that can make us more happy than knowing our guests had a wonderful time with us and that we have made new friends. We are looking forward to see you again sometimes in the Yukon or in Georgia and Florida. All the Best, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
25.9 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
11.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
17.6 mi away
Inn On The Lake
Inn On The Lake
#3 of 19 in Whitehorse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Resort & Spa

Property: Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Address: Lot 1178 Gentian Lane | PO Box 11028, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A6L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Lights Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by forests, fields and mountain ranges, this stunning purpose-built property could be your home away from home. Northern Lights Resort & SPA is more than a B&B, it is an escape from the hustle and bustle and demands of 21st century living without compromising on the comfort. Come out for a visit and get lost in your dreams. We are perfectly located just 25 Kilometers south of Whitehorse, a little piece of paradise with spa / wellness area featuring a finish sauna, infrared sauna, outdoor Jacuzzi, gym room and massage treatments. We offer B&B accommodation and Resort style "All-Inclusive" Summer and Winter Packages with activities, healthy European style food and free Wi-Fi. Your perfect Yukon location for Northern Lights viewing with style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Northern Lights Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Resort & Spa Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing