We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beez Kneez Bakpakers
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great hidden gem up here in the Yukon. I stayed in one of the private "cabins" out back. Has everything you'd need for a reasonable price. I'll be back on my way back through Whitehorse coming back down from AK. The dormitory rooms look very clean too (where I'll be staying next visit). Nancy is very friendly and keeps the place very clean. Guests are quiet and respectful of each other it seems. Whitehorse is not a big place. You can walk many places from the Hostel. But there's also ample parking!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ectothegecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

I am sorry that Bertha caused you and your daughter to feel unwell and bothered you while cooking. She spent most of her life living outside at a mushers kennel and has only been living here since the end of Feb when she finished running the Yukon Quest 300. I trained her so she never goes in any of the cabins, private room or downstairs ( where the dorms are ) in the hostel. She spends most of her time in my room . I will try harder to make sure that her hair and #2 is not a problem for another guest. I am curious though. If your stay here on July 4 and 5th in the Sugar Shack was so terrible why did you and your daughter stay here again on July 10th?

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 unfortunate nights. The dog walks all over the place and bugs you when you make food and try to eat it and his hair is everywhere. The dog made both of us sick the 3 nights we were there as the dog hair never seemed to get clean. There was dog crap on the stairs leading to our cabin and never got cleaned for 2 days! The place is amazingly filthy with a large amount of mold in the basement shower, my daughter even saw a cockroach come out of a hole in the shower stall. Needles to say we spent all of 1 minute in the shower and packed up our bag quick and literally ran out of there. We were offered a cinnamon bun on a plate that was then left on top of the dirty fridge for at least two days, the second night I saw bugs crawling on it! It was one time I was glad to be a diabetic and never ate it and you never would know how long it was there and the food was never covered. Everywhere we looked the place was dirty, it truly needs a boss to come in and ask themselves if they would want their family to stay there for a week! And then to start deeply cleaning this filthy hole.They told us we had a cabin out the back and it looked more like a converted shed and had blankets that really needed a great washing as they smelled. It was not worth the money we spent and I deeply regretted staying there the 3 nights as this was not the way I wished to enjoy the Yukon! I would never stay here again and would prefer the grass and a sleeping bag to this disgusting place. Shame on you Beez Kneez!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed at the Beez Kneez with a friend whilst preparing for the Yukon River Quest. It is an amazingly comfortable place with lots of space and Nancy seems completely un flusterable. We were even allowed to borrow her dog - Bertha - to take for a walk.
When we couldn't find sponge's in the shops, Nancy gave us 2 from the cupboard and she was more than happy to let us take over the kitchen preparing food for the race.
I confess to being a hotel traveller but would certainly go back to the Beez Kneez as and when I'm back in Whitehorse as I can't think of anywhere that could be better.
Thanks Nancy and Bertha for looking after us
Sarah

Room Tip: pick the private room or a shack if you are not into dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cobweb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Nancy and Bertha (newly retired Husky) welcomed me to the wonderful world of BeezKneez. The hostel for full to capacity when I stayed (lucky I booked in advance!), but Nancy went out of her way to find alternative accommodation for several walk ins, ringing around to find them a bed. This is a great hostel where you can mix as much or as little with the other BPs. The lack of curfew enables you to stay up late for the midnight sun in the summer and the northern lights in the winter. The hostel was clean and safe, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmalfiAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Beez Kneez is a wonderful little hostel within walking distance of the businesses in downtown Whitehorse. Perfect for adventure-seekers of all ages, it is a welcoming and safe environment. In the winter, the hostel has room for only 10 or 12 people with 2 or 3 small dorms and one private room. In the summer they open up a cabin and a VW bus (!) in the backyard. The hostel has no TV, so people pass the time by sitting around in one of the two living rooms and talking - imagine that!

I also can't say enough about the "beekeeper" Nancy. She was very friendly and kind. After I checked out, she realized I left behind an item. She called the Nordic center she knew I was at and had them leave a note on my Jeep. It was very nice of her (and the Nordic center staff!) to go out of her way to help. Thanks Nancy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjnboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I was here for 3 nights in February 2013. I have stayed in a lot of hostels around the world and this is one of the best. It's not the biggest or the brightest, or the newest place around, and it doesn't have massive TV's or a pool table like some newer establishments, but that is part of the charm. It is literally just like your family home - cosy, very well priced, plenty of board games, well stocked kitchen, just a short walk to the main street in town, and most importantly, it is run by a group of fantastic people! The host Nancy is a champion and will go out of her way to help you out, truly making this a home away from home. One example of this hospitality - some of the boys staying at the hostel asked about buying Moose meat to try, we had no idea at the time but it turns out you can't just buy it from the shops. Nancy made a few phone calls to her friends and not only did she get us moose, she cooked a delicious Moose Chilli for everyone staying at the hostel that night. If you are staying in Whitehorse, make sure you give the Beez Kneez a call!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beez Kneez Bakpakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beez Kneez Bakpakers

Address: 408 Hoge St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Whitehorse
Price Range: £24 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Beez Kneez Bakpakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beez Kneez Bakpakers Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing