We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B of All!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitehorse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bluejay Suites Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 28 Whitehorse B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best B&B of All!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Staying at the Bluejay B&B was truly wonderful. The house is a beautiful Victorian replica about ten minutes drive from downtown. Reiko and Sascha were very welcoming, and Reiko's luxurious breakfasts must be seen to be believed. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms, with a beautiful four- poster bed. The house is spotless, toiletries are of high quality, and there is a lovely common area downstairs with tea, coffee, and magazines, as well as a TV room.

More than anything, though, there is a very special atmosphere to the B&B. The welcome was warm, and the hosts were genuinely interested in their guests. We swapped life stories, and left feeling that we had made new friends. For me this was one of the top B&B experiences of all time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
23
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I actually stayed here on a business trip as all hotels were sold out. That turned out to be lucky for me as the Bluejay is better than most hotels. The rooms are very modern and the owners are very nice and attentive. IF YOU ARE SMART stay at the Bluejay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

What a pleasure to stay here! It's as if the owners anticipate our every need - even sharing ice cream when I needed something sweet just before bed! Calm setting, comfy bed, great food, and Sasha and Reiko are very attentive. Will stay again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Simply put, this is the best B&B I have ever stayed at (and I have travelled a lot.) If you want to feel like you've been invited to stay at the house of an old friend, BlueJay Suites are for you. Sascha and Reiko will welcome you into their home and put you entirely at ease. The B&B currently rents out only 2 rooms, so even if they are full, the experience is personal and comfortable. We stayed in the larger of the two rooms, with a fantastic view from the sitting room located in the turret and a spa-type bath and shower with organic products and lots of fluffy white towels.
We experienced a lot of amenities not listed on the website. I can't guarantee they do this for everyone, but we stayed for more than a week, so we got to experience all the best BlueJay had to offer. Here are a few things:
1) Celebration dinner: the first night we arrived, another couple was there and had expressed disappointment in not finding elk on the menu at the local restaurants (apparently it is more common in the summer.) Never fear - Sascha made a run for some elk meat and got some salmon for us and fired up the barbecue, despite the freezing temperatures. What a welcome.
2) Breakfast: Okay it IS a B&B, but Reiko takes that second B (for breakfast) very seriously. The breakfasts were gourmet, huge, and tailored to our tastes and dietary needs. We skipped lunch most days, making this place an even better value. When Reiko noticed I didn't eat mushrooms, she adjusted a later meal by putting mushrooms only on the half of the platter facing my traveling companion. When she found out we liked unusual culinary experiences, she prepared Okayu (Japanese rice dish similar to congee) and a sweet potato noodle salad as breakfast. But we also liked the waffles and fruit (and "fruit" was not just a few berries, but a mound of kiwis, oranges, apples, berries, bananas, and more- all delicious and fresh)
3) Snacks: we were there in the winter to see the Northern lights and each night that we went out we found a thermos of tea and some treats to take with us. Chocolate cake (gluten free, made just for us), sweet rice crackers. When we got back from skiing - steamed rice buns with raisins, chocolate, or green tea and maple syrup and honey.
4) Enormous public space: Many B&Bs have a little breakfast room. BlueJay has a dining room, living room with fireplace, a breakfast nook and a TV room with a giant flat screen TV and 2 chairs that are a couch potato's dream.
5) The massage chair: I read an article about the BlueJay Suites that called the massage chair "savage" and that might be fair enough, but you will feel revitalized after a 15 minute cycle in the chair, set up for you by Reiko.
6) Great conversation: A couple of nights we spent in front of the fire, in pleasant conversation with Sascha and Reiko. They've both travelled and done interesting things, so this was an unexpected entertainment in it's own right. They will leave you alone if you want privacy, of course, but if you ask them to join you, they are happy to. You get the feeling that they are genuinely interested in each person who stays with them.
7) Clothes: They can arrange arctic clothing rental if you live somewhere where buying these things would be a waste of money. Or if you just need a piece here or a piece there, they are happy to provide. My boots were deemed inadequate to the midnight cold, and I was lent some boots rated for 100 below zero. And there were little air-activated heating pads to stick in your gloves or boots or wherever you needed them.
I'm sure I could go on and on… the blanket they gave us to cover the car lights so we could sit in comfort and watch the aurora. The coffee, tea and other beverages. But if you haven't decided yet… just stay here and see for yourself.

Room Tip: The larger room has a wonderful octagonal sitting space, with views of surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank writertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I travel a lot and spend time at hotels, residence inns and B & Bs. BlueJay Suites is the best B & B I've stayed at. Reiko and Sascha are terrific hosts (and interesting people) who immediately make you feel at home. We felt completely comfortable at all times and well nourished in gourmet fashion. The breakfasts are something to look forward to every day. Reiko asks what you like, notices your taste preferences and adjusts the meals. The B & B is very close to downtown, but far enough away to allow you to get a feel for the countryside. Sascha and Reiko are available to answer questions on what to do in Whitehorse and to give you a little of the local flavor of this very nice city. The whole house is tastefully designed and furnished and the large bedroom on the second floor in which we stayed had a view of the mountains, cozy sitting area, large comfortable bed, large modern bathroom, ample closet space, and beautiful hardwood floors. We liked Whitehorse enough to think about visiting there again (to further explore the Yukon) and the next time we visit, we will definitely stay at BlueJay Suites again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank portered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varazze
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is a quiet (but not far away from Whitehorse's center) , very confortly location to spent some day in good company. Reiko and Sasha are simply magnificent in every thing!. I travel from Italy with my husband in august 2012 and did a self drive throughout Yukon and Alaska ( did the Dempster hwy too!!!). We find this nice place because we need to regenerate after a one month experience in the wildest campsite of the Yukon region . Feel the powerful of the nature was a great experience that never had before. It's missing us , every day. I wish to back soon!
The food was simply delicious and Reiko and Sasha take us on a trip around and made a pic-nic in top of the mountain, great!
We stay in the biggest room , and it was like a spa experience. Every thing you need you'll find here. Thank you for looking after us so well!!!
P.S. the night after we come back home , here was the most spectacular aurora borealis full of rainbow color!

Room Tip: there are only two rooms , the biggest has an excellent view in the street (so quiet an safe!) and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erikaVarazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Reiko and Sasha are hosts extraordinaire. Their lovely B & B is very clean, well-organized, beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. We were greeted upon our arrival with genuine hospitality which continued throughout our stay. Our hosts by far exceeded our expectations. The breakfasts were indeed gourmet and delicious. They even catered to my daughters dietary restrictions much to our delight. Their warmth and generosity will never be forgotten. We arrived as strangers and left as friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueJay_Suites_host, Owner at Bluejay Suites Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you Colette for writing about your experience at Bluejay Suites. We enjoyed your company and look forward to staying in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
3.8 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
577 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sundog Retreat
Sundog Retreat
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
327 reviews
4.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
3.7 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
413 reviews
3.3 mi away
Midnight Sun Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluejay Suites Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluejay Suites Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bluejay Suites Bed & Breakfast
Address: 56 Almond Pl, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5K5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium B&B ideally located in a quiet neighbourhood with mountain-views and nature trails - yet close to urban amenities. Located under 10 minutes from the Whitehorse International Airport and downtown Whitehorse, we offer a perfect home base for your Yukon adventure or business trip! This impressive Victorian-style property features hardwood floors throughout, and all guest rooms have ensuite bath. Upgrade to the spacious Aurora Suite with king-size bed, sitting area and 5-piece bath with soaking tub and deluxe shower. The suite sleeps up to three adults as additional twin bed can be provided upon request. Enjoy the comfortable great room with wood-burning fireplace, or treat yourself to our invigorating massage chair. Choice of full or continental breakfast served at your preferred time. Wireless internet. Japanese and German spoken! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluejay Suites Bed & Breakfast Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing