We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beez Kneez Bakpakers
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy hostel”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed for one night before going on a hiking trail in the BeezKneez and it is definitely a very good place to go. I had one of the little cabins in the garden, so very private and calm. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were cleaned, there is the option to get your stuff washed. The kitchen is well equipped and if you are completely desperate you will always find coffee, tea, sugar and oat meal or something like that to get through the next meal. Nancy is very friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is open and friendly, so it is easy to get into contact with people, checkout the hostel library or surf in the internet. Whitehorse downtown is a 15 min walk away. Bertha, the Sled dog is very well trained and perfectly groomed so I definitely saw no dog hair. Reservation was without any problem by mail and went fast. Reasonable Price. What else do be wanted...

Room Tip: The cabins in the garden are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeiKoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    19
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
11
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Iserlohn
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

It's hard to describe in a few words how great this place is! From the first moment it felt more like coming home than staying at a stranger's house. Nancy and her doggy Bertha are amazing and fill this house with lots of life, energy and real Yukon spirit! Everything is clean and well-organised, if advice or help is needed you can be sure to get it :-)
I hope I can come back there one day and enjoy this cosy home far from home again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great hidden gem up here in the Yukon. I stayed in one of the private "cabins" out back. Has everything you'd need for a reasonable price. I'll be back on my way back through Whitehorse coming back down from AK. The dormitory rooms look very clean too (where I'll be staying next visit). Nancy is very friendly and keeps the place very clean. Guests are quiet and respectful of each other it seems. Whitehorse is not a big place. You can walk many places from the Hostel. But there's also ample parking!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ectothegecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I am sorry that Bertha caused you and your daughter to feel unwell and bothered you while cooking. She spent most of her life living outside at a mushers kennel and has only been living here since the end of Feb when she finished running the Yukon Quest 300. I trained her so she never goes in any of the cabins, private room or downstairs ( where the dorms are ) in the hostel. She spends most of her time in my room . I will try harder to make sure that her hair and #2 is not a problem for another guest. I am curious though. If your stay here on July 4 and 5th in the Sugar Shack was so terrible why did you and your daughter stay here again on July 10th?

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 unfortunate nights. The dog walks all over the place and bugs you when you make food and try to eat it and his hair is everywhere. The dog made both of us sick the 3 nights we were there as the dog hair never seemed to get clean. There was dog crap on the stairs leading to our cabin and never got cleaned for 2 days! The place is amazingly filthy with a large amount of mold in the basement shower, my daughter even saw a cockroach come out of a hole in the shower stall. Needles to say we spent all of 1 minute in the shower and packed up our bag quick and literally ran out of there. We were offered a cinnamon bun on a plate that was then left on top of the dirty fridge for at least two days, the second night I saw bugs crawling on it! It was one time I was glad to be a diabetic and never ate it and you never would know how long it was there and the food was never covered. Everywhere we looked the place was dirty, it truly needs a boss to come in and ask themselves if they would want their family to stay there for a week! And then to start deeply cleaning this filthy hole.They told us we had a cabin out the back and it looked more like a converted shed and had blankets that really needed a great washing as they smelled. It was not worth the money we spent and I deeply regretted staying there the 3 nights as this was not the way I wished to enjoy the Yukon! I would never stay here again and would prefer the grass and a sleeping bag to this disgusting place. Shame on you Beez Kneez!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed at the Beez Kneez with a friend whilst preparing for the Yukon River Quest. It is an amazingly comfortable place with lots of space and Nancy seems completely un flusterable. We were even allowed to borrow her dog - Bertha - to take for a walk.
When we couldn't find sponge's in the shops, Nancy gave us 2 from the cupboard and she was more than happy to let us take over the kitchen preparing food for the race.
I confess to being a hotel traveller but would certainly go back to the Beez Kneez as and when I'm back in Whitehorse as I can't think of anywhere that could be better.
Thanks Nancy and Bertha for looking after us
Sarah

Room Tip: pick the private room or a shack if you are not into dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobweb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Nancy and Bertha (newly retired Husky) welcomed me to the wonderful world of BeezKneez. The hostel for full to capacity when I stayed (lucky I booked in advance!), but Nancy went out of her way to find alternative accommodation for several walk ins, ringing around to find them a bed. This is a great hostel where you can mix as much or as little with the other BPs. The lack of curfew enables you to stay up late for the midnight sun in the summer and the northern lights in the winter. The hostel was clean and safe, I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmalfiAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
596 reviews
1.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beez Kneez Bakpakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beez Kneez Bakpakers

Property: Beez Kneez Bakpakers
Address: 408 Hoge St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Beez Kneez Bakpakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beez Kneez Bakpakers Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing