We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter adventure with nightly aurora borealis performance”
Review of Inn On The Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn On The Lake
Certificate of Excellence
London, innit
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter adventure with nightly aurora borealis performance”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

My top five:
1. Dog sledding - the most funnest thing to do on this planet
2. Snowmobiling/Ice fishing (although Canadian fish seem a bit picky about the food/bait on offer)
3. The Northern Lights
4. Whitehorse - a quirky little town with fabulous people
5. Taking one of the five(???) super-friendly dogs for a walk on a frozen Marsh Lake

I had a few days to spare during my Vancouver Olympics trip and thought I would love to see the Northern Lights. I had mentioned to the travel agent that I was female and on my own and this "Inn" was recommended to me because everyone sits around one enormous dinner table each night.
This is one great way to interact with the other guests. The others are the nightly aurora viewing under starry skies at > -10 degrees Celsius and the day trips, such as dog sledding and snowmobiling. Really, no drama going there on your own.

Personally, I really liked the furnishings, colours and art work inside the Inn and thought they complemented the building, which is an amazing structure. Ask for the FISH room, for a lake view :-)
All the staff are very friendly/nice/knowledgeable. The food is delicious - breakfast, lunch and dinner.

I would definitely rent a car though next time, which would be handy for going into Whitehorse or to see the hot springs, especially if staying more than the usual three nights. The side roads might be a little snowy but they weren't icy and the (one and only) main road a.k.a. Alaska Highway had been cleared of any snow.

There are dogs around, big ones, but they are actually quite loveable, especially Humphrey xx who just wants loads of cuddles.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaMaeMcFeegle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    24
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
66
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2010

My sons and I stayed 3 nights. We enjoyed panorama view (and walk) of frozen lake, delicious meals, exciting winter activities and viewing northern lights. Very special and unforgettable experiences for all of us. I specially thanks to Johnny, a staff of inn, for his hospitality and service. We are sure to go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

As Whitehorse residents, it is wonderful to have such a high-end place to visit within a short drive from town. A walk on the lake, viewing northern lights and being pampered were the order of the day. Thanks Carson and Johnny for making our stay great!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35below
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We went with the sole purpose to view the Winter Lights. They chose to hide for our 4 night stay, but we were NOT the least bit disappointed. Carsen and Staff were fantastic - from the dog greeters to the dinner staff. The staff made excellent recommendations and filled our days with hiking, dog mushing, and snow mobiling. The biggest surprise was the excellent food - unique and presented artistically.

This was one of the most relaxing active vacations we have ever had. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidDThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Lovely spot on the lake. We stayed in the cottage and it was very nicely decorated and well stocked with all the ammenities necessary. Even though there are several private homes quite nearby, the hottub on the deck felt very private. The dinner was elegant but be aware, the drinks are not complimentary (even though they offer it to you like it's part of the dinner).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YukonGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Although my fiance and I are from Whitehorse, Yukon we decided to celebrate our anniversary by spending a night at Inn on the Lake just 45 mins from our home. As soon as we got out of our car we were welcomed by a lovely black dog named Humphrey. The staff soon greeted us warmly, and gladly checked us into our room two hours early. We spent the afternoon cross country skiing on Marsh Lake and returned to an hour or so in the hot tub over looking the lake. Our dinner, was the best we have ever had in the Yukon, we felt like we were eating like royalty. Following the dinner we enjoyed a game of pool with some of the other guests before retiring to our elegant cabin style room.
The breakfast the next morning was wonderful as well. We left our stay happy, relaxed and keen to return to again vacation in our own town!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYukon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2009

My partner and I enjoyed every moment of our stay at the Inn on the Lake. The whole package was put together really well. The activities were organised ahead of time in anticipation of our needs. The dog sledding was a highlight of the holiday. The meals were incredible. Initially when we arrived we felt it was a bit disorganised but once we met Carson (the owner) everything fell into place. We loved the homely feel of the main area of the inn and the communal dining. We would definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJandBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
40.3 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
332 reviews
28.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
418 reviews
28.3 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
609 reviews
17.6 mi away
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
Northern Lights Resort & Spa
#1 of 28 in Whitehorse
453 reviews
39.8 mi away
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
Muktuk B&B and Cabins
#1 of 19 in Whitehorse
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn On The Lake

Property: Inn On The Lake
Address: Lot 76 Mcclintock | PO Box 10420, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 7A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn On The Lake 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As featured on Martha Stewart Living and recently listed by National Geographic Traveller as Top 150 places to stay for 2009, this lodge located 35 minutes by car from Whitehorse, Yukon, is the top rated accommodation and conference centre in the Yukon. The location is ideal for daily excursions and attractions in Whitehorse, Atlin, British Columbia and Skagway, Alaska. The resort has a number of room categories and cottage options. Your stay includes in the summer, mountain bikes, canoes, kayaks, fitness centre, hot tub and sauna. Complimentary Golf Passes at Meadow Lakes Golf Resort. In the winter snowshoes are included and this area is well known for Aurora Borealis watching. This is one of North America's few places where you can stay and see the aurora right from your suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn On The Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Whitehorse
Inn On The Lake Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing