We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel of my long road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beez Kneez Bakpakers
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best hostel of my long road trip”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I enjoyed my stay at the Beez Kneez, even if it was one night in a private room. They had a laundry service for just $5, free wi-fi, and nice, clean bathrooms. I felt very welcomed and the common areas were funky and friendly. Great value.

Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank strontium87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    20
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
11
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I spent 10 days here in February 2010. Having come from hostels in the continental US, I was impressed by the cleanliness, helpful staff and atmosphere.

Nancy and Sayaka were brilliant - Nancy recommended hiking trails and things to do, and invited everyone along to various pub nights going on around town. The beds were comfortable (though the rooms were perhaps a little cramped), and the bedding clean and warm. Sheets were changed every three days during my stay. Quiet time after 11 was enforced, and the rooms were quiet. There's a code-operated lock on the front door for 24 hour access.

There's a couple of common areas, with two computers available for Internet access, though there's free wireless which is great. Phones are available for free local phone calls, and a credit-card payphone for long distance.

Basically, a great place to stay. I had a great time, and recommend it if you're looking for somewhere in Whitehorse.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

The hostel was full so they put me up in the Greenhouse for $65!!! Unbelievable!!!

At least i wasnt the poor guy in who they made sleep in the old VW van parked in the back yard!

I moved to hotel the next day. Isnt there some kind of inspectors who check these kind of things? Should be illegal!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bushpilot69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

We stayed here in August 2008 on our way through from Alaska where we stayed at hostels while travelling. Being new to hostels and not young people we found this hostel in Whitehorse very cosy, friendly manager, great facilities, with free internet, able to cook nice meals on clean utensils, and comfortable beds. This hostel alows you to check in late if you are travlling fromFaibanks on the bus and they seem to accomodate people arriving on late flights as well. Every part of this hostel was clean. The cabins where we stayed in the back garden were very comfortable. Not heaps of room like a motel but it suited us fine as there was enough room for us and our bags. Have no complaints about staying here and hope to again one day.

  • Liked — clean and friendly hostel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Illarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2007

This hostel in Whitehorse was well run and had a great atmosphere. There is an excellent staff who handle check-ins and cleaning. The place was very clean and comfortable. It had all the amenities we needed: internet (though there's usually a line up for the computer),
phones, nice big kitchen, cozy sitting rooms, two good clean showers,
and laundry machines. My only complaint is that there was only one bathroom for quite a lot of people. But otherwise, this place was great! We met people there right way and started partying! No one seemed to mind if we had a couple of drinks in the hostel before heading out. Check out was also easy... we just had to have our beds cleared by 10, and no one seemed to mind that we had breakfast before
leaving. Also, we were able to store our stuff there in a closet while we toured around town all day before our evening flight out of Whitehorse. Definitly a lovely, welcoming and enjoyable environment. I'd be happy to go back!

  • Liked — fun environment
  • Disliked — shortage of bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AshleytheIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#2 of 14 in Whitehorse
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
Best Western Gold Rush Inn
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
611 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#4 of 14 in Whitehorse
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westmark Whitehorse Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beez Kneez Bakpakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beez Kneez Bakpakers

Property: Beez Kneez Bakpakers
Address: 408 Hoge St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Whitehorse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Beez Kneez Bakpakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beez Kneez Bakpakers Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing