We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kluane Country Tour + Fish Lake Day Hike”

Yukon Wide Adventures
Ranked #10 of 30 Tours in Whitehorse
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Yukon Wide Adventures was founded in 1991 under the name “Log Cabin Adventures Yukon”. In recent years the company developed into a very successful german and english speaking Yukon tour operator and outfitter. In 2008 and 2009 Yukon Wide Adventures was awarded the “Yukon Tourism Award of Excellence, Marketing Innovation Award”. YWA received this Award from the Tourism Industry Association of the Yukon for the outstanding and creative work in serving tourism. Already in 2007 Yukon Wide Adventures was approved by National Geographic to be listed as one of the “Best Adventure Travel Companies on Earth”. We provide year around wilderness outdoor activities. Our services include the planning of individual tours, canoe/kayak- and equipment rentals, all transportations, motorhome and camper rentals as well as accommodation in our Log Cabin. We offer professional canoe, hiking, wildlife and custom-made guided tours Yukon-wide. Next to our year around guided tours we offer a variety of typical Yukon winter activities to give you an experience that last a lifetime. It is our goal to show our clients the untouched nature and unique biodiversity of the Yukon. We prefer travelling with small groups to guarantee a unforgettable experience and nature display. Continuously rising numbers confirm customer satisfaction with our services and the quality of our tours. You can contact us at any time and ask for your customized tour offer. We create your Yukon Adventure!
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I recently participated in a hiking tour (7/6/14 -7/13/14) with Yukon Wide Adventures which covered the course of seven days since I opted to day an extra day hike (Fish Lake). The experience I had was outstanding! The hikes took in some excellent scenery, as well as provided the opportunity to get a good workout in as well. Kluane National Park (in the Yukon) is a must see for those avid National Parks enthusiasts and hikers out there!!! The Fish Lake hike is just outside of Whitehorse, and most definitely worth checking out as an added day hike!

The food on the tour was excellent, not only in taste, but in variety as well. My guide Angela was fantastic! She was flexible, accommodating, helpful, easy to get along with, and very knowledgeable about the outdoors. The price for this tour is very reasonable and worth every dollar if you ask me. The bed and breakfast cabins were a real nice place to stay within the National Park as well. The owners (Brent and Wenda) are great people and provide an excellent breakfast each and every morning. Just make sure you bring your mosquito repellant and burn the coils in your room before you go to sleep to help keep those mosquitoes away!

Without a doubt, this was an excellent adventure and fabulous trip with Yukon Wide Adventures. I highly recommend using this company for any hiking or canoeing tour that covers the ground or waters that they tour!!!

- Dan Cawley (Pawcatuck, CT, USA)

Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"float plane"
in 2 reviews
"river trip"
in 2 reviews
"open fire"
in 3 reviews
"fish lake"
in 2 reviews
"dawson city"
in 2 reviews
"robert"
in 3 reviews
"protection"
in 2 reviews
"challenges"
in 2 reviews
"canoeing"
in 4 reviews
"camping"
in 4 reviews
"safety"
in 2 reviews
"tents"
in 2 reviews
"equipment"
in 3 reviews
"campfire"
in 3 reviews
"wilderness"
in 3 reviews
"company"
in 3 reviews
"yukon"
in 14 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Yukon Wide Review

Travelled to Whitehorse to hike the Chilkoot Trail. We purchased a package from Yukon Wide complete with guide, accommodations, food, equipment, permits and transportation.

Our guide, Eric Magut was excellent. I was challenged by the hike. He had the perfect combination of support and assistance. He did warn us all that every day would be the worst day on the Chilkoot Trail and he was right. Each new day had its own challenges as the terrain is quite diverse. Eric did a wonderful job keeping us both safe and happy. Safe by adhering to Yukon Wide's safety policies and the rangers safety alerts. Happy by supporting each hiker as needed. He allowed each hiker to trek at their own pace while keeping the group together at intervals. He always knew what to say to get you through to the end of the day. I appreciated Eric's professionalism, thoroughness, thoughtfulness and expertise. He provided a five star experience!

Yukon Wide provided food provisions which was ample. No one ever went hungry and we didn't bring back too much extra food. Eric acted as a tour guide during the day hike and as chef before and after. It was wonderful to have delicious food prepared each night for us.

Yukon Wide provided, cooking and eating implements, thermarests, tents and safety equipment. The equipment while not fancy was clean and serviceable. Some of the campgrounds are set up for camping on platforms and cord is provided. the long single cord made lashing the fly awkward. I would recommend more shorter lengths be supplied. I do think that we should have had one more pepper spray for our group of five. We only had two - front hiker and rear hiker. Our guide did not have one. This also left one tent without protection. We didn't see any bears but we're on high alert as they were in the area.

The tent provided was meant to be shared by two people. It was spacious and had sheltered space under the fly on either side to store our packs. The hotel while not fancy was very clean and the staff were fantastic.

Transportation was excellent. We took a charter bus to the narrow gage train followed by a SUV to the trail head. After our hike we were met by a float plane back to Whitehorse. All permits and fees were arranged and paid on our behalf. The organization of all this was handled seamlessly!

I would recommend Yukon Wide.

5  Thank FirstBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Small company, personal attention, new vehicle, great tour. We arrived in Juneau with thousands of other cruise passengers. Tom was there to pick us up and the 8 of us had a private tour to a dog sled camp and then up Whitehorse Pass into the Skagway. Trail of 98 was recommended by another company who had no space available. Most of information obtained was by Internet research and immediately answered emails. We all highly recommend Tom and Michele's tour.

1  Thank travellover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas d, Inhaber at Yukon Wide Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas d, Inhaber at Yukon Wide Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yukon Wide Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Yukon Wide Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing