We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovey stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 28 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovey stay”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed just 2 nights in March 2014. This resort comes highly recommended by everyone. Wolfgang and Renate are the reason this is so good. They love being the hosts and are friendly, knowledgeable and hospitable. The food was great. We dined in the main area and were blessed with good company.The resort is serene and comfortable. The spa was surreal in the middle of the snow. Wolfgang booked a dog sledding tour for us and this was the highlight of our Yukon trip. We would recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Whitehorse whether you just want to chill out or be more adventurous.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermitage123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
69
266
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful and unforgettable 3 nights with Wolfgang and Renate in the Enzien Chalet at the Northern Lights Resort & Spa just outside of the Whitehorse city limits in the Yukon.

The service was impeccable. Wolfgang is very responsive to emails and very accommodating with planning our trip and any special needs, like dietary restrictions. Wolfgang and Renate are both extremely warm and friendly, we felt like they had opened their home and hearts to us and treated us like family.

The Enzien chalet was cute, functional, and perfect. A small but full kitchen met all of our needs. The queen size bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and we had all the hot water we needed. Between the radiators and fireplace, we were warm! It didn't even feel like a cabin/chalet, we really felt like we were at the Four Seasons!

Compared to the other chalets, the Enzien seemed to be located best to view the Aurora Borealis from the front porch. The other guests were somewhat crowding around our porch to get a good view and a place to sit.

The grounds are gorgeous -- there are 160 acres to explore with the rented snowshoes!

We made use of the hot tub every day and evening, it was fabulous! We did not take advantage of the exercise equipment, saunas, or massage/spa services.

This felt like an all-inclusive resort as breakfast was included and lunch and dinner could also be provided if ordered in advance. Wolfgang also took care of renting us snow gear (touque, snow pants, snow jacket, warm gloves, and snow boots) and arranged for a snowmobiling tour. Additionally, Wolfgang met us at the airport (this was the first time we had a "driver" holding our names on a sign as we entered the airport!) and stopped at the grocery store (for snacks since we had a full kitchen) and the liquor store on our way to the resort.

Due note that if you buy some wine and have dinner provided by the Bublitz' in the main house, you will not be able to bring your own wine since they are licensed. You can order wine by the glass or bottle during dinner.

Yes, we saw the Aurora Borealis 2 nights out of 3 -- the second night we were unlucky due to cloudy weather. It was the first weekend of April 2014 and the lights were still going strong, although we were told that the Aurora was much more active in February. Nonetheless, we were still happy to have caught them -- even though we were up between 12 midnight and 4am for the full show!

One thing that we didn't realize until we started to see the lights -- the camera captures the lights much more strikingly than our eyes are capable of. You can still see them with your eyes when they are strong, but otherwise it's easy to mistaken the lights for clouds. We used a Canon T3 Rebel and Wolfgang lent us his tripod.

I would strongly recommend this resort as a base to explore the Yukon and to view the Aurora Borealis, we had a fantastic experience and hope that we can return one day soon.

Room Tip: Enzien Chalet offers the best view of the Aurora from the front porch without any obstruction of rai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed staying in this hotel. Location was perfect to see the northern lights because there were no lights and no buildings, just beautiful snow field and mountains were the only things we can see from our window. Each room is separated chalet style so we had completely privacy. We could see the beautiful northern lights even in the room! It was -4F(-20C) outside at night so it saved my life literally!! I hated going and wait for the northern lights somewhere outside in the middle of nowhere at freezing cold midnight, that's why I chose this hotel! During our stay, we chose all inclusive package which included ice fishing, snow shoe tour, dog sledding, spa and of course breakfast and dinner.The owner Wolfgang and Renate arranged them for us every day. I was worried before arrival because it is located far from downtown so I was wondering if we might get bored but it fell short of my expectations completely.Every activity was really fun and night came so early so that we had no time to get bored and also no time to sleep well! They served us amazing dinner and breakfast every day. We really enjoyed all the things we did there! Thank you Wolgang and Renate:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegNoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

When we planned our "Bucket List" experience, we had know idea what to expect. Our hopes were high, and our thoughts were positive that we would be blessed with a show of lights. We were very pleasantly surprised to find that we were able to view our dramatic displays of color right in front of our cabin, or venture out into the snow. The experience of being surrounded by "dancing lights" in the darkness of the night, was incredibly peaceful and unforgettable. Our days were spent dog-sledding and snow-shoeing...great time and beautiful scenery. But that's not all !!! Our hosts, Wolfgang and Renate, have a special place in our hearts. Wolfgang shared his knowledge of photography, and Renate treated us to special spa treatments. Together, they created family style gourmet menus, with humorous touches involved. Breakfast at their table involved an "Eierschalensollbruchstellenverursacher" ...I won't give it away...you have to go to find out what that is :)
Thanks again...until next time,
Bonnie and Dwight

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NL4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival, we were awed by the gorgeous setting, cabins, snow, and trees. When we saw our cabin, I thought 98/100. 1 point for no bathtub and 1 point for the twin beds pushed together (if tall, they are a little short). After a soak in the hot tub, I said 99/100. We booked late and took the 2 nights they had available. We would stay again in a heartbeat. The setting, the privacy, the view, the hosts, all amazing!!! The second night, we saw the northern lights! They were beautiful. Also, Wolfgang helped us book a dogsledding adventure that was perfect for us, based on our interests. He had photography advice and answered our many questions. During the lights, my husband and I were in front of our cabin. If we got cold, we could go inside. I even climbed back in bed at one point, until my husband woke me up as the lights changed. So convenient! There is a large open area in front of the cabins, facing the northern lights.
You know it is on your bucket list so do it! We are so glad we did!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G_K09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi Karyn and Greg, thank you very much for the wonderful review. Hope you are having a good time at the other time of town and Greg gets all the pictures he was looking for. It was a pleasure to give him some tips about taking shots from the Aurora, but he did not really need my advice. Thank you so much for staying with us, it was a pleasure being your hosts and we had a wonderful time together. Hope to see you soon again. Take care, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

When you plan a trip to see the Northern Lights, the sky is only a small part of the whole experience. There might be better places to see the lights, but there's no better place to see the North. This is simply the best resort & spa we've ever visited. From the beautiful cabin (with north facing window to see the lights) to the delicious meals to the spa and outdoor jacuzzi and gorgeous walking trails, the Northern Lights Resort & Spa was the highlight of our time in the Yukon. Renate and Wolfgang's European chalet-style hospitality made us feel like family. We look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Catherine and Michael, nothing makes us more happy than to see our guests had a wonderful time with us and we were able to make your Yukon vacation a memorable one. Thank you so much for the wonderful review. All the Best, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Two Aussies went to the Yukon to see the Northern Lights ( in which we did ) from the comfort of our own room and being able to run in and out of the room at our own leisure to brave the mighty chill.
After reading the last two reviews we can only agree with Lisa, Barbara, Kathy and Dan as we had a couple of most pleasurable dinners with these other guests and also felt like we had all know each other for a lot longer than a couple of days. This is probably due to the warm and welcoming environment that Wolfgang and Renate have managed to create by setting up a very family friendly atmosphere and making sure everyone is catered to.
We will return one day but it will be in the summer to experience some of the amazing scenery. The Yukon was more than we ever expected and staying that little bit further out of town meant we didn't need to get on a bus in the middle of the night FREEZING cold to hope to see the lights, we felt we really got this part of the trip right with the accommodation. The standard of accommodation is excellent.
Kerri and Andrew, Sydney Australia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfgang B, Owner at Northern Lights Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi Kerri and Andrew, hope you both are doing well. Thank you so much for your lovely review, it makes us happy to read that you had a good time and that we could be a part of your Yukon experience. We would love to see you both soon again. All the Best, Renate & Wolfgang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
25.9 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
332 reviews
11.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
611 reviews
11.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
36 reviews
17.6 mi away
Inn On The Lake
Inn On The Lake
#4 of 19 in Whitehorse
140 reviews
23.2 mi away
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
#2 of 19 in Whitehorse
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Resort & Spa

Property: Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Address: Lot 1178 Gentian Lane | PO Box 11028, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Lights Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by forests, fields and mountain ranges, this stunning purpose-built property could be your home away from home. Northern Lights Resort & SPA is more than a B&B, it is an escape from the hustle and bustle and demands of 21st century living without compromising on the comfort. Come out for a visit and get lost in your dreams. We are perfectly located just 25 Kilometers south of Whitehorse, a little piece of paradise with spa / wellness area featuring a finish sauna, infrared sauna, outdoor Jacuzzi, gym room and massage treatments. We offer B&B accommodation and Resort style "All-Inclusive" Summer and Winter Packages with activities, healthy European style food and free Wi-Fi. Your perfect Yukon location for Northern Lights viewing with style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Northern Lights Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Resort & Spa Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing