We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.”
Review of Hi Country RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehorse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hi Country RV Park
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Checked in for one night, we are on a road trip to Alaska. Very nice park, and very helpful girl checking us in . This park is one of the closest to the downtown area. Nice wooded site , with full Ammenities. Would deffinately recommend a stop in this park.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Villagesre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The RV Park is an excellent place with quiet areas, clean bathrooms, and nice laundry services. The store is well stocked and carry some very unique items from Nepal. We really enjoyed our one night stay and would certainly return when we come back to Whitehorse.
On check in, the lady at the desk was not friendly and as one other reviewer noted, was grumpy and just pointed. Considering how many people would like to live and work in the Yukon, and especially in Whitehorse, I would suggest she either friendly up, or be replaced. However, the next morning, the owners (?), were quite friendly and extremely helpful providing the kind of service one would expect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A very nice rv park, lots of spots, easy to get into and drive thru park. nice store on site. We never did use the showers as we had full hookups. Lots of trees, very pretty. fire ring, picnic tables. Sites are close together so not a lot of privacy. We have a Great Dane and asked for a spot away from everyone, well we were put between 2 trailers anyway but we were given a spot that you think is at the end of the rv park. What we didn't realize is it was next to the hwy so you get a lot of hwy noise and let me not forget to tell you all the airplane noise going over head-and they start early. This is a good stop if your in late and out very early.

Room Tip: ask for any site not near hwy or the side street (its just as big as the hwy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had a similar experience with staff -- one person was unfriendly, but the younger staff was very nice and helpful. As everyone else said, bathrooms were gorgeous. Sites are crowded and rather hard to get in/out of, but everything worked for us, including (some of the time) Wifi. The convenience/gift shop was delightful!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Location is off the main highway, but if you pick a site tuck away from highway, then its very quiet. Good location to downtown, but you 100% need a car. We tented there, sites are not that big, I would say even small, not much privacy between sites, but most RV tend to stay inside their vehicle anyway. Not a pretty RV park per-say, but not an ugly one either. I would classify it as a functional & practical RV park.

Toilets are spotlessly clean, showers are steaming hot and included in the price. Wifi is only good at the office, but they have 2 work bench with power points in office area which makes up for it. There is shelter you can cook inside if its cold, and wash up sink in back of office which is handy. Multiple washing machines & dryers to use so there was no line up , great laundry set up but its $3 per washing load + dryer on top

Comments about older unhelpful lady is true, I was told she is indeed the owner. But saving grace is reception is mainly attended by young very helpful staff, so rudeness wasn't an issue for us

Room Tip: Tent site 89 is a big & quiet site towards back of property away from highway, we were very happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairyland_Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We pulled into this beautiful park expecting friendly, courteous staff who are used to dealing with the tourists and public. The lady at the front desk was surly, didn't smile, almost seemed that I was an interruption in her day. When I asked her questions, she didn't answer me just pointed at a sign. When I was filling out the registration form (all the lines) she stopped me halfway through and told me to just put my signature at the bottom. I have managed hundreds of staff in the service industry for more than 20 years and was appalled at her attitude. I originally wanted to stay a week or more, but after her "service" opted for only 2 nights, only because I didn't want to pack up my trailer after one night, having travelled all the way from southern BC.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FutureSourdough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a great RV Park, very courteous staff on arrival, nicely treed and good size lots.Great Wifi we were in a corner of the park and had great coverage. The restrooms and Showers were sparkling clean, This park is extremely quiet which surprised me as it is next to the Alaska Hwy.Got a great small convience store for those little extras that may have been forgotten, all this only a few minutes drive from central Whitehorse.RV wash great after roadworks, highly recommend this park to anyone travelling to Whitehorse Yukon, we travelled in a Motorhome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
2.2 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
404 reviews
2.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
425 reviews
2.6 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
18.2 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Country RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Country RV Park

Property: Hi Country RV Park
Address: 91374 Alaska Hwy, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 6E4, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Whitehorse
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Hi Country RV Park Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing